Dismiss Notice

BEWARE of IMPOSTERS, posing as the PS3Xploit Members/Team:


  -PS3Xploit does NOT have a discord channel, some imposter are using one
 

  -If the info can't be found on ps3xploit.com or psx-place.com its fake
 

  -ZuKuTo / OFWModz is one of the fake names of these imposter's are using to represent the PS3xploit team.

 

 

[BG Toolset] User Issues and Dump Submissions

Discussion in 'Ps3Xploit [Official Forum]' started by esc0rtd3w, Apr 4, 2020.

  1. 1,378
    3,208
    397
    esc0rtd3w

    esc0rtd3w Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Trophy Points:
    397
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Hacker
    Location:
    OHIO, USA
    Home Page:
    IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR NAND USERS! (04-08-2020)
    The NAND Fix link will from now on be on a per case basis, as we now have 2 fixes, one for each ros bank due to the fact that certain users have not followed recommendations & used the fix several times including when there was nothing to fix.

    Please PM @esc0rtd3w or post in this thread, with the issue submission template filled in & a fresh dump, and if your situation warrants it, we will send you a link to an alternative Toolset you can use to fix your issue.

    IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR NAND USERS! (04-04-2020)
    We have fixed a bug where user couldn't install any FW after patch, but boots fine. It happens only on non-qa flagged CFW Compatible NAND.

    @bguerville @Joonie @habib @littlebalup


    Instructions In Spoiler For NAND Users Only That have below problems


    !End Important Messages!


    >>> Submission Templates For Users To Copy & Paste Are Located At Bottom of This Post <<<

    How To Use The Toolset

    Create A Backup
    • Click "Flash Memory Manager" tab
    • Click On The "Flash Memory" tree node
    • Click "Save Flash Memory Backup"
    • Save to USB or another destination
    • Wait
    • Click "Close" when finished

    Patch CFW Compatible NAND/NOR
    • Click "Flash Memory Patch"
    • Click "Load Patch via HTTPS"
    • Wait
    • Click "Close" when finished!
    • Click "Flash Memory Patch" again
    • Click "Apply Loaded Patch"
    • Click "Yes"
    • Wait
    • Click "Close" when finished

    NAND Patch Should Take 6 - 8 seconds to apply
    NOR Patch Should Take Roughly 1:30 - 1:40 to apply


    If it says anything other than "You can reboot your console" in a green toast message when complete....STOP!
    Make a New Backup! Post on this thread with your original and patched dumps



    This is the url you should be using on your PS3 to take a picture/screenshot:
    https://www.ps3xploit.net/bgtoolset/index.php#tblog


    This will be a place for users to submit screenshots and dump submissions for any issues related to bguerville's PS3 Toolset (BG Toolset)

    PLEASE DO NOT SUBMIT AN ISSUE OR PROBLEM WITHOUT AT MINIMUM, AN ACCOMPANYING LOGS SCREENSHOT AND EXAMPLE INFO COPIED AND FILLED OUT, EXCEPT DUMP INFO, IF UNAVAILABLE


    You can also submit your good dumps to help further progress in the checking of abnormalities.


    To dump your flash, please use the Flash Memory Manager tab on main exploit page.



    Your IDPS should be masked before submitting dump (to protect your Unique Console ID), and there is a great tool by @pink1 for this exact thing here:
    https://www.mediafire.com/file/lkc6xj6ewgeueua/IDPSMasker.exe/file

    You may also manually mask them, usually done by replacing hex characters with FF

    IDPS Masking Offsets

    [​IMG]

    0x0002F070 1st IDPS instance on NOR
    0x000303D0 2nd IDPS instance on NOR

    0x00040870 1st IDPS instance on NAND/eMMC
    0x00041BD0 2nd IDPS instance on NAND/eMMC


    The original thread is located here:
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/u...ion-of-tools-fueled-by-new-ps3-exploit.28658/


    To report a problem, please copy and paste the code below and replace with your information. Please also post accompanying screenshots, by means of a camera or screenshot tool in browser.



    Submission Templates

    Please copy and paste the correct one for your firmware type.
    You will replace the following template answers with your own to match the system with the problem.

    • PS3 Model: CECH-[YOUR_MODEL_HERE]
    • Firmware Version: [YOUR_FIRMWARE_VERSION_HERE]
    • IDPS Is Masked: [Yes or No ONLY]
    • Have Original Dump: [Yes or No ONLY]
    • Dump 1 URL: https://myfile.com/file.zip [Replace with actual valid link]
    • Have Patched Dump: [Yes or No ONLY]
    • Dump 2 URL: https://myfile.com/file.zip [Replace with actual valid link]
    • System Boots To XMB: [Yes or No ONLY]
    • System Boots To Recovery: [Yes or No ONLY]
    • Firmware Version Displayed In Recovery: [VERSION_DISPLAYED]
    • Minimum Firmware Version Displayed In Toolset: [VERSION_DISPLAYED]
    • Disc In Drive: [Yes or No ONLY]


    OFW
    Copy & Paste Below Code For Submission

    Code:
    PS3 Model: CECH-A01
    Firmware Version: 4.86
    Firmware Type: OFW CEX
    IDPS Is Masked: Yes
    Have Original Dump: Yes
    Dump 1 URL: https://myfile.com/file.zip
    Have Patched Dump: Yes
    Dump 2 URL: https://myfile.com/file.zip
    System Boots To XMB: Yes
    System Boots To Recovery: Yes
    Firmware Version Displayed In Recovery: 4.86
    Minimum Firmware Version Displayed In Toolset: 1.0
    Disc In Drive: No
    
    HFW
    Copy & Paste Below Code For Submission

    Code:
    PS3 Model: CECH-A01
    Firmware Version: 4.86.1
    Firmware Type: HFW CEX
    IDPS Is Masked: Yes
    Have Original Dump: Yes
    Dump 1 URL: https://myfile.com/file.zip
    Have Patched Dump: Yes
    Dump 2 URL: https://myfile.com/file.zip
    System Boots To XMB: Yes
    System Boots To Recovery: Yes
    Firmware Version Displayed In Recovery: 4.86
    Minimum Firmware Version Displayed In Toolset: 1.0
    Disc In Drive: No
    


    Common Upload Sites
    https://uploadfiles.io/
    https://www.mediafire.com
    https://mega.nz/


    This thread will be updated...
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2020
  2. 1,378
    3,208
    397
    esc0rtd3w

    esc0rtd3w Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Trophy Points:
    397
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Hacker
    Location:
    OHIO, USA
    Home Page:
    upload_2020-4-4_5-32-44.png
    lol :)

    seems like a nand thing, yes
     
  3. 24
    6
    7
    Jose Luis Ruiz Molina

    Jose Luis Ruiz Molina Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah... Hope to be fixed soon...
     
  4. 9,628
    10,231
    1,672
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9,628
    Likes Received:
    10,231
    Trophy Points:
    1,672
    Using the browser ScreenShot function okay?

    If you want to hide something in this scene just put it in bold red letters and large text.
    Guaranteed not to get read.
    Anyone not following instructions are going to see the post removed in this thread..
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2020
  5. 1,692
    1,147
    297
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    1,147
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Screenshots can be taken within the PS3's web browser by pressing :but tri: and navigating the sidebar to File > Save Screenshot. The resulting screenshot(s) will be saved in dev_hdd0/photo under the year & month they were taken. Just might be better for clarity when examining them :) A couple of sample screenshots I made are attached.

    Edit: (by STLcardsWS)
    --- Be sure to HIDE IDPS (so XXXXXXXXXX) is displayed in the screenshots before sharing online. Just click on the IDPS and the option to hide will appear.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      98.1 KB
      Views:
      209
    • 2.png
      2.png
      File size:
      86 KB
      Views:
      204
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 4, 2020
    sandungas, STLcardsWS and Algol like this.
  6. 1,378
    3,208
    397
    esc0rtd3w

    esc0rtd3w Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Trophy Points:
    397
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Hacker
    Location:
    OHIO, USA
    Home Page:
    yes lol, that was more aimed at frozen screen situations :)
     
    Coldheart2236, Algol and STLcardsWS like this.
  7. 1
    3
    7
    Rozus

    Rozus Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    7
    PS3 Model: CECH-C03
    Firmware Version: 4.86
    Firmware Type: OFW CEX
    IDPS Is Masked: Yes
    Have Original Dump: NO
    Have Patched Dump: Yes
    Dump URL: http://www.mediafire.com/file/z9e91up8i3qf7er/dump.hex/file
    System Boots To XMB: Yes
    System Boots To Recovery: Yes
    Firmware Version Displayed In Recovery: States FW 2.50 and then has an odd requirement of ffff.ffff
    Minimum Firmware Version Displayed In Toolset: 1.0
    Mounted Devices: None
    Disc In Drive: No

    I can provide screens of the recovery menu if required aswell.
     

    Attached Files:

    ImFrickedAF, sandungas and esc0rtd3w like this.
  8. 4
    5
    7
    ImFrickedAF

    ImFrickedAF Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    7
    I have exact same issue with exact same stuff @Rozus, but what id like to add is that now i cant install CFW,HFW or even OFW :(

    EDIT: I got REBUG to install again, it got to 100% then went to what i assume you call recovery place to start the real install and then gave me the data corruption error once again.

    EDIT2: I fixed the browser error, i can access bgtoolset again! IDK if maybe u guys know better but the last Firmware i successfully installed was HFW not OFW CEX but on toolset site it does say CEX, and in system settings it just says 4.86, i would love if someone could give me exact instructions what to do, last time i tried the patch didnt fix my corrupt data error.

    PS3 Model: CECH-G04
    Firmware Version: 4.86
    Firmware Type: OFW CEX
    IDPS Is Masked:
    Have Original Dump: Yes
    Have Patched Dump: Yes
    Dump URL:
    System Boots To XMB: Yes
    System Boots To Recovery: Yes
    Firmware Version Displayed In Recovery: States FW 2.50 and then has an odd requirement of ffff.ffff
    Minimum Firmware Version Displayed In Toolset: 1.0
    Mounted Devices: None
    Disc In Drive: No

    Any updates? Now i cant access browser anymore aswell!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 6, 2020
    Thekiit and esc0rtd3w like this.
  9. 1,378
    3,208
    397
    esc0rtd3w

    esc0rtd3w Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Trophy Points:
    397
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Hacker
    Location:
    OHIO, USA
    Home Page:
    Well...a few things here.

    You are not filling out that form quite fully. Such as what is the minimum version the toolset displayed? The model you have cannot have that minver, as from the default example.

    Also there are no screenshots or dumps posted.

    Explain what happens when you press power button from off state. (Example: it boots up and the xmb loads)

    There is no good reason the browser won't work if it's booting.

    You could try restoring system settings
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2020
  10. 7
    10
    7
    444hz

    444hz Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    PS3 Model: CECH-A01
    Firmware Version: 4.85
    Firmware Type: OFW CEX
    IDPS Is Masked: Yes
    Have Original Dump: No (I apologize for not having the dump)
    Have Patched Dump: Yes
    Dump 2 URL: http://www.mediafire.com/file/9tzs5w4oabh80pm/Masked_dump.hex/file
    System Boots To XMB: Yes
    System Boots To Recovery: Yes
    Firmware Version Displayed In Recovery: States FW 2.50 and then has an odd requirement of ffff.ffff
    Minimum Firmware Version Displayed In Toolset: 1.0 (I know it can take this firmware as its one of the original BC models) :)
    Mounted Devices: None
    Disc In Drive: No

    Hello currently I'm not able to update at all even after applying the new nand fix from the nand_fix.php site.

    I have attached pictures of the issue here:

    This image is on the XMB and when I try to update using multiple different USB sticks as well as multiple different 4.85 and 4.86 OFW and CFW images it gives this error:
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/dzwz96cp0lmn1ve/20200407_220941.jpg/file

    I then go to recovery (safe mode) and go to option 6 and it gives this message:
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/7cz65h2g4jpc8d2/20200407_221403.jpg/file

    It then fails to find the USB no matter what images is on there. I understand how to place the image on the USB stick (i.e needs to be FAT32 and MBR with no additional partitions).
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/gqyga2w86v7h5su/20200407_221503.jpg/file

    I have tried doing all this with multiple images (i.e SONY's OFW firmware directly from website as well as HFW as well as CFW firmwares such as REBUG)

    It just does not seem to want to work.

    Basically my PS3 is in a sort of a brick where I can't even update normally or go to any other firmware.

    It was my understanding that the www.PS3xploit.net would be able to fix the issue but it seems to not even want to update with normal OFW firmwares.

    I have attached links to my logs below:
    http://www.mediafire.com/folder/bzhpz38viocje/LOGS_FILES

    I understand you guys are busy, but if you have any time to take a look at my issue and if possibly you have seen this issue before please let me know.

    Also I have never opened up / installed a CFW / HFW before on this PS3, obtained from gamestop a little while ago and was stocked because it was the BC model.

    Also I have tried ALL the other options in recovery menu such as restoring PS3 and file system etc. I also tried restoring PS3 on XMB (The one that usually gives you an estimate of 3-4 hours before it finishes)

    This is an image of the flash memory manager:
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/dqdr9rwweu1rf2l/20200407_225702.jpg/file

    Thank you,
    An Annoymous College Student

    Also I had another question, why does it now say COBRA at the top when I go to the nand_fix.php version of the site?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 8, 2020
    esc0rtd3w likes this.
  11. 1,378
    3,208
    397
    esc0rtd3w

    esc0rtd3w Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Trophy Points:
    397
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Hacker
    Location:
    OHIO, USA
    Home Page:
    the NAND Fix should apply to your situation.

    did you run it as suggested, following steps in OP?

    we will check your flash dump

    EDIT:
    the error you posted was 80029CCA. Thats for my reference lol
     
    444hz likes this.
  12. 7
    10
    7
    444hz

    444hz Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes I followed the steps to the dot.
     
    esc0rtd3w likes this.
  13. 1,378
    3,208
    397
    esc0rtd3w

    esc0rtd3w Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Trophy Points:
    397
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Hacker
    Location:
    OHIO, USA
    Home Page:
    You basically need a fix for the opposite ros bank now. @bguerville is updating it for you now.

    The NAND Fix link will from now on be on a per user basis and should be updated on server soon, as there will now be 2 of them.

    We will contact you with details
     
    MrMario2011, Algol and 444hz like this.
  14. 7,903
    6,673
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,903
    Likes Received:
    6,673
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    Hi all,

    the fix_nand.php file has been removed from the server, the reasons being that most ppl having experienced the issue have already fixed it by now & the removed fix could mess with a NAND system when used despite not being required, as we can see from the last 2 reports in this thread!
    People who have not yet had time to fix their consoles can still do so by filling the report submission template & submitting a fresh dump, if their situation requires a fix, we will provide it on an individual basis.

    Thanks.
     
  15. 7,530
    7,018
    797
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,530
    Likes Received:
    7,018
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Nice, is better that way, you are preventing the "normal" users to apply the incorrect patch by mistake, but the people that really needs the "fix" patch (affected by the problem that happened some days ago) can still use it under request
    Most probably in a matter of 1 or 2 weeks you are not going to have any more request... so problem solved definitivelly and no need to track it anymore


    Btw i have a couple of doubts after the changes of the last days
    The noFSM patch for NAND CFW models has been replaced by a new one ? (in pyps3tools too?)
    The actual toolset is using a single noFSM patch for all NAND CFW models ?
     
    esc0rtd3w and Algol like this.
  16. 7
    10
    7
    444hz

    444hz Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you all for the help thus far.

    I look forward to the fix and sincerely apologize for any errors with me applying the patch incorrectly.

    I will be monitoring this thread closely. :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2020
    esc0rtd3w likes this.
  17. 7,903
    6,673
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,903
    Likes Received:
    6,673
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes I agree. At this stage, fixes made available to the general public could create more problems than they solve.
    No, the patch file remains the same because it was never source of issues.
    The syscall available to write to Flash Memory only allows us to write sector by sector, ie 512 bytes at a time, so when we overwrite the ROS regions with a nofsm patch, we cannot just write the 0x6FFFE0 bytes of the patch file as it cannot be divided by 0x200, we must make up for the remaining bytes (different on ros0 & on ros1 but also different between nor/nand) so that we can write 0x700000 bytes in each ros.
    The issue on v1.0.20/21 was located in the made up bytes, only on ros0 in NAND. A NAND console user using v1.0.20/21 had 50% of probability to experience the issue (those probabilities only applied to non QA flagged consoles, on QA flagged consoles, the issue did not stop users from installing a fw afaik). The wrong bytes were not enough to fully brick the console but sufficient to mess with minver calculation & consequently lead to fw update failure. In v1.0.22, the issue is fixed permanently.
     
    esc0rtd3w, Algol, Coro and 1 other person like this.
  18. 7,530
    7,018
    797
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,530
    Likes Received:
    7,018
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Got it :)
    The center area of the noFSM patch is common, but the surrounding bytes (to increase the patch size up to 0x700000) are 4 posible scenarios, for: NANDros0, NANDros1, NORros0, NORros1
    And the patch applyed by the toolset is composed by: center area (common) + surroundings (specific)
    So are like 4 patches to support all the CFW compatible PS3 models
     
    Algol and Coro like this.
  19. 7,903
    6,673
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,903
    Likes Received:
    6,673
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    The work is done at my end.

    Expect a pm from @esc0rtd3w in coming hours. When he gets up, I suppose. ;-)
    He will give you strict instructions & a url to an alternative toolset you should use ONLY ONCE to patch your system.. After that patch has successfully completed, you should immediately switch to using the standard PS3 Toolset 1.0.22.
    If you have further questions, don't hesitate to ask him.

    Good luck with your endeavours.
     
    esc0rtd3w, Algol and 444hz like this.
  20. 7
    10
    7
    444hz

    444hz Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Understood, will do. As of this moment, I haven't received a message from him but I'm sure he will message me soon. :)

    Thank you.
     
    esc0rtd3w likes this.

Share This Page