Help request: black screen after loading configuration

Discussion in 'Open PS2 Loader (OPL)' started by Thatliamsmith, Jul 13, 2019.

  1. 6
    0
    5
    Thatliamsmith

    Thatliamsmith Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello
    I’m new to this scene and I’m having a problem. Here’s what I’ve done so far:

    I have formatted my usb hard drive in windows to ntsf and then to fat32 using usb extreme.

    I have defraged my usb hdd using auslogics

    I created the folders CD and DVD

    I opened my iso file in winrar to see the game Id.

    I renamed my iso file gameid.gamename and kept it under 32 chars

    In openpl settings I turned on usb defrag and turned usb to manual.

    I can load my games list and see my game. I launch it. It says loading configuration and then stays on a black screen with my usb hdd indicator flashing briefly until it remains lit solid.

    I have tried 2 hard drives and 4 different iso images all with the same black screen.

    I have also cycled all the display options but no luck.

    Any one have any idea what the issue could be?

    Thanks for reading
     
  2. 1,341
    969
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    969
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    Can you take a screenshot of your files inside DVD folder on USB HDD.

    I don't understand this part.
    In OPL settings you've set:
    Check USB game fragmentation - On
    USB device start mode - Manual

    Try also:
    USB device start mode - Auto

    Also enable:
    Disable Debug Colors - Off

    Now when you'll launch your game from list on what debug color PS2 freezes?
    E.g. green, orange...

    What version of OPL have you got?
    Can you try OPL 1357:
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/open-ps2-loader-official-beta-releases.21573/.
     
    TnA likes this.
  3. 6
    0
    5
    Thatliamsmith

    Thatliamsmith Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you for your swift response and for trying to help.
    yes I had Check USB game fragmentation - On and USB device start mode - Manual.

    Changed to USB device start mode - Auto but didnt help.

    After launching game it freezes briefly on green then continues for a second then freezes on orange and thats it.

    Im using Open PS2 Loader 0.9.3 VMC GSM 0.36.R PS2RD Cheat engine 0.5.3.65g774d1
    (I bought the memorycard preloaded from ebay) I thought i needed a modded console to set things up so will do some research into updating it if thats what you recommend.

    Heres the screenshot of my DVD folder I just have 1 iso in there at the minute.

    [​IMG]

    I also have this in the root from trying to add an iso via USBUTIL v2.2 (got bien result) and also tried with USBExtreme. These games show up in the games list and arent fragmented but just wont play.

    [​IMG]

    thanks for any advice you can offer
     
  4. 6
    0
    5
    Thatliamsmith

    Thatliamsmith Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    OK so I downloaded OPL 0.9.3+ 1357-Beta as per your link but still freezes on a orange screen.
     
  5. 1,341
    969
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    969
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    Theoretically games ID should be in uppercase:
    SLUS_204.83.WWE S - Shut Your Mouth.iso
    not:
    slus_204.83.WWE S - Shut Your Mouth.iso
    But for USB it probably doesn't matter.

    You've two games i two versions.
    SLUS_204.83.WWE Smackdown - Shut Your Mouth in ISO and in ul.
    SLUS_207.87.WWE Smackdown! Here Comes the Pain both in ul.

    Anyway you have got FAT or SLIM (SCPH-7500X or higher) console?
    I'm asking because FAT consoles and SCPH-700XX are usually more picky when it comes to read USB HDD.
    If it is Kingston USB HDD... change it.

    Try this:
    • Power on your console
    • Launch OPL
    • Insert USB HDD
    • Now launch game
    What version of FMCB have you got?
    I hope it is not 1.95.
    If it is update it into 1.966 from 13\04\2019:
    https://www.psx-place.com/resources/free-memory-card-boot-fmcb-free-harddisk-drive-boot-fhdb.712/.
    Here is latest Noobie package:
    https://www.psx-place.com/resources/fmcb-fhdb-noobie-package.721/.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2019
    TnA likes this.
  6. 6
    0
    5
    Thatliamsmith

    Thatliamsmith Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    I have changed gameid to uppercase but no difference.
    Im on a fat model number SCPH-30003
    im not using kingston im using a 320gb toshiba 3.0 usb drive. (also tried some smaller pendrives I have laying around)
    tried plugging in usb after launching OPL - no change
    My FMBC version is already 1.966

    any more ideas?
    Thanks again for all your help on this
     
  7. 1,341
    969
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    969
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    You mean all of your pendrives are getting stuck at orange debug color?

    You can try:
    • To format your USB HDD in windows (not through usb extreme) into FAT32?
      It should possible for 32 GB or less drive.
    • Copy only:
      SLUS_204.83.WWE Smackdown - Shut Your Mouth.ISO into DVD folder.
    If this doesn't help could you provide MD5 checksum of you ISO images?
    E.g. WWE Smackdown - Shut Your Mouth: "748c5b60c70b36c52df144cef5b8549a".

    Here is how to check MD5 checksum:
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/how-to-check-game-md5-checksum.19277/.
     
    TnA likes this.
  8. 6
    0
    5
    Thatliamsmith

    Thatliamsmith Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    I couldnt format the drive to fat32 in windows as its 320 gig but was able to format it using a partition management software I have.
    I checked the MD5 and they match
    [​IMG]

    Now when I load the game it flashes the colors, sticks on orange longest then goes black, Ive left it but its been stuck on black for over 5 minutes now so guessing frozen.
     
  9. 1,341
    969
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    969
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    What about pendrives, do you have got something smaller (e.g. 16 GB)?
    [​IMG]

    Maybe power supply from USB ports for USB HDD is not sufficient.
    I mean I've problems e.g. with some external USB HDD.

    Sometimes additional power from cable help, sometimes not.
    I mean cable with 2 USB port, one for communication, second for additional power:
    [​IMG]
     
    TnA likes this.
  10. 6
    0
    5
    Thatliamsmith

    Thatliamsmith Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    OK so i tried a smaller usb (4gb) as seen below

    i formatted it in windows and added my smackdown shut your mouth iso to the dvd folder and at last some progress.

    it stayed on a loading screen for a few minutes with flashdrive light flickering so i knew it was loading

    however! when it loaded the next screen (a video of a logo) ir froze and the usb light was solid..

    and then
    i was reading through this forum and read that "safe mode" is to have mode 2 and 6 enabled and....

    it finally worked!

    thank you so much for all your assistance I am so happy right now
     
  11. 1,341
    969
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    969
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    Mostly modes 3+6 are helpful.

    Anyway I've totally forgot about compatibility modes...
    However when OPL is getting stuck at some debug color problem is different.

    Gladly you've sorted this out, so enjoy your game.

    Best regards.
     
    Tupakaveli and TnA like this.
  12. 11,652
    4,527
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11,652
    Likes Received:
    4,527
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I don't know if this would be any help, especially after you fixed it, but the wrong allocation size can cause weird things to happen. for example, I have 128GB micro sd card for my new 3ds xl. it's right at the cusp between using 32KBs or 64KBs. generally, 32KBs for lots of small files; 64 for big ones. anyway, it was set at 32KBs. however, I encountered a weird problem with gba vc injects (backed up my entire gba collection and saves using the ds). what would happen is the top of the screen would be cut off only to appear at the bottom of the screen. switching to 64KBs fixed the problem. I don't think anyone knows why this happens.
     
    Algol likes this.
  13. 1,341
    969
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    969
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    You mean cluster size?

    Theoretically best performance in OPL should give 64 KB.
    However long time ago:
    http://psx-scene.com/forums/f150/[usb]-opl-without-need-defragment-133407/#post1174257.

    It was as I wrote long time ago, especially it was prototype version that was eventually dropped.
    OPL USB driver has got some improvements ~6-12 mounts ago...
    Currently I do not remember is there any speed difference between 4, 8, 16, 32 KB in OPL.
    So lets assume that 32 KB should give best.
    Unfortunately lots of small size files can take extra space with it...
     
    pinky likes this.
  14. 11,652
    4,527
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11,652
    Likes Received:
    4,527
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    yes
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2019
  15. 691
    1,195
    222
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1,195
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    Cluster size does not matter to OPL, other than in the UI. It does not involve the filesystem, in-game.

    The default FAT32 cluster size for large disks is 32KB. Not all software support 64KB clusters, not even all Microsoft OSes.
     
    jolek likes this.
  16. 11,652
    4,527
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11,652
    Likes Received:
    4,527
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    not sure why it works that way with the new 3ds. 128GBs is at the cusp between 32KBs and 64KBs. they suggest 64KBs beyond that size due to home menu sluggishness. according to Nintendo's website, they recommend no larger than 32GB sd cards when it comes to compatibility with the 3ds, but who's gonna follow that recommendation??

    the ps4 also does something like this. a 2TB hdd can be either mbr or gpt. it's the max for mbr in fact. however, in mbr, the system cannot read packages when you try to install them from the drive. it has to be gpt. I found that out by accident. maybe it was a choice sony had to make or something, dunno.
     

Share This Page