First Time Jailbreak, a few questions before I start

Discussion in 'PS3 Jailbreaks / CFW' started by batdan, Feb 8, 2019.

1. 12
    batdan

batdan Forum Noob

Hi all,

Been reading as many resources as I can before starting the jailbreak process, I'm a total noob and would appreciate some help before I start. I'm currently on 4.81 and plan to manually update to 4.82 to install CFW on a PS3 slim.

I don't want to risk a ban of my main PSN account and don't plan on going online with this PS3, as least on my main account. I'm also planning on installing a new hard drive into the system, so I'm really wondering what the best approach for all of this would be. My questions:

1. Should I deactivate my PS3 on my Sony account, create a second account through Sony on a PC, and use that going forward when starting the jailbreak process?
    2. Whether or not I use a new hard drive, should the hard drive be formatted on a PC and then inserted into the system for a clean slate/install? While everything from my main account is currently installed on the system, I don't really care to make a backup since I would be using CFW for emulation mostly
    3. I'm unclear whether the PS3 needs to be activated (again) once I format everything. If so, I understand there's still a way to do it on 4.82 using PSNproxy, is that correct?

Basically, I really don't want my main account to be banned or even have the possibility of a ban, since I have way too much paid content. If someone has a better suggestion on how to approach this, I would greatly appreciate your thoughts. Thanks!

odin82740 likes this.
  2. 516
    kadorna2

kadorna2 Member

1) not necessary but you can do if you want to. You'd have to activate it under another account if you want to have a way to activate psn content in the future though, so just leaving your main account there would be a better option, you are not going online anyway so the ban risk is non existent