PS3HEN Can you rip blu ray movie discs using Ps3 hen?

Discussion in 'Help & Support' started by paul denino, Jul 17, 2019.

  1. 15
    1
    7
    paul denino

    paul denino Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    I have some blu ray movies im trying to rip but I dont have a blu ray drive on my pc, I know ps3 can read blu ray discs, is it possible to rip them on the ps3 and put the files on my computer?
     
  2. 5,902
    2,929
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,902
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    You can rip ISO to the PS3 but you will need to run a app to decrypt the image as the PS3 can't do that. Decrypt on PS3, move to PC then decrypt. From here is when you can start to use a backup.
     
  3. 15
    1
    7
    paul denino

    paul denino Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    How do I rip the iso? the disc doesnt show up in multiman
     
  4. 5,902
    2,929
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,902
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    Use the XMB style menu for multiMAN then go to the video column.
     
  5. 1,425
    970
    197
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    970
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
    Can you recommend a program for decrypting ripped BD ISO images? I'd like to have digital copies of my Sopranos and The Wire box sets :)
     
  6. 2,838
    1,465
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    1,465
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    Try this:

    https://www.winxdvd.com/resource/free-blu-ray-decrypter.htm

    For BD and dvd I tend to rip the video, audio and subs from them and covert them into MP4 or MKV formats as 40GB a BDISO is far to excessive, I don't need all the flash and javaBD menus, when you can have full 720p quality MP4 at 1.0GB per film and 1080p MP4 at 2.0GB per film.
     
    Coldheart2236 likes this.
  7. 1,425
    970
    197
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    970
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
    Cypher_CG89 likes this.
  8. 2,838
    1,465
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    1,465
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    No problem.... the only bad thing about that is.... I paid for it and now its free..:oops:...:mad:

    Also people tend to use "Handbrake" as well irrc, but I have never used it. I tend to stick to the one I linked and DivX Ultra Pro< but this is expensive lol but will make MP4s 100% compatible with PS3 as the PS3 use's DivX software.
     
  9. 1,425
    970
    197
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    970
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
    That's annoying as hell lol I wonder why it's free because reading on the website it sounds like a really good application and not typical of freeware. I use Handbrake myself (it's open source freeware) for converting to MP4 for ripped DVDs, and it works quite well. Definitely would be nice to get some of my Blu-rays backed up and have them on an external hard drive instead of changing discs each time.
     
    Cypher_CG89 likes this.
  10. 2,838
    1,465
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    1,465
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    No idea why its free now, but at least I don't have to pay £50 for it anymore and only have to pay for DivX Ultra Pro now.

    I have a 500GB HDD full of BluRay nearly all of them are 720p at 750MB to 1.0GB in size so thats 500 or more films/TV series (Person of interest S1-5, The Wlking Dead S1-9, all of Game of Thrones) on one HDD. And thats not even all/or a fraction my films or TV series's lol. I must have at least 1500+ if you include Film and TV and thats not incuding whats on the HDD so that 2000+ lol.

    I need way more HDDs and Bigger ones. Am way to lazy to keep swapping discs, plus I want to keep them in new condition, and if am not using the PS3 I use VLC PLayer on PC to watch them.
     
    Coldheart2236 likes this.
  11. 15
    1
    7
    paul denino

    paul denino Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Not there, tried everything, disc wont show up anywhere in multiman, I’m using multiman version 4.82
     
  12. 5,902
    2,929
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,902
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    You can also copy the RAW files from the disc if you want. Open IRISMAN and go to file manager. Open the BDVD drive and either copy the full contents or you may be able to use the Make ISO function.
     
  13. 1
    0
    5
    Williamporr

    Williamporr Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Where is the BDVD drive under the file manager in IRISMAN? I cant seem to find it.
     
  14. 5,902
    2,929
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,902
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    Not near a system but you have to change some settings in IRISMAN. I got how to do this I think from @sandungas
     
  15. 6,069
    5,762
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    5,762
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Not sure if the disc contents can be accessed from irisman filemanager, i think it doesnt displays it

    To make a backup of a game disc the first thing you need to do is to disable a setting (that is enabled in the default irisman installation) that tells something like:
    BD emulation = discless

    That "discless" mode is hooking the bluray drive and is using some remapping (a bit like what daemon tools does in a windows PC), and is not posible to load the contents of a real disc while is enabled
    So... go to irisman settings and disable the "discless", you need to change it to an option that tells something like
    BD emulation = nothing

    After that, return to the game selector screen (the screen where appears all the game icons of your backups), and you will see the icon of the real disc inserted in the drive
    Then click in the game icon ---> game options ---> copy game (or create iso, i dont remember the names, is something like that)
     
    svotib and Algol like this.

Share This Page