PS3 Net Server Tutorial

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Guides' started by kozarovv, Mar 22, 2015.

  1. 13
    0
    1
    krriiissss

    krriiissss New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No problem, just saying there is a problem in ps3netsrv version in this thread.
     
  2. 4,216
    2,164
    123
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    2,164
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Earth
    And I have mentioned to you already in post #48 that users should only use the latest release on github.
    There has been a recent build released that doesn't work so when in doubt, get the latest executable....

    Sent with Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2016
    aldostools likes this.
  3. 13
    0
    1
    krriiissss

    krriiissss New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok
     
  4. 36
    6
    8
    sbp

    sbp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I am trying to run the very latest ps3netsvr on Windows 10 and it will not load. Does anyone else run it on a win 10 box? Upon first try I of course didn't have the msvb5 DLL but I have fixed that and now when I try to run the app nothing happens. I have tried various compatibility modes and all do nothing to help get it running.

    Any help/tips would be greatly appreciated.
    Sbp
     
  5. 1,452
    549
    123
    Joonie

    Joonie Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    549
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Southwest US
    I'm running it on Win10, I think you need admin privilege for it to run properly.
     
    sbp and STLcardsWS like this.
  6. 36
    6
    8
    sbp

    sbp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks for the quick reply. I have done that (one of the first things I I did) and nothing happends just the same. Any other ideas? Also your attachment link comes up with
    The page you are looking for cannot be found.

    Thanks again, you guys rock.
     
  7. 1,452
    549
    123
    Joonie

    Joonie Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    549
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Southwest US
    upload_2017-1-11_18-25-34.png

    I was meant to show you this
     
    STLcardsWS likes this.
  8. 4,216
    2,164
    123
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    2,164
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Earth
    Just "ps3netsrv won't load on win 10" is very vague.
    Do you get a process started in the Task Manager? Which ps3netsrv version is that?
    Are you using the DOS executable or the GUI exe? If you are using the} DOS binary alone, it requires you to launch it from the admin command line prompt with the adequate arguments...
     
  9. 36
    6
    8
    sbp

    sbp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Yes I guess i was a bit vague, I guess I do not know all of which info would be required from more experienced people.
    setup:
    Windows 10 x64 (the exact same build/version # as Joonie's pic) I installed msvbvm50.exe from MS.
    ps3netsrv_20170106
    PS3_NET_Server.exe ( No process starts in task mgr )
    ps3netsrv.exe (works as expected but I am only familiar with the GUI version to set it up)

    I am trying to run the PS3_NET_Server.exe GUI which nothing happens on. no process shows up in task mgr. I am not "new" but I do not know what else I may be missing or did not try of the obvious troubleshooting nature. I have admin rights, the file permissions are set correctly. Hope that helps you help me. lol

    Thanks guys.
     
  10. 1,452
    549
    123
    Joonie

    Joonie Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    549
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Southwest US
    I know that msvbvm50.dll used to give me a problem with aldo's ps3tools, you should try different versions
     
    sbp likes this.
  11. 36
    6
    8
    sbp

    sbp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hmmm, ok I'll check for that. Do you by chance have any links you trust that I can try? I didn't find it as easy of a search as I thought it should have been. Oh, or do you mean older versions of ps3netsrv? I'll start with that I think. Thanks for the advice.
     
  12. 4,216
    2,164
    123
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    2,164
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Earth
    [​IMG]
    That's all I have in my folder.
    Executables are not even run as Administrator...
     
    STLcardsWS likes this.
  13. 1,452
    549
    123
    Joonie

    Joonie Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    549
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Southwest US
    upload_2017-1-11_20-24-46.png

    http://www.mediafire.com/file/sb4uu9p2pwwzr69/msvbvm50.rar

    this is the one I'm using now
     
    STLcardsWS likes this.
  14. 4,216
    2,164
    123
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    2,164
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Earth
    There is a link to a VB5 Runtime installer that is guaranteed to work in the PS3 Tools Collection resource in Resources section.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017 at 8:03 PM
    STLcardsWS likes this.
  15. 36
    6
    8
    sbp

    sbp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks guys. I have the same msvb50.dll as joonie as well installed. I tried an older ps3netsvr and that worked, and now for whatever reason the latest netsvr1.4 is also working as expected. That was a very strange result. I have now loaded them several times and it starts as expected. I will reboot again now and see if things are back on track. Thanks again for all of your time/help.

    Update:
    Ok after reboot, the ps3netsvr 1.4 (latest version) is back to not running maybe I confused the two although I now have a config file as expected from setting up version 1.4 and the non GUI starts without further parms but ver 1.3.0.5 GUI starts every time. any ideas why? I will play around a bit more later but at least I have netsrvr running atm. lol now to play with Joonie's latest Rebug.& some other new apps since I last updated my ps3.

    Thanks again guys.
    sbp
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2017
    STLcardsWS, bguerville and Joonie like this.
  16. 36
    6
    8
    sbp

    sbp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hey guys, just a quick question as I did not see it anywhere, is there a ps3netsvr 1.4 linux version as well already compiled?

    Thanks
    sbp
     
  17. 4,216
    2,164
    123
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    2,164
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Earth
    All most recent updated binaries for Windows & Linux can always be found in the latest ps3netsrv zip archive available for download at github.com/aldostools/webMAN-MOD/releases.
    What you won't find are updated binaries for different architectures like nas or raspberry pi. Those usually need to be recompiled with the current source...
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017 at 10:09 PM
    sbp likes this.
  18. 36
    6
    8
    sbp

    sbp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Sorry, I am a bit inexperienced when it comes to Linux, but I did not see any Linux related release in the latest zip package, I'll check the ps3netsvr 1.3 zip pack to see if it has one but I would rather the latest 1.4 of course.

    I downloaded the last couple netsvr zips and no Linux files, which is the last compiled Linux version?

    I have a Ubuntu box setup that I use for a data server in my home network which is left on and thought this would be also be my better choice for ps3netsvr 1.4 as well.

    Do any of you use Linux for this and is there a GUI version the same as PC version?
     
  19. 4,216
    2,164
    123
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    2,164
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Earth
    Sorry I meant the source code zip not the ps3netsrv server zip.
    Open it & look at this folder ps3netsrv/bins/linux
    The Linux version has no GUI like any old good Linux utility...
    You will need to get familiar with the arguments syntax I'm afraid. Or you could maybe try running the GUI for Windows through Wine..??

    Many people use ps3netsrv whether on Linux or Windows, it works well. The choice between ps3netsrv & external hdd is up to you...
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017 at 10:45 PM
    sbp likes this.
  20. 36
    6
    8
    sbp

    sbp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I see, thanks yet again for all your help, it has saved me a ton of time getting my stuff up and running.

    Sbp
     

Share This Page