PS3 [Attempt] Restoring XMB UI of Firmware 1.00 - 2.70 to 4.84+

Discussion in 'XMB Modifications' started by Danxx444, Sep 7, 2019.

  1. 712
    225
    72
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    I don't know :p
    Not yet ... but I left two lines.qrc of firmwares 2.17 and 2.51 for @Cypher_CG89 to do an analysis when he has time available.
     
    Bloodmoons366466 likes this.
  2. 5,789
    5,404
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    5,404
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Thanks, this has exposed another mistake, doesnt surprises me that the waterdrop animation was looking so bad in old firmwares, the shadow is not well aligned, and the sizes are a bit weird
    The clock in 4.84 uses much better positions and sizes, and is perfectly aligned with his shadow/anim1

    Every screen resolution uses a different layout, HD resolution loads this values from layout_grid_table_1080.txt: (firmware 2.17 & 2.51)
    busy_icon_shadow
    positionOverrideX=831.5
    positionOverrideY=435.5
    sizeOverrideX=48
    sizeOverrideY=48

    busy_icon
    positionOverrideX=830
    positionOverrideY=437
    sizeOverrideX=43.5
    sizeOverrideY=37.5




    Every screen resolution uses a different layout, HD resolution loads this values from layout_grid_table_1080.txt: (firmware 4.84)
    busy_icon_shadow
    positionOverrideX=830
    positionOverrideY=436
    sizeOverrideX=46
    sizeOverrideY=46

    busy_icon_anim1 & busy_icon
    positionOverrideX=830
    positionOverrideY=436
    sizeOverrideX=36
    sizeOverrideY=36
     
    STLcardsWS, Danxx444 and DeViL303 like this.
  3. 712
    225
    72
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    I don't know :p
    hmmm ... so that also means that the "waterdrop" animation was a little farther from the digital clock / data.. while the current clock is closer to the digital clock / data
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2019
  4. 712
    225
    72
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    I don't know :p
    how long would it take?
     
  5. 5,789
    5,404
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    5,404
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Dont count with it, i think what i suggested is not going to work in a aceptable way
     
    Danxx444 likes this.
  6. 712
    225
    72
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    I don't know :p
    Oh...okay:frown:
     
  7. 5,789
    5,404
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    5,404
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    With "nulifying" you mean changing the alpha of the images with <Fade> ?
    Not sure if i got it, i was taking a look at the petals animation but was big and i went a bit lost, @DeViL303 have made a thread to post animation examples, if you find a way to write a good example of that trick (the most intuitive posible) please post it there
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/research-impose-plugin-rco-animations.26163/#post-204708
     
    Danxx444 and DeViL303 like this.
  8. 712
    225
    72
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    I don't know :p
    @DeViL303 ... what program did you use to resign the gameboot sprx plugin to launch on HEN? ..... I'm thinking of trying to enable the old widget (information board) ... putting all your files in its place and then resign the xai plugin, with the current firmware keys .... to see if the system recognizes it again ... but I'm also a little "scared" because as my PS3 is HEN..he can give a softbrick when booting ... unless this plugin is not so special as to cause a system problem.
     
  9. 5,789
    5,404
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    5,404
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    There is a page in psdevwiki and a thread in the forum about widgets
    http://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/Widgets
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/re-enabling-the-widget-known-as-information-board.21169/

    I suggest you to dont try it in HEN, take a read at the forum thread, there was people trying it and they could not make them to work. And some people in that thread was using the RPCS3 emulator for the experiments, btw, this is a lot safer than doing the experiments with a real PS3 in HEN

    -------------------------
    For cusiosity sake...
    The scetool (used to resign PS3 files) have a handy option that allows to copy the settings from a file that is already signed
    The idea is... you have a file that you know it works in your PS3... lets call it EBOOT_1.BIN
    And another file that doesnt works... lets call it EBOOT_2.BIN
    So you need to tell to the scetool that you want to resign EBOOT_1.BIN by using the settings from EBOOT_2.BIN
    This way, when scetool completes his work you will have EBOOT_1.BIN and EBOOT_2.BIN signed in the same way

    @DeViL303 was talking about it here for HEN ;)
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/help-me-to-run-udkultimate-engine-on-ps3hen.26024/#post-202873
     
    Danxx444 likes this.
  10. 11,968
    4,778
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11,968
    Likes Received:
    4,778
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    if you have a NOR system, it would take some effort to hard brick it. I think you could potentially delete all of dev_blind and still recover. that's why the core os isn't modifiable (to prevent accidents).
     
    Danxx444 and Algol like this.
  11. 5,789
    5,404
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    5,404
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Btw @Danxx444 im realizing there is an easy way to restore the original gameboot... and you are not using it (because the custom_render_plugin.rco i made was not using it)

    This one is better, is explained in the readme, in the PS3 firmware there are several coldboots and gameboots, but in the way im doing it there is only 1 coldboot and 1 gameboot, and the firmware is going to play them always
    And looks exactly like the originals from firmware 1.00 because im not adding a single line of code... actually im deleting a few lines, this .rco is smaller than the official :D

    FILE: https://www.sendspace.com/file/gpsg8s
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2019
    Danxx444 and Algol like this.
  12. 712
    225
    72
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    I don't know :p
    Oh..i mean..wow..thanks pal :)
     
  13. 5,789
    5,404
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    5,404
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Deleted experiment... it was a bad idea
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2019
    Danxx444 likes this.
  14. 5,789
    5,404
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    5,404
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Deleted experiment... it was a bad idea
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2019
  15. 712
    225
    72
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    I don't know :p
    hummm..very good to know this..so this avoids any problem on PS3 ... very good..but I don't think the PC I use will run this emulator XMB ... it has 4GB of RAM and GDDR3 memory ... is a regular PC ... but if it supports XMB it will be great.
     
  16. 712
    225
    72
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    I don't know :p
    @sandungas this excellent coldboot / gameboot ... excellent buddy !!! .. gameboot works even without enabling HEN ... but for those who want the gameboot audio will have to use the plugin..and if you use the plugin. .. you have to enable HEN ... but it's very good :)
     
    sandungas likes this.
  17. 5,789
    5,404
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    5,404
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Have you tryed to add the gameboot audio files to flash ?... but not the patched plugin
     
    Danxx444 likes this.
  18. 712
    225
    72
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    I don't know :p
    Yes I tried but it didn't work
     
  19. 5,789
    5,404
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    5,404
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Ok, i had the hope that some of the lines inside the anim_gameboot (or the name of the animation itself) was going to load the sounds

    The theory is... i think the patch in the plugin is just redirecting the animation names... and this is the same i did in the rco
    I realized yesterday this is one of the few cases where we can choose to do the redirection in the rco or in the sprx
    Incase the redirection in the rco is good enought (included sounds), then we dont need the redirection in the sprx anymore
    Is easyer to do it in the rco :)
     
    Danxx444 likes this.
  20. 712
    225
    72
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    I don't know :p
    wow .. this would be fantastic..so that would be much better..but would this theory work? .. well just in practice we will know..also..you happened to make a comparison between the old firmwares gameboot plugin with current firmware? It would be nice to know what was really causing them to turn off the audio..because we know that for the gameboot logo and its animation..no plugin is needed..rco only.
     

Share This Page