PS2 [Open PS2 Loader] Game Bug Reports

Discussion in 'Open PS2 Loader (OPL)' started by jolek, Jul 28, 2018.

  1. 632
    1,125
    222
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    Unless proven otherwise, there are no known problems with launching ELFs from the hacked OSDSYS menu.

    Yes, some apps have problems once booted from the hacked OSDSYS menu, but the reasons have got to do with the app itself. Harvest Moon has problems.

    Yes, and we have discussed some things. For the benefit of all, I shall also write responses in this thread.

    No. There is no procedure for this. However, OSDSND is actually RSPU2DRV, so some things were done differently and there are some deinitialization functions of sorts. But there is no deinit function for libsd, which is what most games were made with.

    Clearing the effect region for SPU2 did not seem to have any effect. I have tried it. FMCB v1.9x already scans for and calls the deinitialization function of OSDSYS, which does not improve anything for Half Life. I know it does things like disabling V-sync interrupts, muting of sounds and deinitualization of RPC services.

    I think there is some misunderstanding here. You wrote that there is a problem with FMCB, caused by failing to call a procedure that will put the SPU2 in a state that is appropriate for even bugged games.

    I wrote that there is no such procedure, so I refuse to locate said code. This code would be within either PS2LOGO and/or OSDSYS. It has nothing to do with FMCB and you do not even need FMCB to actually experiment with this; since the hardware is put in a state that is not handled well by Half Life once the browser is booted, you can test your fix by booting your fix from the hacked OSDSYS menu.

    The SPU2 handles sound generation. There is nothing else that will make noises. Only software that loads a sound driver can control SPU2. I have used dsidb to adjust the effect volume level (EVOLR and EVOLL), by reading and writing to the SPU2 registers. And setting EVOLL and EVOLR of SPU2 core 1 mutes the noise. Disabling digital effects also mutes the noise.

    There are various ways to read and write to registers. Personally, I used the copy of RDB within OPL because this can only happen on a CEX PS2.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019
    Peppe90, svotib and Algol like this.
  2. 815
    516
    172
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    516
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    I've tried Super Dragon Ball Z (SLES_541.61) without any compatibility modes with OPL 1319 through SMB...
    Game in my config boots fine, I can even start battle without a problem.
    md5sum: "1520b77e51bcde5e2b9ab58f608e8e94".
    Tested on SCPH-77004, SCPH-50004.

    You've a problem with this game even without VMC?
    It really strange that this game will not even boot in your config?!
     
    Algol likes this.
  3. 375
    139
    47
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Not tried. Since it completely freezes the Ps2 I think that MODEs won't help…

    This game worked perfectly (VMC and IGR too) until most recent revs.
    The game has been fixed from USB : http://www.ps2-home.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=7124 ...and evidently from SMB too.

    It's broken from iHDD.
     
  4. 815
    516
    172
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    516
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    Almost the same thing was with Metal Arms: Glitch in the System.
    Game works fine with:
    http://www.psx-place.com/threads/open-ps2-loader-game-bug-reports.19401/page-5#post-147536.
    Now it needs mode 1+2 or it'll not even boot.

    Other e.g. maybe not similar is Marc Ecko's Getting Up: Contents Under Pressure.
    Game works without any modes on OPL 0.9.3, with OPL 1319 it required mode 3+6.

    I'm just saying that maybe some changes might affect some games to requires to enable some extra compatibility modes.

    Anyway, thanks for many reports (added into 1st post).
     
    Peppe90 likes this.
  5. 375
    139
    47
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    However, Metal Arms doesn't freeze the Ps2 (with just MODE 6 ON, you get the BSOD but you can power-off the Ps2, right??)

    The Bouncer now seems to completely freeze the Ps2 at Boot. Anyway I'll try some MODEs combinations (I'm a little worried for my HDD, since I have to hard-power-off every time…)
     
  6. 815
    516
    172
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    516
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm not sure if I understand you correctly or I've enough knowledge (maybe something was changed).
    If you enable mode 6 there is no way to trigger combo on pad to power off console.
    You've to press&hold power on\off button at least for 5 sec to power off the console.

    I'm not sure what hard-power-off means.
    You've to press this switch:
    [​IMG]
    Press&hold power on\off button at least for 5 sec should also work when OPL will crash.

    Anyway, maybe something will change for that game (The Bouncer):
    https://github.com/ifcaro/Open-PS2-Loader/pull/186#issuecomment-461688556.
     
    Vedita BR and Peppe90 like this.
  7. 375
    139
    47
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    This is the hard-power-off. The rear main-power is never contemplated in my tests ;)

    When you enable MODE 6, you can Always power-off the Ps2 just tapping the power-button, unless there are some problems (like a game that freeze the Ps2).

    i.e. with Tekken 5 - MODE 6 OFF you have to hard-power-off the Ps2 (just tapping the button doesn't work)
    Tekken 5 - MODE 6 ON instead, you can power-off the Ps2 just tapping the power button (the HDD will be gently powered-off then the Ps2). If there aren't particular problems it's Always like this, this is the second main purpose of MODE 6 I think (to allow to safely power-off the Ps2 in any situation).
     
    jolek likes this.
  8. 42
    34
    12
    Vedita BR

    Vedita BR Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Caregiver, student and gamer?
    Location:
    Brazil
    Home Page:
    ̶R̶e̶z̶ ̶S̶L̶U̶S̶_̶2̶0̶3̶.̶4̶4̶ ̶i̶s̶ ̶u̶n̶p̶l̶a̶y̶a̶b̶l̶e̶.̶ ̶S̶c̶r̶e̶e̶n̶ ̶b̶l̶i̶n̶k̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶i̶n̶-̶g̶a̶m̶e̶.̶.̶.̶
    ̶T̶e̶s̶t̶e̶d̶ ̶w̶i̶t̶h̶ ̶1̶3̶1̶9̶
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
  9. 815
    516
    172
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    516
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    Are you sure that this is a game problem?

    I've tried Rez (SCES_505.01) through SMB & USB with OPL 1319.
    Game has got 50\60 Hz selector at the start of a game.
    Both 50\60 Hz runs normally on my LCD TV through component.
    Tested on SCPH-77004 & SCPH-50004.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
    Vedita BR likes this.
  10. 42
    34
    12
    Vedita BR

    Vedita BR Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Caregiver, student and gamer?
    Location:
    Brazil
    Home Page:
    I went to test on my Slim 90k6 and everything was fine. Than i went to retest after i got email from your quote and i replugged my 39k1 to test to see if it was a FAT only problem and problem was gone... Well is working good now... Must have been some hardware bug perhaps... hyperlapse-20190210-052437-1x_1.gif
    Edit: the GIF is of Brother in the arms
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
  11. 815
    516
    172
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    516
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    I've tried this game on FAT (SCPH-50004) & SLIM (SCPH-77004) on the same TV and everything was fine.
    What cables are you using to connect console with TV (composite, SCART, S-Video, component)?
     
  12. 42
    34
    12
    Vedita BR

    Vedita BR Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Caregiver, student and gamer?
    Location:
    Brazil
    Home Page:
    the problem vanished from Rez, but randonly reappears on SLUS 21310
     
  13. 632
    1,125
    222
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    That's a forced power-off, like what you will do to a PC.

    Press the power button once, and it should shut down after 3s. If you double-tap, then the PS2 will reset.

    Soon, IGR will always monitor the power button, even if libpad cannot be located (i.e. in the case of games with some code hidden, like Tekken 5). So Disable IGR will soon really only become a compatibility mode.
     
    jolek and Peppe90 like this.
  14. 375
    139
    47
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    I didn't know this. So I have to tap the power button twice very quickly or I should tap the second time after hearing the HDD spinning down?

    :encouragement::encouragement::encouragement: ...This will make the IGR-pad-combination to work with all games also??
     
  15. 815
    516
    172
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    516
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    You mean screen blinking in-game...
    Maybe after all, you've some kind of a hardware problem?!

    I've tried Brothers in Arms: Earned in Blood (SLES_536.59) through SMB with OPL 1319 on SCPH-77004.
    md5sum: "3159c5791a2e9038466de7d89728e7b7".

    Without any compatibility\GSM modes game should runs fine.
     
  16. 42
    34
    12
    Vedita BR

    Vedita BR Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Caregiver, student and gamer?
    Location:
    Brazil
    Home Page:
    @jolek its random, i guess its related to IGR when console isnt in a purified/exorcised state
     
    sandungas likes this.
  17. 815
    516
    172
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    516
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    You've the same results on both consoles?
    For now I haven't encounter any blinking screen problems, even after many IGR attempts.
    Anyway, sometimes problems may appear on a specific condition.

    Thanks for tests & support.
     
    Algol likes this.
  18. 815
    516
    172
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    516
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life - Special Edition (SLES_534.80) according to changelog should work at least with rev 1324 or higher.
    I've tried this game with OPL 1343 through USB.
    I'm finally able to pass this screen:
    [​IMG]
    Also start new game.

    Thanks.

    EDIT Currently I cannot pass 1st pink debug color in OPL 1343 when I want to load game through SMB.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2019
    Zero35 and Tupakaveli like this.
  19. 42
    34
    12
    Vedita BR

    Vedita BR Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Caregiver, student and gamer?
    Location:
    Brazil
    Home Page:
    Conflict - Global Storn SLES_525.73 = hangs at Conflict logo and stays there. Tested with 19904e0 over HDD, SMB
    Manhunt SLUS_208,27 = black screen. Tested with 19904e0 over SMB

    EDIT: @jolek
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2019 at 9:01 AM
    jolek likes this.
  20. 815
    516
    172
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    516
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    Through USB, SMB, HDD or on all devices?
     

Share This Page