PS3 Dumb question about PS2 rambus chips on CECHA01

Discussion in 'Help & Support' started by SiegHart93, Jan 17, 2020.

  1. 121
    54
    82
    SiegHart93

    SiegHart93 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi, i have a doubt about the PS2 rambus chips in the PS3 CECHA01 ! i have noticed that 2 shiny pads above the rambus memories on my CECHA01 are missing. Is that normal ? what is the function of those shiny pads ?

    I marked in yellow the pads that are missing on my PS3 CECHA01.

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 1,951
    1,387
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,951
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    As far as i am aware, there are different versions of the EDO RAM on the PS2, from different manufacturers, the some of them are shiny while others are completely matte, it doesn't influence functionality or performance by any means, is just different EDO RAMBUS from a different manufacturer.

    Remember there are multiple Sub-Revisions of the COK-001 Board, some of them change a few parts like the RSX VRAM Module Manufacturer as well as others, nothing to be worrying about.

    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     
    SiegHart93 and wrx884 like this.
  3. 121
    54
    82
    SiegHart93

    SiegHart93 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks @Naked_Snake1995 the rambus on my CECHA01 is completely mate as u said that's why i was asking because i always see COK-001 mobos with those shiny pads on internet. But if it is because there are different manufacturers thats ok. Big thanks bro again as always helping :)
     
  4. 787
    1,420
    222
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    Pardon me if I'm mistaken about something, but isn't EDO RAM, just EDO RAM. While RAMBUS DRAM is known as RDRAM?
    2MB of EDO RAM was used for the IOP. It was replaced later on with 4MB SDRAM, when the IOP was replaced. RDRAM is used for the EE.
     
    Algol and Cypher_CG89 like this.
  5. 3,364
    1,819
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    3,364
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    Home Page:
    Yes, EDO and RAMBUS (RDRAM) are 2 different types of RAM. There is no such RAM as EDO RAMBUS. EDO is an asynchronous RAM Type and RAMBUS RDRAM (also actually the company who developed its name) is a type of synchronous RAM.


    A little fun fact:

    RDRAM was only ever seen in 2 consoles, compared to PC etc, in its life time> N64 and the PS2 and was beaten and made obsolete by DDR, while one of the successor's to RDRAM is the PS3's XDR RAM. So the PS2 and 3 both use RAMBUS RAM.

    Incorrect... your mixing two different RAM types here mate. read above.....^^^^^^^ Its either an EDO or RAMBUS not both.
     
    Algol likes this.

Share This Page