PS3 PSNpatch - Releases / Usage Information (Official Support Thread) 2017.02/B

A PS3 Homebrew App or Plugin that disables CFW for a safer PSN experience on CFW.

  1. 550
    224
    53
    kokotonix

    kokotonix Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT Engineer
    Location:
    Atlantis
    What exactly CFW flavour did you install ?
    is it cobra or non-cobra ?
    what other tools are installed that ma temper with boot time ?
    What have you installed from psnpatch and which configurations have you enabled ?


    You will not need to format anything.
    If the system doesn't boot, you can always reinstall from the recovery menu and it will reset all installed payloads .
     
  2. 550
    224
    53
    kokotonix

    kokotonix Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT Engineer
    Location:
    Atlantis
    That depends entirely on the always enabled game - psnpatch does only control the local configuration.
    If a particular game controls the add-ons at the server level, and refuses the local raps, that means you have not bought the add-ons.

    The easiest way is to bought those addons.
     
  3. 2
    0
    1
    Feenixx7

    Feenixx7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It was my fault for not understanding exactly what I was doing with the PSNPatch util but this was my first time jb a PS3 so I wasnt sure what to do after it froze like that. I tried everything but reinstalling the FW.

    Everything installed fine and after I installed REBUG_4.82.1_LITE for the CFW, the only things I installed after that was mulitiMan and then the latest PSNPatch. But where I really screwed it up was when i had it install all of the plugins I think...still not sure if that caused it but it was the last thing I did and rebooted. After that it kept locking up trying to do a disk check.

    Its fine now but I need to read up on PSNPatch before I try installing that again.
     
  4. 11
    0
    1
    Denyslav

    Denyslav New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male

    How did you manage to reinstall CFW if it freeses? It freeses form me in recovery also.
     
  5. 550
    224
    53
    kokotonix

    kokotonix Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT Engineer
    Location:
    Atlantis
    Yes. You should read psnpatch user guide. Is quite straight forward.
    But usually you should only:
    install rebug.
    go into rebug config and activate cobra
    install pssnpatch
    go into psnpatch config, install psnpatch plugin.
    no other option should be needed.


    you probably have installed the psnpatch "non-cobra" plugin then activated cobra in rebug. psnpatch "non-cobra" plugin may be incompatible with some cfw cobra implementations and may have been the cause of your issues.
    so: FIRST make sure cobra is activated, THEN install psnpatch plugin

    again: read psnpatch manual. it is all there

    ;)
     
  6. 550
    224
    53
    kokotonix

    kokotonix Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT Engineer
    Location:
    Atlantis
    If it freezes in recovery, it is a problem of your ps3 hardware or the cfw you are using.
    I suggest you to place the question in your cfw support thread.
     
    bitsbubba likes this.
  7. 11
    0
    1
    Denyslav

    Denyslav New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm using new rebug 4.82 lite, but it hapened when I installed psnpatch toolbox. I tought I enabled cobra in rebug toolbox. I guess I was wrong. Now I can't do anything, it bring up recovery menu but when I hit some of the options it freezes. I tried ever option, even Restore PS3 System but nothing hapenes. What are my options now?? New hdd??
     
  8. 550
    224
    53
    kokotonix

    kokotonix Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT Engineer
    Location:
    Atlantis
    you just have to reinstall rebug trough the recovery menu.
    follow the instrutions to install a cfw trough the recovery menu,
    after being in the recovery menu, and start updating firmware, everything is reset. No more hangs.
    take care about enable cobra in the cfw before installing psnpatch.
     
    bitsbubba likes this.
  9. 6,756
    5,398
    123
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    6,756
    Likes Received:
    5,398
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Earth
    Like kokotonix said, psnpatch does not affect emer_init.self which is the executable loading recovery mode.
    Even if you messed up your COBRA installation & installed bad plugins, booting into recovery would still be allowed.
    Something else has messed your system up & the fact it happened after psnpatch plugin installation is a coincidence. You could have a hdd issue or corrupted fw among other things..

    If you are stuck in recovery with no way to get back to xmb or reinstall the CFW, your best option might be to change hdd or try a quick reformat on the pc.. You will need to reinstall the exact same pup for the fw currently installed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017
    bitsbubba likes this.
  10. 11
    0
    1
    Denyslav

    Denyslav New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes, I will try to reformat hdd. I hope it helps. I read somwhere that rebug doesn't allow firmware update from recovery. Too bad.
     
  11. 7,896
    3,013
    123
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,896
    Likes Received:
    3,013
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I don't believe this is correct.. otherwise, it would be a major issue for a lot of people who've soft bricked. it does have update protection for the bd. instead of searching for PS3_UPDATE, it searches for NOT_UPDATE for bd only. I searched for it in the emer_init.self (the recovery menu), and I don't believe I saw any changes to usb updating.

    edit: I just double-checked using 4.81.2 as a base. nothing has changed with usb updates, only bd or bdvd have been changed to NOT_UPDATE and NOT/UPDATE respectively.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2017
  12. 7
    2
    3
    darkomelette

    darkomelette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    I don't know what I did but I screwed up my PS3. Here's what I did, I went into PSNPatch and installed the PSNPatch Plugin, it showed "Installing Plugin Handler" and after that, it rebooted. Now when I try to login to my user account the screen just gets STRUCK/FROZEN. I'm on the latest Rebug 4.82 LTE version.
    I just downloaded 40GB worth games don't want all of the data I spent to goin in vain :(

    EDIT:
    I think that my hard drive is totally corrupted and is beyond repairing. It's because I just turned my PS3 off and on when it gets stuck so now it's totally corrupted.
    Like, it works for the first 15-20secs and after that whatever you do it gets frozen. So the solution is to get a new hard drive :(
    P.S: Tried formatting too, it gets stuck at the sony logo:, (((

    Anyway, is there any fix to this ?
     
  13. 321
    267
    73
    lord3490

    lord3490 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT support
    Location:
    //127.0.0.1/dev_hdd0/home
    Yep, been there too..
    Clicked first thought about it second xD
    I forgot to enable cobra first and the plugin handler seems to cause that problem..
    Here is what I would suggest:

    If you don't already have the eid root key
    1. Get another HDD (only temporary). Put it in the ps3
    2. Reinstall fw
    3. Dump eid root key (using debug toolbox)

    Now you can use a PC for reading the other HDD
    4. Copy all you need to your pc
    5. Format that HDD from PC
    6. Put it back into the console & reinstall fw
    7. copy from PC (or USB) back to internal HDD.

    I had nothing on my internal HDD at that moment so it was only step 5 and 6 for me ;)

    Edit: you downloaded games legally from psn or ripped from own disks, as talk about piracy is not allowed here...
     
  14. 7
    2
    3
    darkomelette

    darkomelette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the reply dude I was really starting to get scared. What is the use of dumping the EID root key(Newbie here).
    I have some games on my HDD but I don't really care, so can I just reformat as FAT32 and install the FW and get on with that ?
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2017
  15. 7,896
    3,013
    123
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,896
    Likes Received:
    3,013
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    the eid_root_key can be used for decrypting the hdd. it's console-specific.
     
  16. 7
    2
    3
    darkomelette

    darkomelette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks
    Alright, so this EID root dumping, is it optional or mandatory ?
    Plus I have another question, after I format my HDD as FAT32, which FIRMWARE do I need to install ?
    Do I need to install the OFW 4.82(after format) or CFW 4.82(after format) but I'm guess it's not possible I need to install the OFW first and then JB it using the exploit after that install CFW, am I correct ?
     
  17. 3,823
    1,809
    123
    bitsbubba

    bitsbubba Super Moderator / Developer Super Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,823
    Likes Received:
    1,809
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Homicidal Super Moderator
    Location:
    Camp Crystal Lake, USA
    Home Page:
    no if you already have CFW on the system then you should be able to use the same CFW PUP that's on there now
     
  18. 321
    267
    73
    lord3490

    lord3490 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT support
    Location:
    //127.0.0.1/dev_hdd0/home
    if you format on PC it doesn't matter since the ps3 can't read it anyway and will ask you to format again once you put it back and start the console.
    So yes fat 32 would be OK, but so is NTFS or any other ;)

    When I had that issue the console froze after about 5s after boot even in recovery. So reinstalling fw didn't work for me..

    I had this problem after changing HDD (and installing psn patch plugin & plugin handler), so I swapped back to the old one: didn't freeze.
    So I knew thew the console is fine, it's just the HDD (such a relief :D)
    After formatting on PC and putting it back I had to format and reinstall fw (since it's my nor console).
    After that I FIRST enabled cobra and installed psn plugin AFTER that --> no issues at all.
    You could try to replicate it by disabling cobra and installing psn patch plugin afterwards on rebug 4.82.1 lite (will most probably cause the same issue, so be aware).

    My guess is that psn patch plugin is fw independent (I know that) but the plugin handler isn't.
    I have always used cobra so I don't know about the plugin handler on other firmwares.
     
  19. 7,896
    3,013
    123
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,896
    Likes Received:
    3,013
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I've not used plugin handler. thus far, no issues with psn patch or even sen enabler (using its spoof on rebug 4.81.2.
     
  20. 1
    0
    1
    Hardcore Rzeznik

    Hardcore Rzeznik New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello everyone!

    I've already updated my PS3 to REBUG 4.82.1 LITE. I've also installed PSNPatch 2017.02/B with plugin. In "psnpatch.cfg" file I saved new IDPS and PSID (from my another console).

    When am I in XMB menu after combo L3+R3+R2 there is only information about locked CFW, unlocked PSN access and disabled webMan - there is no information about spoof data. Is that correct or something is wrong? Auto-spoof on boot is disabled. COBRA is enabled. Before CFW-update was REBUG 4.81.2 REX with PSNPatch and plugin also.

    Please help me. Thank You.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2017

Share This Page