Repetitions Check

Discussion in 'Help & Support' started by crashpsycho, Aug 1, 2017.

  1. 114
    14
    28
    crashpsycho

    crashpsycho Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    28
    PS3 PHAT
    CECH-K01


    I am trying very hard to understand whats going on here. This is my first encounter with this error after making 5 Backup all are BAD. Now i ve done some looking around on different psx sites and found that it could be a faulty error from the back and suggest to try BWE NOR and HxD to compare backups now in HxD all 3 of my backups are showing identical. when i use BWE NOR and PS3 Dump Checker all 3 are showing Bad.

    On a Pure Back up without BWE it shows ROS1 466.00 and ROS0 470.00. when i click on repeition check it shows this:

    You should check address line(s): A10
    Header Magic1 Repetitions Found at 1 offsets: 0xF00810
    Header Magic1 Repetitions Expected at: 0xF00010


    Now if i Patch with BWE NOR my ROS1 and ROS0 are both 355.00 however the PS3 Dump checker still shows.


    You should check address line(s): A10
    Header Magic1 Repetitions Found at 1 offsets: 0xF00810
    Header Magic1 Repetitions Expected at: 0xF00010.

    According to PS3 Dev Rep Check im supposed to have :
    NOR: 0x0000010 00 00 00 00 0F AC E0 FF 00 00 00 00 DE AD BE EF

    NAND: 0x040010 00 00 00 00 0F AC E0 FF 00 00 00 00 DE AD BE EF



    MINE SHOWS

    00 00 00 00 AC 0F FF E0 00 00 00 00 AD DE EF BE



    Now i have been reading ps3 devwiki repetition checks and i wont lie it make no sense to me. at this point im stuck and cant move forward with JB my extra console. becausei dont want to brick it. can someone point into a better in depth way to resolve or better idea on how to understand ps3 dev wiki repeptition check.
     
  2. 5,051
    2,914
    123
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5,051
    Likes Received:
    2,914
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Home Page:
    Is due to byte reversing. I think. About rest of your post, did you tried other tools to check your dump? (ok, you did) Also please don't move forward until someone more knowledgeable that I, help you.
     
    pinky likes this.
  3. 709
    126
    53
    No0bZiLLa

    No0bZiLLa Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    53
    looks byte reversed to me, but without seeing the actual dump its just a guess. i have never used the repetition check tool, i thought it was built into bwe tools tbh.

    for reference, you also should not post any public links to your dump, because then everyone will have access to it. if you decide to let someone take a look or help, pm that person the link in private, dont post it publicly.

    now with that said, you can pm me a link to your dump and i can take a look at it for you.
     
    pinky likes this.
  4. 709
    126
    53
    No0bZiLLa

    No0bZiLLa Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    53
    actually at 0xF00000 is suppose to be faceoff deadface area, the section between vtrm and call_extnor_area and should be "00 00 00 00 0F AC E0 FF 00 00 00 00 DE AD FA CE" so looks like your dump isnt any good. do not flash that back to the console. i would reposition clip or try to flow the solder a little better around the solder joints.

    for reference:
    psdevwiki/flash
    psdevwiki/Flash:0FACE0FF_DEADFACE

    P.S. do not flash anything to your console yet, because you stand a high risk of bricking.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2017
  5. 114
    14
    28
    crashpsycho

    crashpsycho Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Thank you both I will re position the nor clip and try again.

    Q @No0bZiLLa when you say flow the solder. What joints are you talking about I'm using e3 flasher sorry for got mention in OP post

    Sent from my SM-G920T using Tapatalk
     
  6. 5,799
    1,901
    123
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    1,901
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    off topic: @No0bZiLLa , I just now noticed u had my tutorials in ur sig. that's very sweet of u. :)
     
    No0bZiLLa likes this.
  7. 709
    126
    53
    No0bZiLLa

    No0bZiLLa Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    53
    if your using the clip, then dont worry about anything related to soldering. just reposition and redump. rinse and repeat until you have a good dump.
     
  8. 709
    126
    53
    No0bZiLLa

    No0bZiLLa Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    53
    shucks pinky, your making me blush :sem blush:
     
    pinky likes this.
  9. 5,799
    1,901
    123
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    1,901
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I was going to put my vita, ps4, wii u, and 3ds tutorials in my sig, but I ran out of space due to the length of the urls and the bb code. ;)
     
  10. 114
    14
    28
    crashpsycho

    crashpsycho Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Okay so i havent had a chance to reconnect nor clip and redump yet. but ive been readin more on ps3dev wiki and it states in the byte reverse to use FlowReBuilder 5.0 and use the bytes reversed option since i did that im now getting the whole dead beef thing. but after taking the backup and placing it back into ps3 dumpchecker still gives same error. now this was just a test to see if it did anything but it still failed. would using FlowReBuilder do anything to help or is that something that is now obsolete?
     
  11. 249
    262
    73
    baileyscream

    baileyscream Moderator

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Don't use flowrebuilder for byte reversing
    The 3 validators can check the raw e3 dump as it is
    Don't use bwe as it's out dated use the other 3
    Norpatcher being the main one
    Now reposition your clip and try another dump as @noobzilla has told you


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    DeViL303 and nCadeRegal like this.
  12. 114
    14
    28
    crashpsycho

    crashpsycho Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    28
    okay so after getting back around to this i was reseating and applying better pressure to the nor clip but im still getting the bytes.
    anything else to try from here
     
  13. 249
    262
    73
    baileyscream

    baileyscream Moderator

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Can you upload your dumps and p/m me the links


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    DeViL303 likes this.
  14. 249
    262
    73
    baileyscream

    baileyscream Moderator

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    73
    sorry for the delay
    after the last message I have been swamped at work
    i'm grabbing your dumps now and will update in a short while
     
    kozarovv and crashpsycho like this.
  15. 249
    262
    73
    baileyscream

    baileyscream Moderator

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    73
    all your dumps are identical
    checked in hxd > f6 > compare
    but you have 2 lots of FACEOFF DEADFACE at the end of your dump

    you can delete all but one of your dumps as they are all the same
    if this was me I would re-build the console and re-install official firmware twice in recovery menu
    then do a new dump and see if your duplicate DEADFACE has gone
    easiest way to see is to put it in [PS3 Dump Checker 4.90]

    report back if it has or has not changed it
     
    kozarovv and crashpsycho like this.
  16. 114
    14
    28
    crashpsycho

    crashpsycho Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I took your advice reassembled the ps3 i swapped hard drive cuz i was gonna upgrade anyways reflashed 4.81 ofw first. Then did it twice from recovery menu and still getting same issue with bytes swapped and still seeing

    AC 0F FF E0 00 00 00 DA DE EF BE


    After doing HxD compare file it states all the files are the same am i okay to continue at all ?

    Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
     
  17. 544
    242
    53
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    242
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    I already seen duplicate FACEOFF DEADFACE/DEADBEEF in very rare "good" dumps of working consoles. But it's not normal anyway.
    So, you may go ahead by force patching your dump. But it's at your own decision/risk.
     
    crashpsycho and baileyscream like this.
  18. 249
    262
    73
    baileyscream

    baileyscream Moderator

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Your dump does not have bytes swapped
    It's PS3 readable as you have printed above.
    If it was swapped then it would be human readable
    So leave the dump that way as the validators can read it just fine.

    Ideally I would like to have the console here to look at it myself
    As that area is duplicated then there is a chance there may also be duplicates in the unreadable area of the dump
    But this duplicate appears to be on the nor chip and not a created duplicate made during the dumping process as you would have more duplicates in the dump

    I take it that you did remove the clip when you rebuilt the console to double install the firmware
    Then reattach to make a new dump
    So that action should have given some sort of difference in the new dump as it hasn't then I personally would patch the dump to 450 (nofsm) using norpatcher
    Then install a 4.81 cfw in recovery menu (rebug won't install in this way but ferrox for example will)
    It should go into recovery menu and not shut down or freeze if I'm right about that dump.
    But that's what I would try


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    crashpsycho likes this.
  19. 114
    14
    28
    crashpsycho

    crashpsycho Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Yes i fillowed all your steps to the T and removed nor clip and everything. I dont know if this makes any difference but this console was super dirty and in some spots had rust although i didnt see on the chip that i place the nor clip i cleaned with duster and light swab of alcohol.

    But i will instal ferrox from recovery qheb you say patch to 450 nofsm what do you mean by that

    Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page