How to convert PS2 isos into the PKG format

Discussion in 'PS3 Jailbreak CFW and PS3HEN' started by Emeralda, Aug 5, 2019.

  1. 22
    8
    7
    Emeralda

    Emeralda Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Is there a way to do that to where they play just like any other downloaded game on the PS3?
     
  2. 11,169
    4,297
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11,169
    Likes Received:
    4,297
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    if on cfw, yes, you can play the iso; if on hen, it must be a ps2 classic.
     
    Algol likes this.
  3. 22
    8
    7
    Emeralda

    Emeralda Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    How do I play the iso exactly? Also, does compatibility change if I have a backwards compatible PS3? I ask because I heard some games won't work on PS3.
     
  4. 11,169
    4,297
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11,169
    Likes Received:
    4,297
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    the iso needs to be in a folder named PS2ISO on the root of the internal hdd. refresh games' list afterwards to get it to appear.
     
  5. 59
    7
    12
    Xploiting

    Xploiting Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    @pinky not sure if this is the right place for this post but it kind of follows on from creating PKG files from my PS2 disc...
    Ive created the PKG files and installed them, 99% of them have worked fine but there is the odd one that have not installed the game cover that I selected when doing the work on PS2classic _GUI has not appeared on the XMB and i just have the place holder image.
    Now I'm wondering if I can swap out the ICON0.PNG with a jpeg of the cover art (providing I convert the .jpeg to .png) and just do a database rebuild??
     
  6. 7,522
    5,574
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,522
    Likes Received:
    5,574
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    Yes, you can
     
    Xploiting likes this.
  7. 59
    7
    12
    Xploiting

    Xploiting Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks @kozarovv ... does it not matter that the file size seems much larger when I convert a jpeg?
     
  8. 7,522
    5,574
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,522
    Likes Received:
    5,574
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    No, is ok
     
    Xploiting likes this.
  9. 59
    7
    12
    Xploiting

    Xploiting Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    So I have just swapped one over can now instead of having the ps2 placement logo I just have a spinning symbol, like its trying to load the new image but cant. I have done a database rebuild. Do you have any ideas?
     
  10. 7,522
    5,574
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,522
    Likes Received:
    5,574
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    File need to have name (case sensitive) ICON0.PNG not sure about other requirements. Probably others can help here better.
     

Share This Page