Upgrade ps3 hard drive befor installing cfw?

Discussion in 'Help & Support' started by Olgreggy, May 16, 2018 at 10:16 AM.

  1. 5
    0
    1
    Olgreggy

    Olgreggy New Member

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I have a slim running on the latest official firmware. I just bought a 2TB SSHD. I was wondering if i can still install cfw if i i were to replace the hard drive first?
     
  2. 6,258
    4,181
    123
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6,258
    Likes Received:
    4,181
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Home Page:
    2TB is not compatible with ps3 :(
     
  3. 5
    0
    1
    Olgreggy

    Olgreggy New Member

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Nooooooooo! Well thats dumb. I didn't even consider that the capacity would matter. I'm reading 1.5tb works, guess I'll have to return this and find a 1.5. Actually, F%$# it I'll put this in my ps4. But can you answer my original question?
     
  4. 6,258
    4,181
    123
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6,258
    Likes Received:
    4,181
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Home Page:
    I think is better to replace HDD first. Some cfw won't install smooth from recovery, etc.
     
    UniqueUserName and DeViL303 like this.
  5. 6,258
    4,181
    123
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6,258
    Likes Received:
    4,181
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Home Page:
    Btw. I'm not sure that 1,5 tb work fine. Safe limit is 1tb.
     
    UniqueUserName likes this.
  6. 5
    0
    1
    Olgreggy

    Olgreggy New Member

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Alright. Just gonna go with the 1tb firecuda. I'll use my ps4's original 1tb internal drive as an external for extra storage when i replace the ps4 hdd with this 2tb. So i will still be able to install cfw if i upgrade the drive first. So i install the new sshd, update to the latest official firmware and then follow the steps to intall cfw? Just want to make sure thats correct?
     
  7. 5
    0
    1
    Olgreggy

    Olgreggy New Member

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I plan to use latest rebug cfw
     
  8. 6,258
    4,181
    123
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6,258
    Likes Received:
    4,181
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Home Page:
    Yes. This is best way if you are actually on OFW.
     
  9. 247
    65
    38
    Bloodmoons366466

    Bloodmoons366466 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    You can probably still upgrade your hdd while on rebug.You just need to reformat the harddrive in recovery and it should instantly reboot to the xmb,reading the hdd after formatting the hdd to the ps3 format.

    Like @kozarovv sead though,reinstalling rebug through recovery might not work,but you only need to reinstall rebug on recovery if you cant get your hdd to read after formatting it,otherwise you dont have to do that.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2018 at 4:17 PM
  10. 7,883
    3,007
    123
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    3,007
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    odd that you'd have this problem with rebug. rebug only nullifies updates from the bluray disc or bdmv.. I also remember cyberskunk from team rebug testing each release by formatting his hdd. there was never an issue.
     
  11. 5
    0
    1
    Olgreggy

    Olgreggy New Member

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I honestly just wanted to know if it was safe to update the hard drive install the latest OFW then install CFW thats all. Thankfully though i now know to use a 1TB hard drive.
     

Share This Page