PS3 Customizing Rebug 4.8.1 XMB

Discussion in 'XMB Modifications' started by SeanRanklin, Oct 20, 2018.

  1. 129
    12
    52
    SeanRanklin

    SeanRanklin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    52
    I am trying to get my XMB as close to OFW as possible and i have some questions about making some changes.

    I already covered in another thread how to change the cold-boot icon which i have completed thanks to the help i received on this forum, however i am also looking to make the following changes if possible:

    1) Remove the TITLE STORE PREVIEW folders circled in YELLOW
    2) Alter the color of the PSN icons from red, to original default blue OFW colors

    Untitled.jpg

    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. 91
    26
    37
    fresh

    fresh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Hi!

    I don't get it!
    You changed a cold-boot-icon? Where is it? Show me. I want to learn.

    Greets.
     
  3. 129
    12
    52
    SeanRanklin

    SeanRanklin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    52
  4. 91
    26
    37
    fresh

    fresh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Thanks!

    A coldboot.raf anim is *not* an icon...

    Greets.
     
  5. 6,709
    6,347
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,709
    Likes Received:
    6,347
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
  6. 129
    12
    52
    SeanRanklin

    SeanRanklin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Okay thanks. I will action this tomorrow. What about removing the folders at the bottom of the image? I am pretty sure that I had removed them by selecting a specific option in rebug toolbox previously, but i'm not sure what I selected to do that.
     
  7. 6,709
    6,347
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,709
    Likes Received:
    6,347
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
  8. 3,980
    1,986
    297
    bitsbubba

    bitsbubba Super Moderator / Developer Super Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,980
    Likes Received:
    1,986
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Homicidal Super Moderator
    Location:
    Camp Crystal Lake, USA
    Home Page:
    the setting you want in REBUG toolbox is XMB Operation Mode RETAIL
     
    sandungas likes this.
  9. 129
    12
    52
    SeanRanklin

    SeanRanklin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Ah yes - that's what i was after!

    While on topic, is there any way to remove the folder under GAME. Called something like PS3_app_dev etc with a bunch of stars next to it. I dont even know what this does as every time i l click it, it just says there is no content/operation couldnt be started or something to that effect.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2018
  10. 6,709
    6,347
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,709
    Likes Received:
    6,347
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Is named app_home. You can remove it by deleting this query:
    Code:
    			<Query
    				class="type:x-xmb/folder-pixmap"
    				key="seg_gamedebug"
    				src="#seg_gamedebug"
    				/>
    
    In:
    dev_flash/vsh/resource/explore/xmb/category_game.xml
    dev_flash/vsh/resource/explore/xmb/category_game_tool2.xml
     
  11. 129
    12
    52
    SeanRanklin

    SeanRanklin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Ah, do you mean hex editing? I'm not very familiar with how to do that. I'm afraid i'll break something.
     
  12. 2,583
    2,563
    372
    Berion

    Berion Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    2,563
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    They are text files...

    If You break XMB, You can fix it by reinstalling firmware (from recovery). No perm brick or even semi brick possible by messing up with XML files. Just totally broken XMB possible.

    Download XMBM+ 2K17 and compare the changes (but ZIP version, PKG which someone created is broken (he didn't replace all locations so some options doesn't work...)). This should give You a hint.
     
  13. 6,709
    6,347
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,709
    Likes Received:
    6,347
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Open the xml file in PC with notepad++
    Delete the 5 lines i mentioned, and save changes
    Copy it to PS3
     
  14. 3,980
    1,986
    297
    bitsbubba

    bitsbubba Super Moderator / Developer Super Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,980
    Likes Received:
    1,986
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Homicidal Super Moderator
    Location:
    Camp Crystal Lake, USA
    Home Page:
    I usually just comment them out, makes it easier to reverse changes.
    or you could reverse changes made by restoring the files you backed up through ftp (webMAN) and restart system via PC (webMAN)
     
  15. 12,587
    5,062
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,587
    Likes Received:
    5,062
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I think I may have yours tied to my mediafire account. you used a ! to remove it, right?
     
  16. 3,980
    1,986
    297
    bitsbubba

    bitsbubba Super Moderator / Developer Super Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,980
    Likes Received:
    1,986
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Homicidal Super Moderator
    Location:
    Camp Crystal Lake, USA
    Home Page:
    It's been a while, the big "C" & a few HDD crashes but I believe it was !

    <!---<Query
    class="type:x-xmb/folder-pixmap"
    key="seg_gamedebug"
    src="#seg_gamedebug"
    />--->

    Something like that ---^
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2018
  17. 12,587
    5,062
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,587
    Likes Received:
    5,062
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    @bitsbubba , my tutorial on removing things from the xmb has you removing all traces when only that's needed. it's pretty dated and was never updated.
     
  18. 12,587
    5,062
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,587
    Likes Received:
    5,062
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
  19. 2,583
    2,563
    372
    Berion

    Berion Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    2,563
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    True, but only If FTP plugin works in background. ;)
     
    bitsbubba likes this.
  20. 3,980
    1,986
    297
    bitsbubba

    bitsbubba Super Moderator / Developer Super Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,980
    Likes Received:
    1,986
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Homicidal Super Moderator
    Location:
    Camp Crystal Lake, USA
    Home Page:
    Right, that's why I keep it always active along with dev_blind, but I believe as long as webMAN loads in everything can be activated on the PC side
     

Share This Page