PS2 [Open PS2 Loader] Game Bug Reports

Discussion in 'Open PS2 Loader (OPL)' started by jolek, Jul 28, 2018.

  1. 8
    3
    7
    Zero35

    Zero35 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    7
    that means ps2sdk maybe need a big update?
     
  2. 517
    292
    97
    jolek

    jolek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    I've noticed that, when I try to play Shadow Man - 2econd Coming SLES_504.46 through HDD,
    most of a textures are missing:
    [​IMG]
    Through USB everything is fine:
    [​IMG]

    I've done this test with an OPL 0.9.3, 1086, 1107, 1180, 1200.
    Also all versions through SMB have the same results (missing textures).
    Tried mode 1, 1+6, 1+2+6, 1+3+6, etc.

    With OPL 0.9.3, 1086 when the game wants to load demo (I have to wait some time at "press start button" screen),
    textures "exist" but I have to add mode 1.
    Without this mode "loading" will never ends.
    With OPL 1107 or higher, demo will not load without mode 1, although most textures are missing.

    Previously I've got these problems through SMB:
    http://psx-scene.com/forums/f150/open-ps2-loader-bug-reports-65573/index44.html#post1206192.

    I wanted to try new HDL, so Installed the game on HDD.
    It's very strange because everything works fine through USB with all ot these versions.
    I always thought that HDD has got highest compatibility?!

    BTW With USB game only needs mode 6.
     
  3. 22
    15
    32
    El_Patas

    El_Patas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi @sp193, i found a game which was broken in the past.

    Title = Metal Arms: Glitch in the System
    ID = SLES_517.58
    Media = DVD
    OPL version = OPL 0.8, OPL 0.9, OPL 0.9.2, OPL 0.9.3, Beta r1200
    Device = HDD
    Mode(s) = Not tested
    VMC = Not tested
    IGR = Not works
    Compatible = See notes
    MD5 Checksum =
    Notes = BSOD at initial loading

    Works fine without Modes until the OPL 0.9.3, (OPL 0.9.2 is the last stable in which works),
    then i searched the betas between the OPL 0.9.2 and OPL 0.9.3 for find in which one was broken.

    I found that the last beta in which works is the r726, and fails in the r733, unfortunately
    i don't have the betas between r726 and r733 for test them and find in which one exactly
    of this range was broken.

    I searched them on Bitbucket:

    r727 https://bitbucket.org/ifcaro/open-ps2-loader/commits/c7eea825c13a9ec5f6b4c543f8195a4882c7fe58
    r728 https://bitbucket.org/ifcaro/open-ps2-loader/commits/624f9a5b41e441a8f6932eea4f5fdbe9c6ade228
    r729 https://bitbucket.org/ifcaro/open-ps2-loader/commits/acba4e8b26f25f8d46e1f9657538fc29965ec178
    r730 https://bitbucket.org/ifcaro/open-ps2-loader/commits/3cb4c611d518fa5ae703a8d41d2476fb582cde31
    r731 https://bitbucket.org/ifcaro/open-ps2-loader/commits/562ca00dfe2e1d53042034fd44f0b4e92776a9be
    r732 https://bitbucket.org/ifcaro/open-ps2-loader/commits/c23e04a5a92b6deed7a88dd3c2abe551af8f365c
    r733 https://bitbucket.org/ifcaro/open-ps2-loader/commits/5e2c95816e36cb074088dbfb51d890c8d30881c6

    I hope this helps.

    The IGR on this game do not works in any OPL version, do not have any effect, like happens
    with Tekken 5.

    Best regards.
     
    jolek likes this.
  4. 517
    292
    97
    jolek

    jolek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Can you try to launch this game with 1+2+6 compatibility modes?
    I've tried it with OPL 1196 through USB.
    Only with these modes game seems to boot... and I even able to pass loading screen, Start Adventure.

    BTW probably because of a USB speed, maneuvering through main menu options is very slow.
    Also FMV stutters.
    -> It is 3rd party MC "fault".

    EDIT: Game should also boot with mode 1+2,
    but as El_Patas mention IGR doesn't work.

    To be add, Marc Ecko's Getting Up: Contents Under Pressure needs mode 3+6 with OPL 1196 to launch level,
    with 0.9.3 no modes are needed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2018 at 1:27 PM
  5. 45
    7
    7
    Grahf

    Grahf Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Try with Mode 3+6 and MDMA-0.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018 at 12:14 PM
    jolek likes this.
  6. 22
    15
    32
    El_Patas

    El_Patas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    @jolek, you are right, in the beta r1200 works using Modes 1+2 in the internal HDD.

    The question is, if until the OPL 0.9.2 works without any Mode, why now need 2 Modes for work?

    Well, the good is that it works, thank you.

    Best regards.
     
  7. 302
    176
    47
    TnA

    TnA Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    176
    Trophy Points:
    47
    It might be working more performant than before and thus have to limit the speed... Not sure, tho'. Just a blind-shot, but an interesting question nonetheless. ;)
     
  8. 45
    7
    7
    Grahf

    Grahf Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Pretty sure that's what it's about. PS2 games are very prone to weird behaviour if the reading speed is high. We shouldn't really use anything above MDMA-0. I know most game will load just fine even at the highest speed, but after all these years of playing them, I know most just don't play right that way. For example, the Shin Megami Tensei games for PS2 have random crashing if played above MDMA-0.
     
  9. 517
    292
    97
    jolek

    jolek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Unfortunately, It didn't help, neither for SMB or HDD.

    It is strange that this game only works fine with USB (mode 6).

    Maybe if something will be fix\changed, also graphical glitches in Sega Ages 2500 Series Vol. 01: Phantasy Star generation:1 will be gone:
    http://www.psx-place.com/threads/open-ps2-loader-game-bug-reports.19401/page-3#post-144669.

    Anyway, back to Metal Arms: Glitch in the System.
    I've also notice that maneuvering through main menu options and background "demo"
    is very slow with my 3rd party MC, no matter if I launch it through USB or HDD?!
    With genuine $ony MC, everything is fine.
     
  10. 45
    7
    7
    Grahf

    Grahf Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Maybe it's your HDD? What model are you using? If it's 7200RPM, it might be too fast even with MDMA-0.
     
  11. 20
    7
    7
    Zarper

    Zarper Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
  12. 517
    292
    97
    jolek

    jolek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes, my HDD in PS2 has got 7200RPM, although (I think) mode 1 should slow down too fast transfer,
    but I might be wrong about this mode.
    Anyway, the same thing is through ETH.

    I don't have got none of these versions. Although I've also tried OPL 0.8, but with the same results (missing textures).
    Lowest OPL test build I've got is rev 769 from here:
    http://psx-scene.com/forums/f150/opl-nightly-releases-127137/.
    Anyway. I can test e.g. stable 0.7, 0.6, 0.5.
    If you can you can send me r678 and r679.
     
  13. 45
    7
    7
    Grahf

    Grahf Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Theoretically, it should, but I've found out 7200RPM HDDs are still too fast for some PS2 games.

    The only reason why it works through USB that I can think of is its low speed.
     
  14. 449
    748
    147
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    748
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    If the game needs MWDMA mode 0 and/or mode 1 (accurate reads), it likely has some bug. We provide these options as there are quite a number of titles like that.

    I originally intended mode 1 to replace the configurable transfer modes because the transfer modes were not really meant for being compatible with anything and MWDMA mode 0 is still too fast anyway. But then @RandQalan mentioned that it was not an effective substitute and I do not know why.... so the transfer mode option stayed.
    It could be that even with mode 1, things are still a bit too fast. Or perhaps the characteristics of using MWDMA mode 0 actually circumvents the bugs in the affected games.

    No. I meant to say that the game was made with a SDK from 2003 and should already have the fix for bugs in the PS2's EE kernel.
    All PS2s have a similar EE kernel. This kernel is always loaded from ROM. All of them also have the same bugs, perhaps because Sony wanted to maintain compatibility with all games (even those from 2000) from the SCPH-10000 to SCPH-90000. If you change anything in the kernel, it is possible to break an existing game.

    So how Sony fixes the kernel bugs, is to apply runtime patches from the Sony PS2SDK for new games. So this could also mean that very old games may be affected by the kernel bugs.
     
    RandQalan and Algol like this.
  15. 517
    292
    97
    jolek

    jolek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    [​IMG]
    Theoretically we can experiment with mode 7, because currently this item is unused.
    Mode 7 - Emulate CD\DVD speed?
     
  16. 449
    748
    147
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    748
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    That's the function of mode 1. You can try to adjust the parameter for determining how long it should take for reading, but it will likely still not be a magic bullet for various reasons. The CD/DVD drive is standard across all PS2 models, which is why there should be no need to make it configurable.
     
    jolek and Algol like this.
  17. 45
    7
    7
    Grahf

    Grahf Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Please, keep the transfer modes exactly because so many PS2 games are that weird. Sometimes just changing the transfer mode will help. For example, Xenosaga I has FMV stuttering during some late-game sections. Setting the transfer mode right will fix it, but it can't be too high since then the game breaks. It also depends on one's HDD because they achieve various speeds. What the theory says about transfer speeds is often no the case.

    As for that Shadow Man game, I can't believe it works from USB, but not from HDD. I still think jolek's HDD is just too fast for it. I wish I had the disc with it to test, but I never bothered to get this game since the reviews for it were very harsh. Now I can't even find it locally.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2018 at 6:14 AM
  18. 273
    228
    72
    RandQalan

    RandQalan Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Yea I never checked Shadow Man with the multiple testing.
    Some games break by too fast and too slow transfers so it was a compromise for mode 1.

    I tested with 5400 and 7200 HDD to get as many games to work with it as possible.
     
    jolek, TnA and Grahf like this.
  19. 45
    7
    7
    Grahf

    Grahf Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Shadow Man: 2econd Coming is a CD game. Since the CD reading is slower, maybe the game is especially prone to glitches if the speed is above a given value? I'm guessing here because I don't have it for testing, but I think it just glitches on 7200RPM HDDs, even with MDMA-0. The only difference with USB would be the reading speed, right? If it works from USB, then the only logical reason for that is slower reading speed.
     
  20. 302
    176
    47
    TnA

    TnA Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    176
    Trophy Points:
    47
    It is not 'the only' but 'one' possible reason, why it works via USB! ;)
     

Share This Page