Fastest way to transfer 1.3TB to my PS3

Discussion in 'multiMAN' started by scampo, May 16, 2019 at 8:55 AM.

  1. 36
    1
    7
    scampo

    scampo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2019
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Driver
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    I want to make a back up ps3 for when this PS3 inevitably explodes with no warning. right now I have …

    #1 A PS3 filled to the top with my favorite things
    #2 a pretty complete backup on a NTFS external drive
    #3 a empty parking spot on my PC of 2 TB
    #4 a freshly formatted 1.5TB HDD in a ready to go PS3

    transferring via FTP will take a month and the ps3 does not like the external NTFS drive. when I use multiman it will recognize the HDD but wont see any folders or games. I was thinking to maybe convert the external back to FAT32 (leaving everying >4GB on the PC for FTP transfer). or is there a way to use an ethernet cord between 2 consoles?

    I was hoping to just jam the PS3 HDD into the PC and use SATA but this does not seem possible
     
  2. 10,193
    3,933
    472
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    10,193
    Likes Received:
    3,933
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    between 2 ps3s via ethernet: https://manuals.playstation.net/document/en/ps3/current/settings/transferutility.html

    it may not backup everything, such as copy protected saves. I think you can tell which is by trying to copy it to a usb drive. copy protected saves won't copy.:

    https://manuals.playstation.net/document/en/ps3/current/game/copysavedata.html

    to open the ps3 hdd on a computer, you need your eid root key, which can be dumped with rebug toolbox or idpset. then, use ps3tools.

    ftp isn't the best way to backup stuff, especially games. I tried connecting without an ftp program through windows explorer, and it crashed. the 360's ftp connection also crashes.
     
  3. 36
    1
    7
    scampo

    scampo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2019
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Driver
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    this is just to dump info? I can't write a new ps3 HDD can I?
     
  4. 597
    156
    72
    umart666

    umart666 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    why you don't setup remote storage and put all of the backups there?clearly you have the drives and lan setup to do it.only ps2 and psp backups need to be on internal drive,those you quickly can ftp as needed.

    you even don't need windows pc to do it,there's mac,nas,linux and i think even rasberry variant of netserv.
     
  5. 5,956
    6,661
    622
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    5,956
    Likes Received:
    6,661
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    Dont use Multiman for NTFS, it does not have a great NTFS driver, No write support iirc. Try the backup manager IRISMAN, it has a file manager that has a good NTFS driver, it would probably be the simplest/fastest way to backup that much data.

    FTP will take along time..but not a month.. Over a decent wired network, you might get like 100GB every 2-4 hours depending on file sizes etc.
     
  6. 7,279
    5,309
    847
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,279
    Likes Received:
    5,309
    Trophy Points:
    847
    Home Page:
    NTSB? :D
     
    DeViL303 likes this.

Share This Page