PS4 CUH-1100 and CUH-1115A differences?

Discussion in 'PS4 Hardware' started by Tidjane Ly, Sep 11, 2019.

  1. 13
    5
    7
    Tidjane Ly

    Tidjane Ly Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    7
    As the title suggests, is there any notable differences between those two models? I have a CUH-1115A model and the case housing has cracked in the corner. I looked up online but I can't seem to find ones for the 1115A (with good price + shipping), instead I see many for 1000, 1100 and 1200 models.

    Aside from the labeling, would there be any differences between those and the 1115A internally?
     
  2. 203
    35
    57
    arcadekidflo

    arcadekidflo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Get the one for 1100
     
  3. 1,692
    1,154
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    1,154
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    I wouldn't get neither the 1000/1100 nor the 1200 Series, and let me explain why, for starters the CUH-1000 systems suffer from a flaw with the HDMI not being sheilded properly, so $ony immediately corrected that issue, on the preceeding models, but not comes the faulty Panasonic MN86471A IC Encoder Chip, which sometimes tends to fail, so a replacement is needed, and then is the BlackOut issue on some units, which tends to shutdown the PS4 in the moment you power it on, most of the blame are pointed towards faulty APUs, but thats a rare case scenario, not to mention they run on 28nm AMD APUs.

    I would get a Slim if i were you, preferably the CUH-2100 and upwards, not only they run on a 16nm FIN-FET APU, with less than 50% power draw than the original units, the unit is more compact, and less noisy, also less prone to hardware failure, not to mention they support 5Ghz WI-FI Bands if thats your thing, but thats just personal preference.

    But your mind is still set for a early unit, avoid the first batch of CUH-1000 and CUH-1100, you can go to the CUH-1200, although be careful with them to, mostly because of the IC Encoder Chips and Blackouts on the APU,but thats just the worst case scenario.

    Board wise difference between the CUH-1000 and CUH-1100 isn't a big of a deal, both boards are SAA-001 for the 1000 Series, and SAB-001 for the 1100 Series, the only thing different in thoes boards is that the 1000 Series has a Two Phase Circuit on the CPU and Four Phase on the GPU, while the 1100 Series has a One Phase Circuit on the CPU and Three Phase on the GPU, board layout wise is the same size, with the same dimensions.

    The CUH-1200 Series, with the board model SAC-001 is the same as the previous CUH-1100/SAB-001, with the only exception is that the board length has been reduced from 40mm to 20mm,the APU is still the same 28nm AMD, the HDMI Encoder has been changed to the Panasonic MN864729.

    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2019
  4. 7,592
    5,736
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,592
    Likes Received:
    5,736
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    But op just asked that he can buy 1100 case/shell/housing for 1115 model. Answer is yes. Only first two digits (11) care when buying stuff like that. Next is regional code (15) that not matter when you are buying parts for ps4. That why sellers write 1100, because is pita to write all models (1100, 1101, 1102.). All of them is the same when it comes to parts.
     
    Tidjane Ly likes this.
  5. 13
    5
    7
    Tidjane Ly

    Tidjane Ly Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    7
    @Naked_Snake1995 Thanks for the for the effort but I was simply just wondering about the housing shell only.

    @kozarovv Thanks. Also is it possible to have the physical power/eject buttons on the 1100 series instead of the capacitive ones?
     
  6. 1,692
    1,154
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    1,154
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    Sure my bad i misread the title, my apologies, about the Shell Casing, yes the CUH-1000 Cases can be swapped in between models and they are compatible with the CUH-1100,not sure of the CUH-1200 though as the bolt placement can be a bit different, but i don't think that's the case.

    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     
    Tidjane Ly likes this.
  7. 7,592
    5,736
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,592
    Likes Received:
    5,736
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    That one i don't know. Both ps4 models i ever had were 11xx, so i don't know how physical buttons are mounted/connected.
     
    Tidjane Ly likes this.
  8. 1,692
    1,154
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    1,154
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    Theoreticaly the CUH-1200 C Chassis button placement should be identical and compatible with the SAB-001 Motherboard, but only the feel of the Power/Eject Buttons will be different, they both use the same principle, which is connect a current by pressing it, but on the touch buttons, you are using your finger to make a bridge, but on the mechanical ones of the CUH-1200 the button itself has an internal bridge, which upon pressing it powers on the console.

    Ive compared both SAB-001 and SAC-001 Boards from they're respective models, but i cannot seem to identify the power contacts within the board, but if they're placement match, then a Chassis Swap shouldn't be a problem.

    Update: I've made a quick search, and the button mechanism and layout its quite different from the 1000/1100 to the 1200 Series, so having mechanical buttons on a 1000 Series are pretty much slim to nill, but if you want to try it, it doesn't hurt.

    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     
    Tidjane Ly likes this.
  9. 13
    5
    7
    Tidjane Ly

    Tidjane Ly Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Thanks very much for the information. I will be sticking with original buttons.
     

Share This Page