PS3 GUIDE: Self-booting XMB Webman Classics

Discussion in 'webMAN MOD' started by jacobsson, Nov 10, 2018.

  1. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you for the suggestion. I'd love to support animated icons in the future! I'll put it on my issue-list for sure.
    Regarding network games, I'm pretty sure I've used PS3 netserver in order to accomplish this (I think PS2 will have to copy over fully in order to work).
     
    T.A.U likes this.
  2. 10
    3
    32
    Sassokee

    Sassokee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    It would be a neat feature, I guess it's doable manually by unpacking and repacking the pkg file but it would be a time saver just to add them in one go...
    In regards to ps3netsrv, I was talking about PS3 games, I know that it's not possible to run PS2 or PSP games from a network location. To be honest, I don't understand why it isn't working because loading the game through multiMAN or webMAN MOD isn't an issue at all for me.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
     
  3. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    I've tested and it seems like when mounting a PSP game within webMAN Games it automatically jumps into the launcher entry plus one more level and then stops. You might need a longer delay on the last step that should start the launcher?

    Also, what commands mount PSP isos now, it seems like using /mount_ps3/ doens't work for me anymore? Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2019
    DeViL303 and T.A.U like this.
  4. 3,494
    5,797
    522
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    5,797
    Trophy Points:
    522
    The wait is difficult to estimate the timing due it's very random and I don't have of a way to know what's exactly is happening on XMB.
    I'll try to increase the timing a bit more in the next builds...

    Regarding the /mount_ps3 it worked fine in my tests.
     
    T.A.U and jacobsson like this.
  5. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah, I noticed that too, the increased wait seem to be especially needed during fresh reboots.

    Weird, I can use /play.ps3/PSPISO/gamename.iso (mounts but beeps as it should), but /ps3_mount/PSPISO/gamename.iso doesn't do anything at all for me.
    When you tested, did you achieve a full mount and load from xmb using just /ps3_mount/PSPISO/gamename.iso?
    If so, very nice!
     
  6. 3,494
    5,797
    522
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    5,797
    Trophy Points:
    522
    it is /mount_ps3, not /ps3_mount ;)
     
    jacobsson likes this.
  7. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    @aldostools Sorry, this is what lack of sleep do to you =)

    It turns out I did have the right command and path after all (just a typo before):
    /mount_ps3/dev_hdd0/PSPISO/Power Stone Collection.iso
    The launch.txt just doesn't seem to parse through webMAN when using the /mount_ps3 command, i.e it doesn't generate an url.txt in the USRDIR -folder

    Using the same exact command as above but through the chrome-browser mounts the ISO just fine, although it can't find a PSP Launcher since it just opens the first index in the games category.

    Anyway, I don't know if your automatic browsing will would work as it is now when mounting a game through a webMAN Classics, it needs to find the PSP Launcher somehow in the list of games and it's index is on an arbitrary position. I guess the xml needs a named entry somehow?
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2019
    DeViL303 likes this.
  8. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    @aldostools
    I'm going to do some tests back and forth to see if webMAN v14 let's me mount PSP again.
     
  9. 10
    3
    32
    Sassokee

    Sassokee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Is it confirmed 100%? Could you please share how you managed to get games through ps3netsrv to mount and play successfully? I have ps3netsrv running on my Synology NAS as a package, it works fine for multiMAN and webMAN MOD as stated before.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
     
  10. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    I can that I'm 99% sure that I did managed to make a webMAN Classics PKG that pointed to an ISO distributed by ps3netsrv (mounted in webMAN), since it was a PS2 game it started to a transfer the full ISO over the network. Hence made me drop the idea since it wont work for my purpose.
     
  11. 10
    3
    32
    Sassokee

    Sassokee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    What I'm trying to achieve is to mount and play PS3 games actually and I can't find any video on YouTube or anyone confirming whether it works or not.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
     
  12. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Weird, I remember finding a guide (on youTube I believe) which was pretty straight forward. Started the server on my PC, put the games in the suggested folder structure, added the IP in webMAN, reloaded the XML and the games showed up.
     
  13. 10
    3
    32
    Sassokee

    Sassokee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    I don't have any problems whatsoever loading the games through webMAN or multiMAN, the problem is creating pkgs for the said games and launch them from shortcuts.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
     
  14. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    @Sassokee
    Yes sorry, I've been a little bit distracted lately, I understand where you're at now. If I get the time to check my old computer I might find an answer for you. I'll post here when I know more.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2019
  15. 3,494
    5,797
    522
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    5,797
    Trophy Points:
    522
    FYI last night I updated PKGLAUNCH to add support for web commands ending with _ps3 (if there is any other command not working, the issue can be circumvented adding http://127.0.0.1/ or the word GET to the beginning of the line.
    https://github.com/aldostools/webMAN-MOD/commit/b34c34dfaa6581478ae047becbc45ce6424a7d6f

    In the weekend I submitted various commits related to your issue.
    You can try using the packages in the latest release page:
    https://github.com/aldostools/webMAN-MOD/releases/latest
     
    jacobsson likes this.
  16. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    @aldostools
    Thank you very much, it's a luxury get updates related to my work.
    I'll update tonight and test, two big thumbs up!
     
    aldostools likes this.
  17. 273
    168
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi! I just had time testing your last build, mount commands doesn't seem to register for me at all, I've made sure testing games that are working with /play.ps3 commands bu swapping it for /mount_ps3 instead, but nothings happens.

    EDIT: Actually the /play.ps3 command now only mount the game, does not traverse to or start the iso.

    EDIT2: reverting back to webMAN mod v14 fixed the issue
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2019
  18. 41
    11
    7
    SiegfreedOs

    SiegfreedOs Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    tested on hen and working great,thanks for this great option,been trying for months to find a way to put shortcuts of my non-convertible games on xmb
     
    jacobsson likes this.
  19. 10
    3
    32
    Sassokee

    Sassokee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Did anyone test running games from USB and from the network?

    Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
     
  20. 41
    11
    7
    SiegfreedOs

    SiegfreedOs Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    i will try playing from usb soon but i still need to fix the pendrive first
     
    Sassokee likes this.

Share This Page