[GUIDE] Unbrick a PS3 after an unfortunate PS3Xploit flash

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Guides' started by littlebalup, Dec 16, 2018.

  1. 1,198
    1,222
    272
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    The patch is embeded in PS3dumpchecker and PyPS3patcher.

    So:

    - Dump your NOR with your E3.

    - Download and open latest PS3dumchecker : https://github.com/Swizzy/PS3DumpChecker/raw/master/Latest Compiled Version/PS3DumpChecker.exe

    - In the settings (top left wrench icon), ensure everything is like that :
    [​IMG]
    then save.

    - Load your dump in PS3dumpchecker (you can drag & drop). It should be bad only on ROS0_hash and/or
    ROS1_hash
    . If you have more errors, your dump is corrupted (bad dump). So you must make a better dump before next steps.

    - If your dump is Ok except the ROS hashes, you can click to the "Force Patch" button :
    [​IMG]
    It will patch your dump using the noFSM patch and will save it as "bkpps3_patched.bin". That new patched dump must be all OK before to flash!

    - rename your "bkpps3_patched.bin" dump to bkpps3.bin and flash it to your console.

    - Now your console should boot to the XMB. So, re-install directly your 4.85 CFW (do not use ps3xploit writer or you'll brick again)
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2019
    KANGSUDTEENCM, Algol and DeViL303 like this.
  2. 1,614
    1,013
    297
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    You can patch your PS3 with higher CoreOS (as EEPROM accept CoreOS with same version or higher ,if lower dump patched with lower CoreOS then actual one it will brick and behave like YLOD) so you can force patch it with 4.85 OFW CoreOS and it will boot
     
  3. 3
    1
    32
    boban8

    boban8 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Thank's Bro,
    Will give it a try
     
    Louay likes this.
  4. 12
    0
    5
    Pwnhammer Duece

    Pwnhammer Duece Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi all! I Have a ps3 chech3004b and I wanted to unbrick it..
    I tried doing this many times but Im always stick in some shit...

    Firstly my e3 is dont wants to write to my ps3 nor.(i updated it with samsung firmware)
    I could make backups with it but now it says: invalid e3 nor...

    After I bricked it using ps3xploit, I think I made some changes in my ps3 nor....
    Like I made a backup from the bricked ps and I checked that bad dump using Ps3DumpChecker....

    The check said that my dump is BAD (of course) and I patched it using CoreOS484.BIN
    Now it worked, but after a while e3 stopped writing, i got an error 0x800000, but when I tried it again, got then 0x880000.
    After that I turned e3 to ps3 mode (i turned all switches down...) and it succesfully wrote the dump to my nor.

    Now Im just getting error 0x0000000 and cant write anything on my nor...

    Im so confused now:frown new: what could I do????
     
  5. 1,198
    1,222
    272
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    99,99% of the issues with the E3 flasher is due to bad contacts of the clip to the NOR. If you have some soldering skills, you should use the E3 Linker instead of the clip.
    The 0,01% remaining are mainly due to bad SD card or SD slot.
     
    Pwnhammer Duece likes this.
  6. 12
    0
    5
    Pwnhammer Duece

    Pwnhammer Duece Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    but it gives ALLWAYS 0x000000 bad dump/ not bad dump /original/ patched/ when writing

    I dont want to break the ps3 motherboard. it can't be the SD card cause it can read 0x000000



    but Im gonna give you my e3 log:


    start logging...
    program PS3 BIOS.
    program from TF.
    start programming.
    read 0:bkpps3.bin at 0x00000000 ... OK.
    erase PS3 BIOS at 0x00000000 ... OK.
    write PS3 BIOS at 0x00000000 ... failed.
    Program Nor failed.
     
  7. 1,198
    1,222
    272
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    It's probably clip issue. Maybe the WE (write enable) contact is bad. It may be address and/or data lines as well. It's hard to say.
     
    Pwnhammer Duece likes this.
  8. 12
    0
    5
    Pwnhammer Duece

    Pwnhammer Duece Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    anyway thanks for your answer littlebalup
     
  9. 12
    0
    5
    Pwnhammer Duece

    Pwnhammer Duece Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello! I connected the nor tristate with the sbe (on e3) and I cant make backups... Well if I connect the nor tristate with the ground it works.... Why is this?
     
  10. 1,198
    1,222
    272
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    With the tristate to sbe, in add you must set the first switch to the flashfun position
     
    Pwnhammer Duece and Algol like this.
  11. 12
    0
    5
    Pwnhammer Duece

    Pwnhammer Duece Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    So it should be always on the flash fun mode?

    Well, I have a more interesting question... Whats the difference between flash fun mode and ps3 mode?
     
  12. 1,198
    1,222
    272
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    In flash fun mode, if the SBE (SouthBrige Enable) is soldered to the tristate, you set the tristate to ground. It avoid the console to boot (or to brick if the NOR is corrupted). The console stay powered on and it allows to dump/write the NOR without disruption from other mainboard components.

    In ps3 mode the tristate is not to ground, so the console can boot (or brick...) normally.
     
    Pwnhammer Duece and Algol like this.
  13. 12
    0
    5
    Pwnhammer Duece

    Pwnhammer Duece Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I flashed a patched(progskeet_patch.txt) dump to my nor in ps3 mode.(it was tristate to ground)
    And when I turn ps3 on(without e3 and the bridge). After 2 second it's turn off again... Why is this?
     
  14. 12
    0
    5
    Pwnhammer Duece

    Pwnhammer Duece Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    So ps3 mode is only works is xmb?
     
  15. 23
    17
    32
    ElGris

    ElGris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Are you sure your dump is 100% correct or "OK"? As the tools has to show you in order to get a normal recovery of the brick? I highly recommend you to read, and read A LOT of info about E3 (which is very reliable in terms of flashing imo). Watch videos of how install it, read and then try again, because I can see you're a little bit lost. There're tutorials of how to update, dump and flash correctly using the E3. I even did it with a E3 replica (I believe) and until now I had no regret with it. Try to set the clip tight, as I did in my previous post or watch videos about that. But first, get a good dump and try to patch it good and get the famous "OK".

    This guide is in spanish but you'll understand the setup of the E3 in every step. Good luck.

    https://ps3.scenebeta.com/tutorial/downgradear-ps3-con-e3-flasher
     
    Pwnhammer Duece likes this.
  16. 12
    0
    5
    Pwnhammer Duece

    Pwnhammer Duece Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I know all of theese things that you gave to me (but thanks for this) i figured it out with Google translate.

    Im 100% sure that this is a valid dump, because when I made this mistake(flashed ps3 what wasn't compatible with ps3xploit) I made dump with act/idps dumper on the non-bricked console...


    I got always 0x000000 error, that means
    In the offset 00000000 there is something bad, BUT I HAVE THE ORIGINAL DUMP THAT IS 100% VALID!!!!

    The E3 flasher is well attached to the nor...
    It has a very high pressure.. Im scared if i make a bit more the motherboard will break in 2....

    (I flashed a dump in ps3 mode but I wasn't in the xmb, because the console is bricked!

    Actually, that was a bad step?!)



    Thanks for your answer everyone WHO helped me (littlebalup + you)





    Tapatalkkal küldve az én FIG-LX1 eszközömről
     
  17. 23
    17
    32
    ElGris

    ElGris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    32
    No problem man, we are here to help, even if it's a little.

    I think I understood what you did. You did a dump of your bricked console using ps3xploit, right? And you checked the dump and you're sure it's ok? The size is 16Mb?. If yes I only recommend you make a dump of your actual NOR and save it just in case. And there're a few things you maybe are ignoring.

    Did you did what Littlebalup say in the tutorial?

    "!!WARNING!! If your initial dump file has been made with PS3Xploit Dumper, and if you are using an E3 flasher, you must do a byte swap of your patched dump before to rename it "bkpps3.bin" and to fash it."

    Also, use the bridge from the tristate to ground. And use FLASH FUN when flashing. As the guide I give you says. Try that and tell us.
     
    Pwnhammer Duece likes this.
  18. 12
    0
    5
    Pwnhammer Duece

    Pwnhammer Duece Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Ok. I will try it!

    Tapatalkkal küldve az én FIG-LX1 eszközömről
     
  19. 12
    0
    5
    Pwnhammer Duece

    Pwnhammer Duece Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    But i shouldn't flash the original one rather patched one(of course reversed)?

    Tapatalkkal küldve az én FIG-LX1 eszközömről
     
  20. 23
    17
    32
    ElGris

    ElGris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    32
    I really don't understand a thing about this, really. I'm just good following guides lol. Do what Littlebalup said, patch, reverse, and then flash.
     
Tags:

Share This Page