Dismiss Notice

BEWARE of IMPOSTERS, posing as the PS3Xploit Members/Team:


  -PS3Xploit does NOT have a discord channel, some imposter are using one
 

  -If the info can't be found on ps3xploit.com or psx-place.com its fake
 

  -ZuKuTo / OFWModz is one of the fake names of these imposter's are using to represent the PS3xploit team.

 

 

Swap HDD with bigger one on same PS3 console using HAN

Discussion in 'Ps3Xploit [Official Forum]' started by EddieEddie90, Oct 19, 2018.

  1. 89
    15
    12
    EddieEddie90

    EddieEddie90 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    What are the risks here?

    How can this be done?
     
  2. 222
    100
    72
    cygmon0

    cygmon0 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    72

    Loosing all your games.





    afaik.

    replace the HDD > boot to recovery > install 4.82 OFW > Install HAN again > done

    تم الإرسال من D6503 باستخدام Tapatalk
     
    T.A.U, Zazenora and DeViL303 like this.
  3. 4,221
    3,784
    372
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    4,221
    Likes Received:
    3,784
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ireland
    Home Page:
    if you back up your xregistry.sys and act.dat first you would not even need to use the proxy trick to get on psn and reactivate.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2018
  4. 4,221
    3,784
    372
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    4,221
    Likes Received:
    3,784
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ireland
    Home Page:
    sadegh93, diego89, T.A.U and 3 others like this.
  5. 89
    15
    12
    EddieEddie90

    EddieEddie90 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
     
  6. 89
    15
    12
    EddieEddie90

    EddieEddie90 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Sorry i did not notice that my reply merged in your reply.

    But I'm already on 4.82. I want to avoid update to 4.83 for obvious reasons, how can I keep all my games in the process? I don't wanna lose anything :(
     
  7. 31
    13
    7
    jcorrea

    jcorrea Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Curitiba/Brasil
    And if he did a full backup?
     
  8. 89
    15
    12
    EddieEddie90

    EddieEddie90 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    I'd like to know more info on this topic, since I will be doing this pretty soon. Any help is good :)

    Also I want to know if I have to update the console afterwards. I don't wanna go 4.83 since I would lose all of my games and even HAN compatibility. Is it necesary to update the system after the new HDD is installed?
     
  9. 222
    100
    72
    cygmon0

    cygmon0 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    72
    No one said that you need to update your console.. you just need to install the firmware, and in your case because you are already on 4.82.

    you can just reinstall 4.82 without any problems..

    the problem is,. if that you updated to 4.83.

    in this case, you can't roll back...

    if you don't want to lose your games. you can transfer it to another PS3, and then restore it after changing HDD. ( Not sure if it's still works )


    And, one more thing: make sure you dump your "xregistry.sys" via the link that @DeViL303 mentioned.. and restore it when you successfully changed your HDD and installed firmware, so you won't need to reactivate your console

    تم الإرسال من D6503 باستخدام Tapatalk
     
    T.A.U and EddieEddie90 like this.
  10. 89
    15
    12
    EddieEddie90

    EddieEddie90 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Can I do a full system backup to an external HDD, and afterwards putting the new HDD inside the ps3, format it, and then putting the backup I made back onto the console?
     
  11. 222
    100
    72
    cygmon0

    cygmon0 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Yes you can also backup to HDD.

    You need to format the external drive to "fat32"

    so the ps3 can recognize it.

    then use backup utility...


    تم الإرسال من D6503 باستخدام Tapatalk
     
    EddieEddie90 and jcorrea like this.
  12. 89
    15
    12
    EddieEddie90

    EddieEddie90 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the tips, I will be doing the procedure this weekend.
     
    jcorrea and cygmon0 like this.
  13. 8
    5
    7
    diego89

    diego89 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Devil303 i have 2 questions,

    1) Why the inject (of xregistry.sys) page have a "rif" text box, im really confused for this?

    2) is possible to inject xregistry.sys of my PS3 superslim in another one ? If the answer is yes, that act is dangerous ?

    The dump page (of xregistry.sys) works pretty well ( dumped my xregistry.sys without problem). i don't test the inject page for caution and fear lol.

    Guys and Devil303 Thx for your good work and attention.
    Thx for share this links too.

    I'm happy to know about the next wip version of hantoolbox ... this app save our lives.

    (Sorry about my english, im just common Brazilian Guy ).

    Any help and tips are welcome.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2018
    DeViL303 and jcorrea like this.
  14. 4,221
    3,784
    372
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    4,221
    Likes Received:
    3,784
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ireland
    Home Page:
    1. Im not sure about that text box, just ignore it I think.
    2. again, Im not sure, but I think it will be ok to copy xregistry to different ps3. .
     
    diego89 likes this.
  15. 9,410
    3,498
    472
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    9,410
    Likes Received:
    3,498
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I think the worst that could happen from a corrupted xregistry is having to restore settings. however, I've never personally tried nor read about someone using the same xregistry between two consoles. generally, you inject the information from one registry into another. I've read about people doing it on the same console, and there being a lot of problems with it.
     
    diego89 likes this.
  16. 8
    5
    7
    diego89

    diego89 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Devil303 and Pinky,

    Thanks for the answers ...

    I will wait to test the inject xregistry.sys in the new hantoolbox ( i thinks it will be more safer).

    Thanks again



    Enviado de meu Moto G Play usando o Tapatalk
     
  17. 9,410
    3,498
    472
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    9,410
    Likes Received:
    3,498
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    dunno. I'm referring to using the same xregistry on two different hdds (if you were upgrading). the serial number of the hdd and the user id's may be a problem. I've never personally tried this on two hdds. I've only tried it on the same hdd when mine got corrupted. it's definitely a good idea to keep a backup of that file for that very reason. I'm not entirely sure, but that file may tie into the metadata indexer as well. I did try finding my user name in there, but all I could find were the two memory cards I had created, so I may be remembering wrong.
     
    diego89 likes this.
  18. 8
    5
    7
    diego89

    diego89 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Good to know,

    I will keep my backup safe for future tests :)

    Enviado de meu Moto G Play usando o Tapatalk
     
  19. 9,410
    3,498
    472
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    9,410
    Likes Received:
    3,498
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    yeah, it's better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it. I lost 3 hdds before I decided to start backing up EVERYTHING at least twice (in case one of those hdds fails). I lost a 360, a wii, and a ps3 hdd due to some shitty enclosures that didn't last. I managed to backup my wii hdd before it failed, and I got my second ps3/360 hdds backed up. I think the second ps3 hdd also died shortly after backing it up. that was also in the same enclosure. my 360 hdd is still intact (in a different enclosure).

    anyway, it's always good to have a backup, 'cause it always seems like you need it when you don't have it. lol for example, I just shipped my switch back to Nintendo (won't power on), and I never bought their online service. they claimed that they make every attempt to retrieve lost saves (actually called them about this). they said that there would be no issues if I had paid for their cloud service (online), which is reasonable at $20, but I never thought that something like that would happen, so I put it off. the point of the story is that my saves are probably lost due to not having a backup of them. damn...I don't understand why you can't save to the carts or to a micro sd card like the ps4's usb transfer.
     
    diego89 likes this.
  20. 8
    5
    7
    diego89

    diego89 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Lose any kind of data is horrible :(

    You are right in saving the data of all your consoles, whenever possible.

    Last year I lost all my saves from wiiu, it's a horrible feeling.

    on the switch, I agree with you, it would be great to be able to back up the saves on external devices, Nintendo pisses me of too often.


    Enviado de meu Moto G Play usando o Tapatalk
     
    pinky likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page