Ros warnings

Discussion in 'PS3 Jailbreaks / CFW' started by Impact, Jan 11, 2019 at 2:32 PM.

  1. 78
    6
    12
    Impact

    Impact Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hiya Gang

    Just a quick one I hope. If you get 2ros warnings. Please find pictures attached.

    Is this still safe to continue or try again 3times I'm getting the same warnings. Never seen this before.

    Many thanks

    Impact
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 130
    56
    32
    unseen

    unseen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    You should install 4.82 OFW twice to eliminate ROS warnings and be on the safe side.
     
    Coldheart2236 and Impact like this.
  3. 78
    6
    12
    Impact

    Impact Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    London, UK
    Dam it for the love of cfw. Your right I done it the once. How could I forget that ahhh. Carlsberg don't make noobs but if they did I'm winning
     
  4. 235
    143
    47
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    143
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    As the QA flag is set to off on OFW, you will probably have to do the second install using the recovery menu as you may not be able to install the same firmware version over itself using the regular 'Update via USB' menu option.
     
    Impact likes this.
  5. 78
    6
    12
    Impact

    Impact Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    London, UK
    It's done it. This unit was cfw in the beginning. Got the new drive today. However i had only formatted once then started doing it . What a plum I am
     
  6. 235
    143
    47
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    143
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Ah I see. Interesting that the QA flag remains enabled even after reverting back to OFW. Nothing to worry about mate, no harm done. :)
     
    Impact likes this.
  7. 78
    6
    12
    Impact

    Impact Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    London, UK
    ColdHeart.

    Thank God for that. ;)

    Many thanks
     
    Coldheart2236 likes this.
  8. 27
    6
    7
    Fanhais

    Fanhais Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    force the patch should work to
     
    Impact likes this.
  9. 78
    6
    12
    Impact

    Impact Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hiya Fanhais

    I'm just about to install cfw now ;)

    Like your thinking
     
  10. 7,732
    6,370
    622
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,732
    Likes Received:
    6,370
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Earth
    Here is my understanding of the QA status, some guys know this topic better than I do though & might correct me if I am wrong about something.

    On modern 4.xx kernels, for security purposes, the mean to make changes to the QA flag (stored in syscon) via official syscall was completely removed, no matter the level of user permission or control (ofw/cfw).
    Consequently, a hack had to be put in place to be able to patch the syscon data to change the flag value. Needless to say that the current hack will only work on CFW due to the fact that to access the syscon data we must currently rely on lower level lv1 functions only usable if both lv1 & lv2 kernel protections have been defeated.
    If I remember this correctly, the QA toggle remained as an individual patch, it would have been possible to restore QA Toggling as a syscall instead, maybe an option for syscall 8(?) or whatever, making it more easily usable by devs. The need isn't huge because in theory users should really only toggle QA once in the console's life & keeping payloads somewhat minimalistic should always be a priority imho. But I digress here..

    Once toggled, the flag in the syscon data should remain untouched, installing new firmware leads to some changes made in syscon, for instance the system will update the syscon data corresponding to the last installed fw version number however the QA flag data doesn't get updated so installing official or custom firmwares should make no difference to the QA status of the console.
     
    Coldheart2236 and Impact like this.
  11. 78
    6
    12
    Impact

    Impact Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    London, UK
    Cheers guys

    Unit is now a 1tb . Due to my stockest running out of 500's and done me a free upgrade all up and running.

    Many thanks
     
  12. 78
    6
    12
    Impact

    Impact Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hiya bguerville

    Thank you for this information. I have seen these lv1 and lv2 flags. Which I've not touch knowning my luck i will be making a mess.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page