Do I need to upgrade from 4.81 to 4.84 to HAN?

Discussion in 'PS3 Jailbreak CFW and PS3HEN' started by alexmax, May 15, 2019.

1. 5
    alexmax

alexmax Forum Noob

Hello everyone

As you can tell form my post count, I'm a total noob. I've had experience with E3 emulators but that's it.
    Right now I have a Super Slim on OFW 4.81 4xxx 12GB release (no internal HDD yet). I'm still doing my research and I have some questions so far:

1. Do I upgrade from OFW 4.81 to OFW 4.84, then install HFW 4.84.2 and HAN, then PS3HEN 2.0.2? Or should I take a different root since I'm on 4.81?
    2. Also, do I need to install HDD before going through the installation or can I install it when needed (is it required for the installation?

Thanks in advance

2. 654
    umart666

umart666 Member

1.no,proper thing to do is to update to ofw 4.84 and follow official guide for HEN very,very,very carefully.

2.it's not clear to me do you have that 12gb drive or you don't have any drive at all?if you have that stock 12gb one you can do it all,as firmware is in part installed on it,but if you plan on upgrading it anyway better to hold on until you have it and do it all with the new drive.

if the drive is new you can simply plug it in and ps3 will prompt you to format it and will ask for firmware to install.you can at that point simply install 4.84 and proceed as instructed on the official HEN guide,again - very,very,very carefully.