PS3 Game résolution

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by Drogba, May 26, 2019.

  1. 7
    1
    7
    Drogba

    Drogba Forum Noob

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Plz guys i can't play any game with 1080p resolution ? All game play with 720p.
    All setting systeme résolution is checked 720p 1080i 1080p With HDMI cable.
    How please forced to play with 1080p?
     
  2. 980
    277
    122
    umart666

    umart666 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    jcorrea likes this.
  3. 459
    176
    72
    amirzaim

    amirzaim Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    176
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicken Farm, Sanhok
    RPCS3 PS3 emulator is the only thing that you can do to upscale most PS3 games to 1080p or even 4K resolution.
     
  4. 20
    11
    7
    s.saldias10

    s.saldias10 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    7
    What games, there's to many games that just support 720p, also, I don't think that forcing bigger resolution is a good idea.

    Enviado desde mi SM-J701M mediante Tapatalk
     
  5. 5,093
    2,334
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Wanna-BeTA Tester Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,093
    Likes Received:
    2,334
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MCU/Sony Enthusiast!
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Home Page:
    There is a VERY select few that you can add the option in the pram.sfo but your most likely not gonna have much luck with this. I think I found maybe three games that this works for but at a loss of performance.
     
    Danxx444 likes this.
  6. 289
    91
    32
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Easy, buy Mcable: Gaming Edition that solves this problem.
     
  7. 10,440
    4,055
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    10,440
    Likes Received:
    4,055
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I'd advise not trying to a force higher resolution with a game. the ps3 is poorly optimized, so it doesn't take much to cause it to crash. that could potentially happen if you do that. it may be set at a lower resolution to retain stability.
     
  8. 134
    31
    32
    snkplkn

    snkplkn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    32
    How to check resolution of game i am playing? How do i know if its 720p or 1080p?
     
  9. 20
    11
    7
    s.saldias10

    s.saldias10 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Some TV gives the resolution when changes it or launch a game

    Enviado desde mi SM-J701M mediante Tapatalk
     
    sandungas, pinky and Danxx444 like this.
  10. 134
    31
    32
    snkplkn

    snkplkn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    32
    thanks. i am using Monitor (Dell s2240l). Is there a way to find out my game resolution?
     
  11. 121
    42
    57
    Luisile

    Luisile Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    yes go into OSD menu of your monitor.
     
  12. 1,031
    597
    222
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    597
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    PlayStation3 Titles Resolutions cannot be forced, its dictated by the Upscaling on a title per title basis, there its a difference between Native Resolution and Upscaling.

    Most high-graphical fidelity titles run at an Upscaled Resolution, usualy between 720p, but they are not natively at 720p, the PlayStation3 simply takes the Graphical Resolution and resizes it to match the coded output.

    Lets make an example, Metal Gear Solid 4 runs at 1024x768p at 30/60p "Uncapped Framerate", thats a XGA 4:3 Aspect Ratio, the PlayStation3 takes that 1024x768p resolution algorithm and adapts the 1024x768p by upscaling it to the closest resolution algorithm possible without blurring the image, in this case 1280x720p HD 16:9.

    There are a few exceptions to this rule, games that run at a native 1920x1080p, these games are less demanding games such as indies, remasteres or racing titles such as Gran Turismo, although keep in mind that Gran Turismo HD and 5 Prologue are native 720p and 1080i, also the Xcross Media Bar (XMB) also runs at the desired output resolution natively.

    One exception to the 1080p Native rule its OKAMI HD, the game runs at a native 3840x2160p (4K), but then the PlayStation3 downscales the image to match the output resolution, thats 1080p.

    Regarding the Output Resolutions in the XMB, setting it to all resolutions means, the PlayStation3 will send the desired resolutions to your Monitor/TV, which its tied to the Title per Title basis, and i explained before, even if you set 1080p at the XMB Options, the game dictates which Upscaled or Native Resolutions your monitor will display.
     
    Drogba and atreyu187 like this.
  13. 5,093
    2,334
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Wanna-BeTA Tester Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,093
    Likes Received:
    2,334
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MCU/Sony Enthusiast!
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Home Page:

    Those are pricey I'd rather have OSSC as it's more versatile if your gonna drop cash like that but they do work well and are easier to use. Especially if your only using HDMI compliant systems.
     
    Danxx444 likes this.
  14. 289
    91
    32
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    I know it's very expensive, but I've never seen a device that gives a significant improvement in image quality. I've never seen this OSSC so far, is its functionality good for improving image quality on PS3 just like the one I mentioned above?
     
  15. 5,093
    2,334
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Wanna-BeTA Tester Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,093
    Likes Received:
    2,334
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MCU/Sony Enthusiast!
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Home Page:

    Yep is comparable to the Frameister which that is close to $330+ while the OSSC can be had for $125 or so and supports any system or even Retro PC's with upscaling. They take any video source but RBG, component or VGA etc give the best results. Even outputs to a digital signal not just for the video but audio as well. It's open source so sees updates frequently so it will never be outdated. I use it for all my systems like the SNES, Dreamcast, Saturn, PS2 etc. Truly amazing piece of kit works for everything and you don't have to get a system specific cable so it supports all previous systems and current new ones. Doesn't do 4k upscaling but 1080p is and makes even 240p signal look amazing.
     
    Danxx444 likes this.
  16. 10,440
    4,055
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    10,440
    Likes Received:
    4,055
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I'm learning towards the OSSC, mostly due to it being less expensive. I would like to use original systems for nes, snes, and genesis instead of the retrons, but I don't have the room. in fact, my retron 5 is sitting on the carpet. I would mostly use the OSSC for psx games on the ps2. I was testing homebrew on that system with a hard mod, since I have a working laser. some homebrew like the amiga emulator displays 480, but others like the wonderswan emulator is 240p only and, I can't play any psx games.

    I've actually been messing with hakchi for the past four+days. I've been making sure I have all rips, correct name and artwork (including the aladdin rips, which 3 have unique title ids and the other 3 have the same as the retail version. I was unable to figure out how hakchi derives the title id from the rom image, so I couldn't change it). I also resized all images using the action command in photoshop. that actually crashed my computer with a video memory error, so I thought it was a hardware problem. I have four previous disk images from earlier points, with less stuff installed, but the video memory error still occurred. it didn't do this on my parents' pc, so I resized images on there. my gpu isn't the best, so I assumed that it was the problem. I reinstalled windows a day or two ago and made a disk image of just the pc with the mouse connected. then, I reinstalled photoshop without accessing the internet to prevent any newer drivers from being installed. I tried bulk resizing images again. this time, no error, so it must've been a software problem, perhaps one of the apps I had installed, or a bad driver. right now, I'm copying content from one drive to another, which I hadn't opened for several days due this obsession over hakchi and the computer.
     
    atreyu187 and Danxx444 like this.
  17. 134
    31
    32
    snkplkn

    snkplkn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    32

    Thanks.

    What do you think is the best display for PS3 video?

    LED Monitor 1080p
    HD LED TV
    or CRT Monitor which has 1024x768 aspect ratio and also higher resolution options

    CRT monitor gives better Blacks and no backlight bleeds. I wonder if they are better options than LED monitors?
     
  18. 701
    235
    72
    ISAK.M

    ISAK.M Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Well, School
    Location:
    Sweden
    Better then LED Monitor?... IPS Monitor, from my experience it gives a more crystal clear image compared to LED
     
  19. 980
    277
    122
    umart666

    umart666 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    IPS have issue with glow,so if your games are darker overall (like mine are,i play predominantly horror games) then it isn't well suited.but,if you play bright games like sport games,driving games etc or you don't care then just buy biggest one you can afford.

    although i personally use my ps3 on my CRT's i use them for ps1 and ps2 games,not that much for ps3 games.what to get depends on what can you afford,it's very difficult to find a display that's really bad when upscaling 720p,so i wouldn't worry about it.i think good compromise on size,cost,black levels and availability are VA panels,so i'd suggest to buy biggest VA display you can afford if you don't have the money for OLED.

    that being said,if you have the space for it,it's always nice to have a good CRT,but it's really hard to find big 16:9 one that still works,have component and at least 600 lines.i wouldn't bother with anything below that for ps3 games.there's also issue of lag,as those early 00's 16:9 high end CRT's all have digital processing of image and it isn't that fast,so if you're sensitive to it then i would suggest to skip it altogether.as i've said,i play mostly horror games on all of my playstations,so that isn't big deal for me personally,but your mileage may vary.

    for ps1,ps2 and anything older than that get a big and nice 4:3 crt with at least s video input,and you'll be fine.if you don't want lag try to find one without digital processing (avoid 100hz ones),that wouldn't be too hard to find,people are throwing them out.
     
  20. 701
    235
    72
    ISAK.M

    ISAK.M Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Well, School
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yeah, that's true. When I played Skyrim on my PS3 on a 24" Philips IPS Monitor the screen was alot darker in the caves compared to the LED TV right besides it but I think the extra crystal clear image makes up for the darker screen ;)
     

Share This Page