PS2 FMCB/FHDB v1.9 series release thread

Discussion in 'Free MCBoot' started by sp193, Apr 8, 2017.

  1. 48
    16
    32
    Haker120

    Haker120 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    I did but that is sooooo slow.
     
  2. 821
    1,494
    247
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    1,494
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    The problem is not with FMCB/FHDB. It is your modchip using the same memory as FMCB/FHDB or is now attacking FMCB/FHDB. It seemed to have worsened after the OSD initialization code was replaced at v1.96, but we cannot both have cake and eat it...

    Nevermind that I do not have a console with such a modchip, but there is also no standard for what a modchip will do to EE memory.
     
    Berion likes this.
  3. 48
    16
    32
    Haker120

    Haker120 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Why does modchip collide? krHACKen explained me what ATAD does but I have no idea (and luck) why even with modchip disabled completely (cutted modchip power) it doesn't work all the time.
     
  4. 1,520
    860
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    860
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    A lot of modchip apply patches to the OSDSYS - to enable specific features (like burned discs, changed VMODEs, or whatever...) - and those might interfere with FMCB/FHDB's patches.

    Sometimes you only need to disable a modchip-feature like 'Macrovision', but that is also dependent on the Modchip, the installed/used Firmware and the FMCB/FHDB-Version.

    Regarding your last point... Well, there are some modchips, which simply do not disable themselve 'fully' and 'properly'.
     
    jolek likes this.
  5. 1,520
    860
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    860
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    Regarding 'burned discs'... I solely mean the automatic disc-type-recognition of various modchips, which were partially incompatible with FMCB/FHDB's own disc-type-recognition-patches (mainly included for ESR[-Path]).

    Like SP193 mentioned, 1.96x's changes to system-init seem to have made it a bit worse on some modchips.

    1.8(b/c) basically is the most Modchip-compatible version generally... As you have noticed, some modchips are still compatible withsome of the newer versions.

    Some memory-offsets (the location of some program-parts in RAM) have changed in the 1.9x-series as well, so that probably has an effect on some modchips as well.
     
    jolek likes this.
  6. 1,520
    860
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    860
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    THX for the re-release!
    I just noticed the changes!
     
  7. 48
    16
    32
    Haker120

    Haker120 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    I just gave up, seems newer versions of FMCBs still work fine with modchips but FHDBs hang.
     
  8. 1,520
    860
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    860
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    Have you tried starting FHDB from/'through' FMCB?

    Just keep your FMCB-MC plugged in and turn off 'SkipHD'?
     
  9. 48
    16
    32
    Haker120

    Haker120 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    FMCB doesn't load HDDOSB for me (HDD update skip) but other than that works.


    Edited because of misunderstanding.
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2019
  10. 1,520
    860
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    860
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    Wrong... It does load FHDB/HDD-OSD after the FMCB-Logo is shown, if you turn 'SkipHD' in the OSDSYS-Settings off, which is exactly why I pointed to that option...


    Edit: FHDB is meant to be compatible with FMCB!
    It even got an update in the quite recent versions to not show the logo twice, if it is started 'through' FMCB...
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2019
  11. 48
    16
    32
    Haker120

    Haker120 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Well, good to know but as long as FMCB works I don't mind, and yes, I have skip HDD load in settings.
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2019
  12. 1,520
    860
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    860
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    Well, I just corrected your false statement...

    It's a thing I have to correct over and over and over and over and over and over (. .) again, because people like Jay-Jay spread the false claim of both being incompatible to each other...
     
  13. 48
    16
    32
    Haker120

    Haker120 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Which 'false statement'? I never mentioned I run FHDB 'through' FMCB. When I load FMCB FHDB is uninstalled and HDDOSD doesn't load, at least for me with FMCB (option is automaticly on, probably old config is loaded).
     
  14. 1,520
    860
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    860
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    THAT...
    ...is a false claim/statement...

    Turn 'SkipHD' in FMCB's OSDSYS-Settings 'off' (I am telling you that for the 3rd time...) and IT WILL boot FHDB and/or the HDD-OSD...
    That's a fact and intended...
     
  15. 48
    16
    32
    Haker120

    Haker120 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Ok, there is miss of 'for me' because from FMCB automaticly skips for both for me. Btw, this combination makes my modchipped consoles to hang (modchips enabled) so well, it's not something for me, I mean, to be clear, FMCB (both skips off) -> FHDB/HDDOSD -> console hangs before FHDB menu.
     
  16. 1,520
    860
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    860
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    FHDB also hangs when it is booted 'through' FMCB ('for you') [turning SkipHD 'off']?

    Well, that's sad but was worth a try...
     
  17. 48
    16
    32
    Haker120

    Haker120 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Unfortunately, and I am confused because I have version 1.966 (newer) on MC and FHDB 1.93 and sometimes without turning modchip off everything works, very slow but from HDD (I see FHDB 1.93 in menu) apps start correctly an all until next reboot, my fat ps2s are odd. :D


    Edit: I got so annoyed so I started to test that way with turning FHDB + HDDOSD through FMCB and it started to work with modchips on, however, not sure why. FMCB is version 1.966 (newer) and FHDB is version 1.93. In both configurations I turned off skipping MC and HDD updates. I'm not sure which newer FHDB could work but I think I'll stay with this configuration for my modchipped 50004 consoles. :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2019
  18. 1,520
    860
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    860
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    Good that it at least works for you now.

    I am not sure, what 'SkipHD' does in FHDB (I think it is only skipping DVD-Player-Updates from HDD.), but I meant to turn it 'off' in FMCB...

    YES, that should usually work!

    Using FMCB as a 'pre-booter' can fix some problems with modchips, just like starting FMCB through the OSDSYS-(Update-)Launcher-ELF via DEV.1 can fix some issues with modchips as well!

    It seems some modchips only apply some patches (especially to the OSDSYS), when it is directly booted (poweron/reset/and possibly loading rom0:OSDSYS) and not 'indirectly'.
     
  19. 48
    16
    32
    Haker120

    Haker120 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Honestly, it doesn't, next complete cycle off and the same issue but now HDDOSD doesn't even load and I can't reinstall it with SUDC4, somehow FHDB installation corrupted it. Now FMCB newer than 1.8C don't start at all. I'm done with this issue, FMCB 1.8C works as intended except doesn't allow me to run app from HDD but whatever. Now I even can't install any FHDB because 'mythical HDD issue, use HDDChecker' which NEVER worked for me, it didn't even for my friend with 3 compatible HDDs that allow him to run FMCB 1.966 without issues but he can't install FHDB on any of his HDDs (all ATA).

    So summarizing: I am using FMCB 1.8C because any of newer ones don't work for me at all and my friend is using FMCB 1.966 because similar issue just no modchip.
     
  20. 821
    1,494
    247
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    1,494
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    I'm not sure which error you got, but such a message indicates that the content of the HDD could have some problem. Like it or not, your PS2's HDD's contents could be not quite sane.
    Even if you chose to ignore it, it doesn't mean that other software can use it reliably.

    Assuming it comes back whenever you run the installer, it could be that the __system partition is corrupted, which explains the HDD Browser not working. It could also be that the the partition was marked as bad because of a failed write. These errors can only be cleared by the HDD Utility Disc (or HDDChecker).

    If you don't want to use HDDChecker for any reason, then you could also use the HDD Utility Disc, which was where I cloned the modules from.

    Under normal use with the official software, the MBR program (which part of FHDB substitutes) will check that the HDD is usable, which includes checking for the S.M.A.R.T. status, whether any partitions have been flagged as damaged or whether the disk had encountered I/O errors before. By jumping straight to homebrew software, this whole process was just swept under the rug for most people.

    Would you care to elaborate here?

    Is he using a genuine Sony adaptor? If not, then the problem is possibly with his adaptor. Software like OPL had the ancient ATAD module design kept around for a really long time, which is why some people did not realize that their compatible adaptors are not actually so compatible. Some of them don't even work with the boot ROM's ATAD module, which prevents bootup from the HDD unit. Some others can't even be used to write data properly.

    He had problems with FHDB, but you are having problems with FMCB right? Your modchip is making your PS2 non-standard, hence the compatibility problems that newer versions of FMCB have because of the new features.

    Although both share similar names, the same logo and offer visibly similar functionalities, they operate with different devices and the both of you seem to be encountering different hardware problems.
     

Share This Page