[Research]PS2 emulator configuration on PS4

Discussion in 'PS2 on PS4' started by kozarovv, Jan 23, 2018.

  1. 11
    10
    3
    Vegeta

    Vegeta New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Tried that with Street Fighter EX3 and got a black screen because it didn't boot up. Strange. Atleast it boots with --gs-uprender=2x2
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2018
  2. 6
    6
    3
    salitoshater

    salitoshater New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    it's a pity that this topic to "the game doesn't go, or that game doesn't go to" degenerates.
    the first contribution is an excellent performance, but nobody seems to want to follow it. is there actually a dump of an official ps2 classics? so that you can better understand the structure and design of the files and folders?
     
    Stayhye likes this.
  3. 102
    88
    38
    Stayhye

    Stayhye Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ........
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Can anyone help me with the usage format of "disc-swap-cli.conf"? I'm trying to make a multi disc game(xenosaga 2 and 3)......

    I've had much success with default settings. 50+ games and counting. I've also found that some games that freeze at pic1 boot screen(other than MK shaolin monks, soul calibur 2 and 3), can be made to work if you re-build the iso with cdvd generator 1.50. This method fixed multiple titles for me(BMX XXX, AVP extinction, XIII, unreal tournament, etc)

    Can we get some kind of known working templates of these config files to learn from? All the ones floating on the webs lock up and freeze any game if enabled. Maybe not being enabled correctly? I don't know, there is no clear information on the subject...
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2018
  4. 6,502
    4,367
    123
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6,502
    Likes Received:
    4,367
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Home Page:
    Sorry for long time no answering here, i'm busy right now. To be honest I didn't touched emu long time. So about Cli.conf I'm not sure it run just like that. Remember that thread is about research. Not ready to go solutions.

    For now I found few places in emulator where checksums are compared, if they fail, boot is halted. One of examples here is ps2-emu-compiler file. If checksum for that file fail, then emu will not boot.

    Strange. This one is confirmed by tester. Setting both to "None" fixed God of War glitches (still low fps). And actually should improve compatibility, not lower it.
    Decrypt payloads are available as far as i know.
    Find good disassembler at your choice. Google is your friend.

    Jnz, will work, but it break correctly formatted cards. Jmp will break it completely. It just jump to abort instruction without looking at condition.
    No idea. Maybe i never said it here, but I don't have hacked PS4..



    No idea. I looked at error code but it seems to be not related for elf file. Without dump from emu I can't say to which part of memory error is referring. PS. On ps3 is fully playable, so clamping settings can be important here.
     
    Grim Doe and STLcardsWS like this.
  5. 28
    21
    3
    cfwprophet

    cfwprophet Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Occupation:
    Im Free Dude....
    Location:
    Vienna
    Home Page:
    Uh...yea cause the app checks the elf header and simple renaming of a self file won't trick the app to think it's a valid elf. ^^
    You need to drop the decrypted files there. Not the encrypted or fake signed one.
     
  6. 697
    513
    103
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    513
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    Very Nice! Could we know what patch you applied?
     
    Grim Doe likes this.
  7. 6,502
    4,367
    123
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6,502
    Likes Received:
    4,367
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Home Page:
    Grim Doe and littlebalup like this.
  8. 28
    21
    3
    cfwprophet

    cfwprophet Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Occupation:
    Im Free Dude....
    Location:
    Vienna
    Home Page:
  9. 697
    513
    103
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    513
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    @kozarovv or anybody else, do you have more info about disc-swap-cli.conf file structure and how to manage multi discs in general?
     
  10. 6,502
    4,367
    123
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6,502
    Likes Received:
    4,367
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Home Page:
    Nope. For now I didn't touched emu long time. Maybe when I get PS4 on 4.05, but for now let other users research this emu.
    For sure you need to specify max discs number by --max-disc-num= , and --boot-disc-id= in ps4-config.

    --image-disc1
    --image-disc2
    --image-disc3
    --image-disc4
    --image-disc5

    From disc-cli probably require disc id.

    --image-disc1=SLED-12345 , etc.
     
    littlebalup likes this.
  11. 102
    88
    38
    Stayhye

    Stayhye Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ........
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    I don't know about the disc-swap-cli.conf, but you can make multi disc pkgs by just changing "--max-disc-num=" to how many discs you want to use. No other changes necessary. I have successfully made a 5 disc GTA collection and 5 disc Xenosaga collection. To swap discs, a "change disc" option shows up in the quick menu(hold ps button)
     
  12. 9
    1
    3
    zolwikwkurwik

    zolwikwkurwik New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Someone on psxhax posted Unreal Tournament working. Unfortunately it doesn't recognise 3rd and 4th controller for 4 player split screen. I know that some games on ps store (twisted metal black, red faction 2) support 4 controllers. Any idea if this can be switched in any of the ps2 emu settings?
     
    kozarovv likes this.
  13. 697
    513
    103
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    513
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    Thanks. Good to know.
    In your case you made discs collection of different games that have different save data.
    In case of a single game with muti disc (ex: Star Ocean) we must use the same save data for all the discs.
    Do you know / can you check if all the games of your collection share the same "memory card" ?
     
    kozarovv likes this.
  14. 102
    88
    38
    Stayhye

    Stayhye Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ........
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    They all use the same memory cards as far as I can tell. The save game file size is the same as single disc game.
     
    kozarovv and littlebalup like this.
  15. 3
    5
    3
    DarkElementPL

    DarkElementPL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Please add one non-documented config string
    --gs-dirty-page-policy
    thx to kluxi1 for finding it for me ^_^
     
    cfwprophet and kozarovv like this.
  16. 102
    88
    38
    Stayhye

    Stayhye Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ........
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    I just wanted to confirm to the community that multi-disc pkgs in fact does use the same memory card.
     
    cfwprophet, littlebalup and kozarovv like this.
  17. 102
    88
    38
    Stayhye

    Stayhye Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ........
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Small breakthrough....

    "XXXX-YYYYY_cli.conf" values in the first post can also be used in "config-emu-ps4.txt". Also, values need "=0/1" for them to work.

    eg.

    --ee-cache-breaks-block=1

    Example of my file attached. No patches folder used.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 19, 2018
  18. 102
    88
    38
    Stayhye

    Stayhye Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ........
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    "--mtap1=1" should do the trick
     
    zolwikwkurwik and kozarovv like this.
  19. 32
    8
    8
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi guys. First post here. First I'd like to say great job @kozarovv and all other contributers!
    I had a different testing approach that I'd like to pursue tonight (if even possible).

    This might come off as I'm uninformed by the status of this emu (which I am!), but has there been any testing regarding USB-peripherals such as Buzzers or GUNCON2 light-guns?
    If so, is there any flag/command that you know of that should be set (similar to "--mtap1=1")?

    Thanks for any pointers!

    SIDE NOTE:
    I've confirmed the following PS2 games to work with the default settings:
    • ESPN International Track & Field (NTSC-US)
    • Decathlete Collections (NTSC-JP) <- had to make an PS2 ISO of the CD version (PS2 BIN to ISO), the DVD didn't boot
    • Outrun (NTSC-JP) (from Sega ages 2500)
    • Deka Dynamite (NTSC-JP)
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2018
    kozarovv likes this.
  20. 3
    5
    3
    DarkElementPL

    DarkElementPL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    not all commands will work that way, that's why we have cli_conf
     
    cfwprophet and Stayhye like this.

Share This Page