PS3 GUIDE: Self-booting XMB Webman Classics

Discussion in 'webMAN MOD' started by jacobsson, Nov 10, 2018.

  1. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    @ManuelHD1980
    Hi man. Just wanted to check if you tested the PKG i built above?
     
  2. 7
    1
    7
    ManuelHD1980

    ManuelHD1980 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Firstly, I'm sorry for didn't answer quickly. I have to study for University.
    Secondly, I really appreciate that you made a pkg for my iso, but I don't know why it didn't work:
     
  3. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
    STLcardsWS likes this.
  4. 7
    1
    7
    ManuelHD1980

    ManuelHD1980 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    OOOOOOOOMG!!!!. I was the stupid here, now it works. Sorry for waste your time. And thanks for having patience with me.
     
    jacobsson likes this.
  5. 9,628
    10,235
    1,672
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9,628
    Likes Received:
    10,235
    Trophy Points:
    1,672
    atreyu187 and jacobsson like this.
  6. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    No problem buddy, I'm glad to help!
     
  7. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you very much for this, and also for all the stuff you're doing for the scene!
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
  8. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    @aldostools
    Hi. I was thinking to make a pkglaunch -version for PSP ISO's, any idea how I would be able to mount and autoplay an PSP ISO in one launch?
    I managed to mount the ISO as a PSP-mini (using pkglaunch) to the placeholder of 'PSP Launcher'.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2019
    Yugonibblit and DeViL303 like this.
  9. 3,494
    5,797
    522
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    5,797
    Trophy Points:
    522
    As PSPISO requires a launcher, once the ISO is mounted you would need to use explore_plugin commands to navigate the XMB and auto execute the icon of the launcher. The Auto-Play feature of webman works in a similar way.

    You also may need to customize category_game.xml to focus the correct XMB icon properly.

    You can use the following web commands in a batch script to perform the task.
    /browser.ps3$<cmd> - execute explore_plugin XMB command

    This is a reference of the allowed explore_plugin commands to auto-navigate the XMB:
    https://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/Explore_plugin

    For a small reference of the allowed script commands, they are listed here:
    https://github.com/aldostools/webMAN-MOD/blob/master/include/script.h

    Optionally you could modify webman or xai_plugin to perform these commands directly from XMB calling a sprx module.
     
    Yugonibblit, DeViL303 and jacobsson like this.
  10. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    @aldostools
    Wow, thank you for that elaborate answer!
    I'm thinking of the chain of commands at the moment, please bare with me =)

    1. Let's say I'm using a batch script, would that script be referenced to inside my launch.txt as the starting point?
    I.e /webcommand.to.execute.scripts/<path_to_script>

    Script (assuming PSP placeholder has index 0):
    /play.ps3/path_to_psp_iso.iso;
    /browser.ps3$focus_category game;
    /browser.ps3$focus_segment_index 0;
    /browser.ps3$exec_app

    2. Or even better, couldn't I just have the script do these two in a chain?
    /play.ps3/path_to_psp_iso.iso;
    /play.ps3?col=<game>&seg=<seg_device>

    3. Regarding (2.), would it possible to have my launch.txt run those two commands in a chain? (I have never managed to have two commands run in launch.txt so I think not).


    Thank you very much for your help!

    By the way, there is a GUI for building webMAN Classics almost ready for release, I hope you are willing to check it out in couple of days =)
     
    DeViL303, STLcardsWS and aldostools like this.
  11. 3,494
    5,797
    522
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    5,797
    Trophy Points:
    522
    They should work (as I commented earlier I'm using the same method for Auto-Play), but you probably will need some time to test the best combination of commands. Maybe you will need to use a wait command in some place, but you're near ;)

    The new GUI for webMAN Classics should be a very useful tool for many users... Thanks!
     
    STLcardsWS and jacobsson like this.
  12. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    @aldostools
    Hi again.
    I did some tests just now to see if I could run a .bat/.txt from launch.txt:
    [​IMG]

    TEST1:
    in launch.txt: /play.ps3/dev_hdd0/PSPISO/Power Stone Collection.iso
    [mounts ISO OK]

    TEST2:
    in launch.txt:
    /play.ps3/dev_hdd0/PSPISO/Power Stone Collection.bat
    in Power Stone Collection.bat: /play.ps3/dev_hdd0/PSPISO/Power Stone Collection.iso
    [Tripple beeps, no ISO mounted] <-- same goes for Power Stone Collection.txt


    Any ideas why pointing out a .bat/txt wont work in launch.txt?
     
  13. 3,494
    5,797
    522
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    5,797
    Trophy Points:
    522
    The triple beep is due webMAN prevents to mount a game while another game is being mounted / played.
    In this case, webMAN thinks that the .bat is a game being mounted.
    To override that, mount the game using /mount_ps3 instead of use /mount.ps3 or /play.ps3

    BTW the .bat also can be executed with /mount_ps3<script-path> ;) I haven't tested if it produce the triple beeps when /play.ps3 is used from the .bat

    Maybe I should add an internal override for the mount check (triple beeps) when a .bat is running.

    EDIT:
    I uploaded a test build that skips the mount check that produce the 3 beeps from batch script
    https://www.sendspace.com/file/fiasvi
    I also implemented the safer method proposed by @DeViL303 to upload via ftp to /dev_blind
    It now upload the file to /dev_blind with a different name, then replace the original file only if the upload was successful.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2019
    jacobsson likes this.
  14. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    @aldostools
    I some of my testings turns out that I don't know the syntax i.e I'm using line breaks after the ; (semi-colons).
    When removing the linebreaks I'm now able to mount the PSP Launcher with the iso and focus the cursor in the menu.
    All of this is done directly in launch.txt :encouragement:

    I also changed /play.ps3/iso_path to /play_ps3/iso_path, now it doesn't fail when trying to play the non-existent disc-icon.

    Now to my logical problem: how do I find and start the 'PSP Launcher' in the menu w/o using coordinates, can the position be found by name? Something like "focus_segment_hit_first gameDir %s"

    I tried moving the line in launch.txt -> script and then use:
    /mount_ps3<script-path>. This resulted in nothing for some reason.

    I going to test your build tonight to see if I have better luck running scripts, thank you!
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2019
  15. 3,494
    5,797
    522
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    5,797
    Trophy Points:
    522
    The new build will not make a difference, due the change I made was only to make /mount.ps3 or /play.ps3 act as /mount_ps3 or /play_ps3. But you already solved this issue using /play_ps3 which I forgot that was supported :P

    Regarding the use of semi-colons (;), they are mainly used to send multiple web commands in a single request. The next command should start with /, so the real separator between commands is ;/

    As the batch script supports multiple lines, you should avoid the use the ; in the script since they are not necessary.

    To start the PSP Launcher, I mentioned earlier the easier way to accomplish this is using a custom category_game.xml or find a way to make the icon be always in a static position of the Category list to use the commands: focus_category, focus_segment_index and focus_index. I haven't tried focus_segment_hit_first gameDir %s, I guess %s refers to title_id of the game. In this case the title id of PSP Launcher.

    I suggest to experiment executing the /browser.ps3$ commands directly from Chrome, instead of execute them from the script on the PS3. It should help you make the tests faster until you find the proper explore_plugin commands. Once you set the focus over PSP Launcher you just need to send /browser.ps3$exec_push
     
    jacobsson likes this.
  16. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    @aldostools
    Doh! I did not think of that, thank you. I'll come back when I've found what is working and not. I really appreciate your time!

    EDIT: By custom category_game.xml, is this something webMAN are using when mounting discs for instance? My end goal would be that my installed webMAN_PSP_game.pkg would ad a "game shortcut" that mounts the disc icon at index x (in this case a PSP disc) just like PSX/PS2/PS3 discs would.

    In other words something that looks exactly like how webMAN mounts and play ISOs.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2019
    aldostools likes this.
  17. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    @aldostools
    Unfortunately the /browser.ps3$ commands can only provide me with more basic navigation. For now it seems impossible to know what index a certain item have. I wish there was a function that could look for a title_id and return the list index.

    I've tried using /play.ps3?col=<game>&seg=<seg_device>, where <seg_device> would be replaced with the title id of the PSP Placeholder (PSPC66820)
    EDIT: Turns out seg_device is not connected to title_id at all

    I don't really know how the PSP Placeholder works but maybe it could be moded auto-play during an PSP iso mount? I can see that it extracts and copies ICON0.PNG from the ISO somehow.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2019
  18. 3,494
    5,797
    522
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    5,797
    Trophy Points:
    522
    I can't help much at this moment, you could try something like these:
    /browser.ps3$focus_category game
    /browser.ps3$focus_segment_index PSPC66820
    /browser.ps3$focus_segment_hit_first gameDir PSPC66820
    /browser.ps3$focus_segment_hit_first PSPC66820

    Maybe you should try adding a query in category_game.xml with these:

    <Table key="my_psp_launcher">
    <Pair key="icon"><String>/dev_hdd0/game/PSPC66820/ICON0.PNG</String></Pair>
    <Pair key="title"><String>PSP Launcher</String></Pair>
    </table>

    <Query class="type:x-xmb/folder-pixmap" key="my_psp_launcher" attr="my_psp_launcher" src="xcb://localhost/query?limit=1&cond=Ae+Game:Common.dirPath /dev_hdd0/game+Ae+Game:Common.fileName PSPC66820"/>

    Then use:
    /browser.ps3$close_all_list
    /browser.ps3$focus_index my_psp_launcher
    /browser.ps3$exec_push

    Or you could create the segment seg_psp_launcher (a sub-menu in XML) and use a sequence like this:
    /browser.ps3$close_all_list
    /browser.ps3$focus_segment_index seg_psp_launcher
    /browser.ps3$exec_push
    /browser.ps3$focus_index 0
    /browser.ps3$exec_push

    EDIT
    Have you tried this?
    /play.ps3?col=game&seg=PSPC66820
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2019
    DeViL303 likes this.
  19. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    @aldostools
    The best solution imo would be if there was a way to query the segment_id's or query the item index by name, then we could just point to the item and launch it with the: I tried /play.ps3?col=game&seg=psp_launcher_segment_id
    or /browser.ps3$focus_index index_of_psp_launcher_item


    I tried /play.ps3?col=game&seg=PSPC66820 earlier, problem is that PSPC66820 doesn't seem to be a proper segment_id.
    I might test the XML route, but I don't know if that's a good solution since it has to write to the dev_flash.

    If an segment_id or item index can't be found it would be interesting to see if there is a way to inject the proposed xml during execution of the webMAN classics pkg or to modify the PSP Launcher to auto-play it's content some how (?).

    Thank you for all the suggestions so far!
     
    aldostools likes this.
  20. 3,494
    5,797
    522
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    5,797
    Trophy Points:
    522
    I think your options are:
    1-You could distribute a category_game.xml including the segments that you need.
    You can include in the readme the web commands to install files to /dev_blind and reboot
    2-You could modify webman's updater to update category_game.xml with your segments or install your own category_game.xml
    Or you could modify the XMBM+ installer
    3-Use one of the existing slots for XMBM+ or HAN and link to a custom XML for your tool
    (I think latest Rebug CFW includes like 5 slots for HAN tools)
    4-Convince the CFW devs to include another link exclusive for your tool in future CFW revisions

    I would go with option 3 ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2019

Share This Page