PS3 Can't remove SingStar from XMB

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by Windows10User, Oct 3, 2019.

  1. 353
    9
    27
    Windows10User

    Windows10User Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    27
    No matter what I do I can't remove SingStar from XMB. I already followed this tutorial and it didn't work since after restarting the PS3 it always comes back.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2019
  2. 20
    7
    32
    CoMeBaCk

    CoMeBaCk Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    to remove it and simple, access the webman settings
    [​IMG]

    configurations
    [​IMG]

    open the webmam mod configurations tab
    [​IMG]

    and check the option
    [​IMG]

    save restart ps3 and ready the icon disappeared from xmb
     
  3. 7,080
    8,403
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7,080
    Likes Received:
    8,403
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    Another simple way to remove singstar if you dont use webman mod is to delete this from the category_game.xml.

    upload_2019-10-16_20-9-11.png

    Also remove it from the category_game_tool2.xml if on DEX or Rebug
     
  4. 353
    9
    27
    Windows10User

    Windows10User Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    27
    That setting doesn't show up on my webMAN MOD (which freezes the PS3 sometimes even after increasing its memory).

    Sorry, how can I do that? Where are those XML files?
     
  5. 1,530
    956
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    have webMan Installed and enable dev_blind option then use FTP Client on pc connect to ps3 then navigate to "/dev_blind/vsh/resource/explore/xml/ " you will find all xml files related to each category
     
    Windows10User likes this.
  6. 353
    9
    27
    Windows10User

    Windows10User Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    27
    If I don't enable that setting I won't be able to see the /dev_blind directory on a FTP Client? If so, why is it disabled in the first place?
     
  7. 2,814
    1,443
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    dev_blind is dev_flash mounted to be writable so you can edit files within dev_flash. If you try to write to dev_flash without first mounting it as dev_blind it will crash your PS3 when you write to it.

    Enabling and disabling this option stops you from accidently editing things you didn't want to. You can copy things from dev_flash without mounting dev_blind but you cannot write to dev_flash without mounting it as dev_blind first.

    If you don't use webMAN you can use MultiMAN as well> Enter MultiMAN navigate to where the file you want is in dev_flash, copy it to usb, edit it on PC or whatever. Go mack into MultiMAN, enable dev_blind, copy the edited file from USB the right place in dev_blind then restart your PS3 for the changes to take effect.

    Yes you can but it will show as dev_flash, you will only be able to copy files from dev_flash, not write/copy files to dev_flash without first mounting it as dev_blind. When you mount dev_blind you will see both dev_flash and dev_blind but they are both the same area of flash memory but only dev_blind has write permissions.
     
    Louis Garry and Windows10User like this.
  8. 181
    72
    82
    Louis Garry

    Louis Garry Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    In simple step, enter multiMAN, go to Settings > Write Access to /dev_flash > choose Enable.
    Press SELECT+START, double click PS3™Root, navigate to /dev_blind/vsh/resource/explore/xml/, copy category_game.xml and category_game_tool2.xml to USB Drive, then edit category_game.xml and category_game_tool2.xml with notepad ++ in your PC, search and delete this:

    [​IMG]

    Than copy back category_game.xml and category_game_tool2.xml to PS3.
     
    Windows10User likes this.
  9. 353
    9
    27
    Windows10User

    Windows10User Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    27
    Thanks. I don't know what I did wrong but now the setting to remove SingStar's icon from XMB showed up and I successfully removed it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2019
  10. 1,530
    956
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    the Remove SingStar Icon Function show only when webMan is installed Full and not Lite Edition (When you Hold L1 till PS3 Reboots)
     
  11. 353
    9
    27
    Windows10User

    Windows10User Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    27
    I know but I never had the Lite Edition.

    Do you know how can I fix PS3's freezes caused by webMAN MOD? I already changed the default Plugin Memory Usage setting to "MAX PS3+ (1088K PS3)" and I still have them. Can I have other problems if I change this Plugin Memory Usage setting?

    Should I check "PS3 DISC" and/or "CCAPI . PS3MAPI" (and regarding the latter, should I check "Disabled" or "Enabled"?) settings on "DEL CFW SYSCALLS : R2+∆" settings?

    Also, do I have to download and install PS2 CONFIG Database (like I did) if I already have the "Auto CONFIG" setting checked (before downloading and installing it) on "PLAYSTATION®2" on the "Scan for content" setting?

    EDIT: I unchecked the "Show PSP Launcher" on "PLAYSTATION®PORTABLE" on the "Scan for content" setting and restarted the PS3 and it still shows up.
     
  12. 181
    72
    82
    Louis Garry

    Louis Garry Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Refresh xml (SELECT+L3) than restart PS3.
     
    Windows10User likes this.
  13. 7,080
    8,403
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7,080
    Likes Received:
    8,403
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    All good advice, but just like to say I make the mistake of trying to write to dev_flash all the time and I have never had a crash or seen anyone else mention this, maybe your crash was caused by something else. Normally it just acts the same like if you tried to write to dev_bdvd for example.
     
  14. 353
    9
    27
    Windows10User

    Windows10User Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    27
    Thanks, it worked.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2019

Share This Page