Best way to backup PS1 & PS2 games on BC consoles

Discussion in 'PS3 Homebrew' started by complexusername, Jan 9, 2019.

  1. 9,704
    3,702
    472
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    9,704
    Likes Received:
    3,702
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    that must've changed with cobra, 'cause my psxiso folder contains the memory cards in: "cue and bin name."vm1 I never saved a ps2 game via softemui.
     
  2. 259
    152
    47
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    That's interesting. Maybe it's on the newer version of Cobra (7.55) when maybe on v7.53 and earlier the virtual memory card was stored in the backup location (PSXISO).
     
  3. 568
    258
    97
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    258
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    My CECHC04, also can assign Memory Card Slots while in game, the units that support ps2emu.self and ps2gx_emu.self, can assign memory cards while in PS2 Mode, PS2Net_Emu uses another form of saving, that forces you to assign while in the XMB.
     
    Coldheart2236 likes this.
  4. 286
    133
    72
    complexusername

    complexusername Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Which version of Iris should I use? I downloaded irisman and didn't find a backup game option.
     
  5. 259
    152
    47
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    IRISMAN v4.82.1 is the latest version. I believe what you're looking for is under 'Game Options'. You can copy the disc in folder format or build an ISO of it, which is recommended over folder format.
     
  6. 3,209
    2,673
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    2,673
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    With the default settings irisman doesnt even shows the disc inserted in the drive
    You need to change a setting related with "bluray drive emulation" to disable it (change it to "none")
    When you change it the PS3 reboots (no panic, is normal), and after that you can insert the disc in the drive and you will be able to see the icon of the real disc
    Then look at the "game settings" and you will see an option to make a backup of the disc

    For practising i suggest to try first with a PS3 disc because im sure it works with PS3 BD disc games
    ...Next try to do the same with PS1, and PS2 discs (im not sure if the feature is supported for this game disc types)
     
  7. 286
    133
    72
    complexusername

    complexusername Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I followed your steps and it created an ISO of the PSX game :(

    Wish there was a BIN+CUE backup option on multiMAN! I'm surprised that I haven't found a homebrew app on the PS3 that can do it
     
    sandungas likes this.
  8. 9,704
    3,702
    472
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    9,704
    Likes Received:
    3,702
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    iirc, it's not very difficult to make a bin/cue, at least the cue portion. I had to make some for turbo duo, when the cue came out screwed up and each musice track was wave. however, it's been such a long time. I'm not sure which option was used for the bin/cue, just that cue came out corrupted.
     
  9. 259
    152
    47
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    ISO should be fine for a lot of PS1 games, but games with multiple audio tracks that can be played as a regular audio CD, I'm not so sure. The games should still play fine, but without the CUE sheet, there'll be no music. I had this issue with Nightmare Creatures, for example, which has multiple audio tracks on the disc. I ripped my original PS1 disc (which is old and more than a little bit scratched) and initially only copied the BIN across via FTP, thinking I wouldn't need the CUE. I tested the game and it played fine but with no background music in the levels. Only when I placed the accompanying CUE sheet alongside the BIN image did the game play with music.
     
  10. 259
    152
    47
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    It's not, in fact it's very easy to create a generic CUE sheet for PS1 backups as they follow the same structure:
    Code:
    FILE "[File name].bin" BINARY
      TRACK 01 MODE2/2352
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
    I'm not entirely sure accurate a generic one would be for a BIN with multiple tracks, as different discs have different audio lengths. To illustrate, here's an excerpt of a CUE file that was generated by ImgBurn when I backed up my PS1 disc of Cool Boarders 2, which has 20 tracks in total:
    Code:
    FILE "Cool Boarders 2.bin" BINARY
      TRACK 01 MODE2/2352
            INDEX 01 00:00:00
      TRACK 02 AUDIO
            PREGAP 00:02:00
            INDEX 01 14:37:20
      TRACK 03 AUDIO
            INDEX 00 18:33:44
            INDEX 01 18:35:44
      TRACK 04 AUDIO
            INDEX 00 21:58:45
            INDEX 01 22:00:45
      TRACK 05 AUDIO
            INDEX 00 25:21:53
            INDEX 01 25:23:53
    Etc. I'm sure there's a way to create a generic CUE sheet for a BIN with multiple audio tracks, but I'm not sure how, or if it would play the audio as the original game disc would.
     
    sandungas likes this.
  11. 286
    133
    72
    complexusername

    complexusername Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Most PSX games that I own have multiple tracks. I've ripped them all to BIN+CUE format and have no issues playing them. webMAN-MOD only accepts single BIN backups and i've had zero issues when properly ripped from CD.

    Was hoping for an app on the PS3 that could do that but I have multiple other options so it's not a big deal.
     
  12. 507
    195
    47
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    Here's a very simple way to generate cue sheets for games with multiple BIN files.

    http://nielsbuus.dk/pg/psx_cue_maker/

    This assumes that track one is data and the others that follow are audio. Just open the web page, bring up file explorer over it, highlight all the BIN files of the game and drag them into the box. they will be scanned and the cue sheet will be generated in the text box below it. The all you do is copy and paste it into notepad, click "save as", change file types to "all" then name it "name of game.cue".

    There are a few odd PS1 games out there. Usually the biggest file sized BIN would be the data and would come first and the rest arer audio. Not Re-Volt lol. BIN1 is 40+MB and BIN2 is 400+MB and BIN3 is 20+MB. but if you alter them in the cue so the largest is first the game won't boot.
    EDIT: This game appears to be Multiple DATA BIN files and one Audio BIN file from 1 CD-ROM Disc.
     
  13. 3,209
    2,673
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    2,673
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    I was taking a look if there is some open source project to create bin/cue for PS1 games and in the first google searches there was a tool that seems to be popular, i dont know if there is something better, and im not an expert about disc image formats at all, but anyway im posting it for curiosity sake

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cdrdao
    http://cdrdao.sourceforge.net/
    https://gist.github.com/ssokolow/4c8680be0e19f5448d9b (this is an example of an script to create PS1 BIN/CUE images in command line in linux)
     
    complexusername likes this.

Share This Page