Dismiss Notice

BEWARE of IMPOSTERS, posing as the PS3Xploit Members/Team:


  -PS3Xploit does NOT have a discord channel, some imposter are using one
 

  -If the info can't be found on ps3xploit.com or psx-place.com its fake
 

  -ZuKuTo / OFWModz is one of the fake names of these imposter's are using to represent the PS3xploit team.

 

 

So i got a warning in ROS1...help!

Discussion in 'Ps3Xploit [Official Forum]' started by Renton Arisugawa, Jul 4, 2018.

  1. 10
    0
    5
    Renton Arisugawa

    Renton Arisugawa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    So i got my first dump where every thing was ok.(before writing to flash).
    After that i wrote to the flash and took another dump and got an warning in ROS1.
    What should I do? I used the hdd method.
     
  2. 10
    0
    5
    Renton Arisugawa

    Renton Arisugawa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    I should also say i have a CHEH G 04
     
  3. 2,313
    1,977
    272
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    1,977
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Which firmware you had installed previouslly ?
    The ROS areas (ros0 and ros1) are used alternativelly to store data from 2 different firmwares (actual, and previous)

    In ROS0 you have 4.82 patched with ps3xploit, this is the firmware loaded when the PS3 boots (actual firmware)
    And ROS1 is the previous firmware
    It seems you missed the step about installing OFW 4.82 two times before installing HAN (to fill both ROS with 4.82 official)
     
    Renton Arisugawa likes this.
  4. 10
    0
    5
    Renton Arisugawa

    Renton Arisugawa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    oh i have no idea what fimeware it had before. I bought it used with 4.82 allready installed...damn.
    also didnt know i had to install it two times.... what should i do now?
     
  5. 10
    0
    5
    Renton Arisugawa

    Renton Arisugawa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    oh...my old log says i had 3.01
     
  6. 10
    0
    5
    Renton Arisugawa

    Renton Arisugawa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    should i just use the writer again?
     
  7. 676
    248
    72
    psykosis

    psykosis Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    248
    Trophy Points:
    72
    pray to your higher power while you wait for an answer from someone that can help.
     
  8. 10
    0
    5
    Renton Arisugawa

    Renton Arisugawa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    i read in some posts from bguerville, that its ok as long the currently used ros is ok? is that true
     
  9. 4,091
    3,643
    372
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    4,091
    Likes Received:
    3,643
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ireland
    Home Page:
    Yes, an error on the ROS not in use is ok. You can install CFW now.
     
    Renton Arisugawa likes this.
  10. 10
    0
    5
    Renton Arisugawa

    Renton Arisugawa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    should i reinstall ofw again first?
     
  11. 4,091
    3,643
    372
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    4,091
    Likes Received:
    3,643
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ireland
    Home Page:
    No, you should have done that first, but too late now.
     
    Renton Arisugawa likes this.
  12. 10
    0
    5
    Renton Arisugawa

    Renton Arisugawa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    mmmmhhh...will installing a cfw change something in the ros?
     
  13. 10
    0
    5
    Renton Arisugawa

    Renton Arisugawa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    and could i shut down my ps3 now with out a semi brick?
     
  14. 4,091
    3,643
    372
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    4,091
    Likes Received:
    3,643
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ireland
    Home Page:
    Yes. It will switch over to the other ROS afaik.

    Yes, at your own risk of course.. Sure wait for someone else to confirm too.
     
    Renton Arisugawa likes this.
  15. 10
    0
    5
    Renton Arisugawa

    Renton Arisugawa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    So first it worked out well...Thx to all of you who responded^^

    1. I had to force a restart because the cfw istall got stuck (had to download a different cfw) and it startet the OFW just fine.
    2. CFW install after that went fine. I´m now on FERROX Standart Edition.

    So thx again.
     
  16. 2,313
    1,977
    272
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    1,977
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    At the time you made the dump your PS3 was booting from ROS0 (with 4.82 OFW + ps3exploit patch). And the ROS1 (marked as unkown) was inactive
    Now that you have installed ferrox 4.82 the data on ROS1 has been updated. Now your PS3 boots from ROS1, and ROS0 (with 4.82 OFW + ps3exploit patch) is inactive and has not been modifyed

    If you install ferrox 4.82 again the ROS0 will be updated (and your PS3 will boot from ROS0), so both ROS0 and ROS1 will have the data from ferrox 4.82
    Not needed to do this though... most probably at some point you will install another different CFW, so the inactive ROS will be used, and so on... every firmware installation is made on the "inactive" ROS

    As a resume in simple words, everytime you install a PS3 firmware it happens something like this:
    step 1 ) install firmware to "inactive ROS"
    step 2 ) switch "inactive ROS" flag to "active"
    step 3 ) switch "active ROS" flag to "inactive"
    step 4 ) reboot
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2018
    Renton Arisugawa likes this.
  17. 73
    31
    17
    unseen

    unseen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    What is the purpose of two ROS-es, one active and one inactive? It would be logical, that if the current active one is corrupted, the console automatically switches back to the non active. (like a dual BIOS)
    So if the ps3xploit would only touch one of them, and something would go wrong with the flashing, there would be no risk of a brick.
    But as far as I know this is not the case. You cannot boot from the inactive one?
     
  18. 2,313
    1,977
    272
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    1,977
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    This "dual boot" feature of the PS3 goes even deeper, because the SYSCON chip also has an EEPROM with "dual data bank" and that banks are very related to ROS0 and ROS1
    I guess is syscon who chooses which ROS is used, but i dont know how it does it, most of syscon is unknown anyway, but there is people researching it lot of time ago and still are fighting with it (ze0tolerance, m4j0r, and mysis published some new info in psdevwiki a few days ago)

    Edit:
    Look at his edits here (by clicking in "diff" to see the differences):
    http://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/Special:RecentChanges

    And a read of this page also comes in handy for an overview of how the PS3 boots
    http://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/Boot_Order
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2018

Share This Page