dex host name

Discussion in 'XMB Modifications' started by reapers2007, Nov 10, 2019 at 5:50 PM.

  1. 21
    8
    32
    reapers2007

    reapers2007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    is there anyway to add/change the host name in the bottom right corner thanks
     
  2. 2,814
    1,443
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    When you setup your Network Connection settings LAN or WiFi.. set DHCP host name to what ever you want.
     
  3. 7,081
    8,407
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7,081
    Likes Received:
    8,407
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    Do you just want to edit the onscreen text or something else?

    xmb_plugin_mod.jpg
     
    dazzaXx likes this.
  4. 21
    8
    32
    reapers2007

    reapers2007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Would love to do something what u have done there
     
  5. 7,081
    8,407
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7,081
    Likes Received:
    8,407
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    Note: This will only work on CFW. If you are on HEN this will soft brick you as this sprx gets loaded before HEN is enabled. Also if you mess up the mod on CFW it will soft brick you, normally you can fix it without installing CFW again as long as you have background FTP write access to flash on boot up.

    You need to edit the text in the xmb_plugin.sprx. Have you edited sprx files before? You would need to decrypt the DEX xmb_plugin.sprx to prx with scetool and then HEX edit it. Then you encrypt the prx back to sprx with scetool and put it on dev_flash.

    I have attached the 4.84 DEX xmb plugin from Rebug 4.84 DREX in sprx and prx form, it might help you get started. It will work fine on 4.85 CFWs or other 4.84 CFWs AFAIK.

    The original looks like this:
    upload_2019-11-11_1-37-40.png


    I modded my one to look something like this:
    upload_2019-11-11_1-42-4.png

    You need to use "0A" for each new line. You can make the text longer by over writing the next few entries "FocusMessageBox" and "FocusFriend" at your own risk, In my tests it was fine but I never got a message or signed in.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 10, 2019 at 8:59 PM
    Shaayn and sandungas like this.
  6. 21
    8
    32
    reapers2007

    reapers2007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    ill be trying it on my cfw system, i havent edited a sprx file before so ill have to do some research ill have to wait till i get home before i can even think to look at it thanks
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2019 at 4:22 AM
    DeViL303 likes this.
  7. 7,081
    8,407
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7,081
    Likes Received:
    8,407
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    Shaayn likes this.
  8. 5,936
    5,609
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,936
    Likes Received:
    5,609
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    I think is not a good idea to overwrite the string "FocusMessageBox", not sure what is it (maybe by looking at the xml inside the rco could give some hint), i guess is something related with the chat text messages but is hard to imagine exactly when the firmware is supposed to load it

    The available space (non problematic, we have full freedom) are 55 bytes displayed as texts
    The %d is a decimal (for the IP values), and the s% are strings (for the hostname texts), all them taken from a function somewhere, and the order they follows is because the function is hardcoded to return them in that order, we cant change the order, we can either ignore them (like you did, so the function returns them but we dont display them) or we can try to see if the function is returning something more (some easter egg maybe ? o_O)
    You can start the text block like this
    Code:
    IP %d.%d.%d.%d @ %s.%s
    Are 22 bytes in total, with that you are displaying the same info than the official, but in a shorter way... and after it there are 30 bytes availables to display whatever text you want :) (imagefont.bin someone ?) :rolleyes:

    If it was me i guess i would try to display more additional %d or more %s (or an %i for an integer value)... just incase the function is returning something handy that is hidden in official firmwares :)
     
    Shaayn, reapers2007 and DeViL303 like this.
  9. 7,081
    8,407
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7,081
    Likes Received:
    8,407
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    I have been working on this a bit. :)

    Trying to make more space, and just trying different layout. Me and kozorovv made some progress on making more room too. For a start we can move the start point back 4 bytes, also we can probably move the FocusMessageBox entry too, just it needs 15 patches lol. :)

    Here are some layouts i have tried in testing. This is all without overwriting anything, :)

    For a start we can remove the word hostname. So edit it from this:
    [​IMG]

    To this:
    [​IMG]



    Or like this:
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    But then who needs the DHCP hostname anyway, that is a setting that is rarely used and you dont need to know it on a daily basis, its a set and forget type thing.

    This minimal look give extra 38 chars free. :)

    [​IMG]


    I like that last one.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019 at 9:43 AM
  10. 5,936
    5,609
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,936
    Likes Received:
    5,609
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    I like the last one too :)
    And i thought in it too, the netinfo should be at bottom, and whatever we add as custom info at top (like you did starting with REBUG whatever)
    We are repurposing it so the concept is different, in official is just for netinfo, but whatever we add at top works as a the "title" of the text block
    or like ordering different infos from top to bottom, the important goes at top and secondary at bottom... the IP's info is secondary

    Btw, the names in your last screenshot are not perfect, because the device giging netwrok connection could not be other thing different than a PC... so the "PC IP" text is not accurate enought

    I been messing around with routers latelly (openWRT ftw) and i think the correct names are "IP Address", and "IP Gateway", are a bit longer though
     
    DeViL303 likes this.
  11. 7,081
    8,407
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7,081
    Likes Received:
    8,407
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    Well its the PC connected when you use PRODG. It's not the gateway. Normally its just 0.0.0.0.
     
    sandungas likes this.
  12. 5,936
    5,609
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,936
    Likes Received:
    5,609
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Hmm, ok, then i guess what you said is good enought
    PC IP: 192.168.8.100
    PS3 IP: 192.168.8.105

    An alternative i just imagined is this, but "meh" it doesnt makes it better:
    HOST IP: 192.168.8.100
    PS3 IP: 192.168.8.105
     
  13. 7,081
    8,407
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7,081
    Likes Received:
    8,407
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    I will be messing with all that very soon, I just got a new openwrt based router for my new place called a Teltonika RUTx11 https://teltonika-networks.com/product/rutx11/#features/. Its going to be the center of my new LAN/WAN setup with 24 port switch attached, and 8 port POE switch for outdoor cameras. LTE is the only way to get any decent speeds in this part of Ireland.
     
  14. 21
    8
    32
    reapers2007

    reapers2007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    @DeViL303 so i've managed to have a little play with it today was pretty easy to figure out only thing i forgot was to add 0A for each new line, after i went back and fix that everything works. time to see what else i can do
     
    sandungas and DeViL303 like this.
  15. 5,936
    5,609
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,936
    Likes Received:
    5,609
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Nice, im not so sure if that router is supported by OpenWrt though, you need to check in this list
    https://openwrt.org/toh/start
    It seems there is support for Teltonika RUT5XX, RUT500, and RUT900, but not for yours (RUTX11) because is newer, but im pretty sure at some point they will add support for it because usually the manufacturers uses newer versions of the same "chips"
    That router is a rocket btw :)

    We should make a thread dedicated to OpenWrt, im just a newbie using it though
     

Share This Page