Game causing black screen and freeze

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by dhahin, Jul 4, 2019.

  1. 9
    1
    7
    dhahin

    dhahin Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    thanks to everyone taking their time reading this. i am a hen V2.3.1 user
    yesterday i installed dmc devil may cry into my hdd via multiman and when i launched it, it gave me a black screen and something like a freeze.
    naturally i've looked up everywhere and i've seen the bd mirror and internal option in multiman but that didn't work. i've seen a make the game into an ISO file but i'm guessing it won't work too.
    does anyone has the solution to this? it's the only game that gives me this kind of "error"
    PS: i've noticed that the name of the game isn't shown "DmC devil may cry" but "devil may cry 5" in the xmb after i mount the game via multiman.
     
  2. 5,598
    2,686
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,598
    Likes Received:
    2,686
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:

    ISO has a 99% compatibility. That is where I always start. Usually solves 99% of the issues if it is game related and not how you have HEN/CFW running.
     
    Major_Pothead92 likes this.
  3. 247
    110
    72
    jcorrea

    jcorrea PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Curitiba/Brasil
    Dump your game again. And use PS3-ISO-Rebuilder to check if is everything ok with files.
     
    Major_Pothead92 and Algol like this.
  4. 1,175
    332
    172
    umart666

    umart666 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    always suspect dump/rip first then all else.

    some of the more notorious 'rips' floating the net that are known to cause issues: gtaV,splinter cell hd collection,mgs4...
     
    Major_Pothead92 and jcorrea like this.
  5. 9
    1
    7
    dhahin

    dhahin Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    thank you for responding quickly, i didn't expect it this fast honestly.
    so i tried to make the game into an iso file on my hdd0 via multiman (when you dump it there's an option to dump it as an iso) and same result black screen with freeze.
    then i tried the ps3 iso rebuilder it didn't say there was any missing files except the update.pup but i've read somewhere there's no need for it.
     
  6. 2,519
    1,175
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,519
    Likes Received:
    1,175
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    Seriously..... nearly everytime you mention a bad rip of a game on a thread it's piracy related> "on the net". Half of the issue mentioned with games on HEN happen on CFW with folder format games as well> the most notorious of which is black screen....

    This is why ISO format is now the recomendation as it solves 99% of issue's with games that had them in folder format.
     
    Algol likes this.
  7. 9
    1
    7
    dhahin

    dhahin Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm sorry but i never heard of anything like rips or dumping them first since i always used han before hen came out... do you have a link to a video explaining how to do it or something?
     
  8. 1,175
    332
    172
    umart666

    umart666 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    and half time people here complain having issues because of those rips,i've just mentioned couple that i've personally seen threads here on this forum.
     
    Major_Pothead92 likes this.
  9. 225
    84
    32
    Major_Pothead92

    Major_Pothead92 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Well he mentioned a fact and didn't necessarily directly reference anything. There's a lot of bad rips on the net.. lol.. Better for people to be aware of that than to go blindly downloading stuff and then wonder why the backups they obtained don't work lol..
     
  10. 2,519
    1,175
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,519
    Likes Received:
    1,175
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    There's nothing new there, its been like that, a fact, for at least 30 years, bad this and that on the net not just games.... it's common knowledge, no need to mention it every other thread or post.

    And if people people are too thick and want to keep getting these like this then let them get on with it...
     
  11. 9
    1
    7
    dhahin

    dhahin Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    so it has nothing to do with my ps3 or multiman but the game? but the ps3 iso rebuilder didn't say there was any bad file
     
  12. 2,519
    1,175
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,519
    Likes Received:
    1,175
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    If you install ManaGunZ on your PS3 it has an option to do an IRD check of the game. It will go through every file in the game and check the file hashes and it will tell you is there is anything worng with the game and what file's are not original or corrupted.

    EDIT: I use this on every game I rip from my disc's to double check its 100% fine.
     
  13. 2,519
    1,175
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,519
    Likes Received:
    1,175
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    If coverting to ISO format on your PS3 the best thing to use is IRISMAN.

    MultiMAN is good but uses what called genps3iso which has compatibitly issue's with some games, where as IRISMAN use's makeps3iso which has a far hgiher compatibility rate.

    No you don't need this your right, this file is just a waste of 200MB of HDD space really and you can safely delete it and it will not effect the game.
     
  14. 9
    1
    7
    dhahin

    dhahin Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Good morning/evening, so i did the IRD check with managunz and it showed me that almost all the files are modified what does that mean?

    just tried it now didn't work too... now i don't know what to do
    there was one time when the game worked. i tried to do bd mirror and external option on multiman, the game started to install. after coming back 10mins later i found the ps3 completely off (there was no red light on the power button) after that i did the corrupted file check and deleted the game's file installation. after that when i tried to run multiman it did the same thing (no red light).
    when i rebooted multiman worked fine and the black screen came back.
    EDIT: i just noticed something. in the website where i downloaded the game it says the game is a BLUS but in multiman it says it's a BLES game. is it somehow related?
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2019
  15. 2,519
    1,175
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,519
    Likes Received:
    1,175
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    That all those files are not original, or not as they should be. And they haven't been ripped correctly. Basically you need to rip the game again.

    I don't want to know where you got the game from, my biggest peeve is piracy of games. And no help will be given for piracy related issue's as its in the forum rules. So now I know where it came from I am unable to help you anymore other than what I have stated above this, which is more than enought to tell you why it nots working.
     
  16. 9
    1
    7
    dhahin

    dhahin Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    well i just gave up on him at this point lmao. thanks for sticking with me the whole time! now i just got to figure out how to rip the game
     
  17. 300
    249
    72
    RandQalan

    RandQalan Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    249
    Trophy Points:
    72
    One thing not mentioned here possibly bad game disc or bad reader as well can cause this during ripping process.
     
  18. 11,130
    4,287
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11,130
    Likes Received:
    4,287
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    black screen = often times a resigning problem (most likely sprx). check what the encrypted files are signed with. I think it might also black screen if files are resigned for different firmware.
     
  19. 9
    1
    7
    dhahin

    dhahin Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    actually i know where the problem is but i don't know how to fix it.
    i did an IRD check with managunz and the result was all the files were modified. when i did it with a game that worked it gave me valid for all the files [​IMG]
     
  20. 247
    110
    72
    jcorrea

    jcorrea PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Curitiba/Brasil
    Dump your game again.
     

Share This Page