PS3 Can't turn on my PS3

Discussion in 'Help & Support' started by mastaha, Nov 30, 2017.

  1. 9
    0
    1
    mastaha

    mastaha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi,
    When I want to turn on my PS3 I get only 3 beeps (and something is cracking inside) and red blinking.
    I can't even open recovery menu.
    I have this problem since morning, so I don't think it is overheating.

    Any way to fix it?
     
  2. 315
    47
    38
    TheDemon

    TheDemon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Portugal
    That sounds like you have a YLOD(yellow light of death), was what happened to my phat ps3 that died :( but wait for more feedback
     
  3. 1,029
    876
    123
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    876
    Trophy Points:
    123
    You forgot to mention the problem started to happen inmediatly after yo tryed to run the webkit exploit + flasher on a CECH-20xx

    My diagnostic is you used an invalid USB stick... so you filled 3mb of your flash with zeroes
     
  4. 9
    0
    1
    mastaha

    mastaha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Not immediately. I successfully runned exploit, but couldn't install rebug CFW. After few minutes my PS3 froze and after hard reset I couldn't turn it on.
     
  5. 9
    0
    1
    mastaha

    mastaha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ok, I think it is a soft brick because after NOR Tristate to GND solding I can turn on my ps3.

    Can I do anything with this without any flasher?
     
  6. 340
    95
    38
    kadorna2

    kadorna2 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    38
    No, and I'm afraid that if you don't have a valid dump of your nor, you can pretty much kiss your console goodbye. It's only good for parts now
     
  7. 2,074
    1,714
    123
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,074
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Home Page:
    If this console is soft bricked due to running the exploit incorrectly then a dump is not required to fix it with a flasher , as no per console info is over written. It just needs a valid coreos writing to it.
     
  8. 340
    95
    38
    kadorna2

    kadorna2 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    38
    He said the console froze during cfw installation, and that the exploit had already been successful
     
  9. 2,074
    1,714
    123
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,074
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Home Page:
    Well the only area that gets overwritten by the exploit is not console specific, so unless you think that the PUP erased the console specific info when it installed somehow? because if not then it can be fixed with a flasher. It is very unlikely that the pup would have over written that info randomly IMO so I think telling him its only good for parts could be a bit premature.

    Basically we have no way of knowing, but nothing he has said would lead me to believe its a hard brick. The cracking inside does not sound good though, but that sounds more like a HW fault, power supply maybe.
     
    bitsbubba likes this.
  10. 9
    0
    1
    mastaha

    mastaha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    This crack inside is imo just HDD turning off sound.

    So anyway without special dongle flasher I can't do anything?
     
  11. 2,074
    1,714
    123
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,074
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Home Page:
    Yes, its not a dongle, you would need to take apart your ps3 and fit it to the flash chip to fix it, might be best to get a professional to do it.
     
  12. 9
    0
    1
    mastaha

    mastaha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ok, thanks for the info.
    Unfortunately, this flasher device is probably more expensive than the whole console. :)
     
  13. 6,005
    4,411
    123
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    6,005
    Likes Received:
    4,411
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Earth
    It's always difficult to be sure simply by an account of the issues.
    But if the console was working after running the exploit & the console beeped 3 times & shut down then you could reboot, your issue does not come from writing to NOR with a corrupted hex file.
     
  14. 1,029
    876
    123
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    876
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Have you tryed to turn it on without the hdd ?
     
  15. 9
    0
    1
    mastaha

    mastaha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah, it did not help.
     

Share This Page