Dismiss Notice

PSX-Place.com Announcement:

New Smiley's Added to post editor !!!

PS3 Ps3 freezing a lot lately (specially webman)

Discussion in 'PS3 Jailbreaks / CFW' started by TheNorthRemembers4ever, Aug 9, 2018 at 12:08 PM.

  1. 9
    0
    5
    TheNorthRemembers4ever

    TheNorthRemembers4ever Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    I had my Ps3 for 3 years now and I had no problems
    Now it freezes a lot
    Mainly when I pick a game from webman
    Or when I'm using the browser
    I'm on rebug 4.82.2 Rex
    And one of the lastest verions of webman if not the last
    Any tips to stop that
     
  2. 2,025
    1,783
    272
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,025
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    Trophy Points:
    272
    It uses to be hdd filesystem problems, and could be happening in both, external usb hdd (incase you are using one), and internal hdd

    For internal hdd you have to enter recovery menu and run the option "restore filesystem" https://www.semperthree.com/ps3recoverymenu.html
    For external (ntfs or fat) you have to run a checkdisk in a PC with windows (linux is not able to make checkdisk to NTFS filesystems)
     
  3. 2,025
    1,783
    272
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,025
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    Trophy Points:
    272
    I just realized you wrote this message too, about problems with dark soul game not loading well the game files
    http://www.psx-place.com/threads/a-problem-with-dark-souls-2.20343/
    Read it again btw, i just have edited it
    The point is all code running in the PS3 has a "max wait time" when accessing files... if that time is exceeded the PS3 uses to crash or freeze (yeah is that stupid). And the cause is the hdd because is not "replying" fast enought
    So yeah.. both are a synthom that the problem is in the hdd ;)

    To make the checkdick in windows take a read at this btw, just coincidential but i posted it today too how to do it
    http://www.psx-place.com/threads/mu...dds-4-82-cfw-support.15615/page-2#post-133736
     
  4. 60
    17
    12
    unseen

    unseen Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Nice typo! :-p
     
    jolek, sandungas and kozarovv like this.
  5. 6,679
    4,494
    697
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6,679
    Likes Received:
    4,494
    Trophy Points:
    697
    Home Page:
    Checking your dick in windows is not best idea..
     
    jolek and sandungas like this.
  6. 2,025
    1,783
    272
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,025
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    Trophy Points:
    272
    \o/, caught in a funny typo

    Im sure there must some software to do it, and i remember to see some prototypes of the interface, is going to be "the next thing" after VR and AR headsets
     
  7. 9
    0
    5
    TheNorthRemembers4ever

    TheNorthRemembers4ever Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    will checkdisk erase any data?
     
  8. 8,593
    3,204
    472
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8,593
    Likes Received:
    3,204
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    no
     
  9. 9
    0
    5
    TheNorthRemembers4ever

    TheNorthRemembers4ever Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    At first I did checkdisk but it was still bugged
    Then I copied it to internal hdd and did the recovery thing and it worked
    THANK YOU So much I can finally enjoy the game
     
  10. 2,025
    1,783
    272
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,025
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    Trophy Points:
    272
    If the filesystem is fine is not going to make any change, basically is going to tell you "ok, everything is working normally"
    In windows you can run it initially without the /f option for a preview
    If it finds some corrupted file though is going to try to restore it, and if is not posible to restore it is going to delete it, but this is like the minor problem at this point (after has been identifyed as corrupted) because if the checkdisk is not able to fix it probably other tools are not going to be able either
    Sometimes appears "orpahn" files, that i think are moved to a temporal folder... but this is like a bottomless pit, that files are not supposed to go out of there ever, are just keep for forensic purposes

    The option in PS3 named "restore filesystem" is the same overall but using linux code (probably a bit modifyed by sony to have better performance and remove features not needed in the PS3)

    --------------
    Btw, if the problem was in a USB hdd... at the time you connect it to windows you should do (after the checkdisk) a defragmentation too
    An hdd with lof of fragmentation could cause that problems too... is just the filesystem errors are more probable because you was having freezes in webman (before loading the game from USB)
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2018 at 1:58 PM
  11. 9
    0
    5
    TheNorthRemembers4ever

    TheNorthRemembers4ever Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    One more question
    When I did the restoring file system it messed up webman
    It shows all my games even the ones that I have on external ( it wasn't plugged in)
    And when I go to webman settings it gives me an error in the browser
    Do I need to reinstall it
     
  12. 8,593
    3,204
    472
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8,593
    Likes Received:
    3,204
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I believe those games are written to an xml file (called mygames.xml?), so they might show up even if the drive isn't plugged in. images for the games come from the multiman folder unless overridden with your own in the iso folder.
     
  13. 9
    0
    5
    TheNorthRemembers4ever

    TheNorthRemembers4ever Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    FML as I said webman was kind deleted but it was kinda still there
    Now I played ds2 for about 5 min then I got a message the ps3 is too hot and I think the fans weren't spinning
    Will it be ok?
    I'll just wait for it to cool down then I'll reinstall webman asap
     
  14. 8,593
    3,204
    472
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8,593
    Likes Received:
    3,204
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    residual traces of wmm may still linger. I think several of the files go in the tmp folder on the root of dev_hdd0 . the wmm files are obvious from what I remember. it should be okay to try reinstalling wmm. I've personally had some problems with wmm and ps2 games. mm doesn't have this problem, but wmm would unload itself after launching a ps2 game. apparently, no one else has this issue. :(
     
  15. 9
    0
    5
    TheNorthRemembers4ever

    TheNorthRemembers4ever Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    I always use mm for ps2 game as well idk why but I like it better
    Thank for your help bro
     
  16. 8,593
    3,204
    472
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8,593
    Likes Received:
    3,204
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I think @aldostools thinks my ps3 is haunted, 'cause what it's doing isn't supposed to happen. lol oh, well, I'm going to buy a new system which isn't banned and just retire the one that I own. I need to go back through tales of graces f. I lost that save due to hard drive corruption iirc. that and jak and daxter 1 are the only games I ever played on the system. I loved both of them. :D
     

Share This Page