How to use "Debug Update" - (Tutorial by Pinky)

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Guides' started by STLcardsWS, Oct 8, 2014.

  1. 9,389
    9,788
    1,172
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9,389
    Likes Received:
    9,788
    Trophy Points:
    1,172


    How To Use Update Debug

    A Tutorial by Pinky


    "Here's my brief tutorial on using update debug (part of the qa flagging debug settings). In my opinion, this is the best method to upgrade/downgrade fw, because u can store up to 20 update pups on your hard drive for safe-keeping or to eliminate the hassle of requiring a specific file name (i.e. ps3updat.pup)."
    -Pinky

    STEPSUpdate Debug
    1
    We need to Install REBUG Toolbox in order to set the QA Flag Token (debug menu type = qa).
    2
    Now, go over to the System Settings tier of xmb, Scroll down to Debug Settings, and enable Update debug.
    3
    Enter multiMAN and open the mmOS-File Manager within multiMAN.
    4
    On the root of your hard drive (dev_hdd0), create a folder named "updater"
    5
    Within the updater folder, create folders 01.
    6
    Within each of those folders, drop a ps3updat.pup file. However, instead of using the ps3updat.pup name, u can name the update file to anything (i.e. REBUG REX 4.46.1), and the .pup extension isn't required.
    7
    In order to upgrade/downgrade, go over to system update within xmb, and update via system storage. You will be presented with a list of all update files that are on your hard drive along with whatever names u had previously selected for them.
    Disclaimer:I am not responsible for any damage you may cause to your ps3. Just follow the instructions, and you’ll be fine


     
  2. 5
    0
    0
    Shaitan

    Shaitan

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [MENTION=2]STLcardsWS[/MENTION] the step for "create folders 01, 02, 03" is redundant now, you can just put all the update files in the 01 folder.
     
  3. 9,389
    9,788
    1,172
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9,389
    Likes Received:
    9,788
    Trophy Points:
    1,172
    fixed, Thanks
     
  4. 5,910
    2,942
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,910
    Likes Received:
    2,942
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:

    OK that's awesome!!! Never knew this, when did this become and option? And are we limited to 20 PUP files still?
     
  5. 5
    0
    0
    Shaitan

    Shaitan

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Someone(I can't for the life of me remember who it was) over at psxscene mentioned it in a conversion a few months back. I was going to update the tut but I forgot about it, and now I can't edit it anyway. Unfortunately the 20 PUP limitation is still there though.
     
  6. 432
    139
    72
    Zwei

    Zwei Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    72
    awesome...
     
  7. 12,859
    5,148
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,859
    Likes Received:
    5,148
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    thank u. I didn't realize the above about only one folder, so I might need to make that change. it does make switching firmware very fast. I was friends with Shaitan, but not much anymore after some things happened. it's time to go towards the vita with a master list of tutorials based on [MENTION=7]atreyu187[/MENTION] 's work.

    edit: we, atreyu187 and myself will create a master list once all tutorials r done. he's far more an expert about the vita than I am, but I'll compile everything once he's ready.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2015
  8. 5,910
    2,942
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,910
    Likes Received:
    2,942
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    I just have been lucky with the Vita. BTW loving the new Floyd avatar!!
     
  9. 388
    57
    57
    psydefx

    psydefx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    sUT
    so this is just for rebug cfw?
     
  10. 800
    240
    72
    No0bZiLLa

    No0bZiLLa Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    72
    no 10 chars
     
  11. 30
    9
    12
    williams1978

    williams1978 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Hello, I have a question that has to do with the debug update. So I followed the tutorial and have actually done this before and had it working, my problem now is the option to update from system storage is not there anymore just from storage media and via internet. When I select update from storage media it just scans and doesn't find any firmware. I'm on Rebug 4.81.2 Rex. Anyway anyone know how to fix this?
     
  12. 7,853
    6,572
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,853
    Likes Received:
    6,572
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    What kind of storage media are you using when you try the standard system update feature on xmb?
    You should use a fat32 USB key without specially crafted partition by the manufacturer. Don't use a fancy usb storage device or an external hdd...
    And make sure the path to the pup file is all in caps letter. (X:\PS3\UPDATE\PS3UPDAT.PUP).
    If it still does not work, try another USB key...

    As to debug update, and I assume here that you followed all the right setup steps, have you checked that QA is properly enabled? You could try disabling QA then reenabling it within the Toolbox.
     
  13. 30
    9
    12
    williams1978

    williams1978 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    12
    I should have made my post a little clearer, update from usb works fine, I'm just saying that now that I have all my firmware on the hard drive (dev_hdd0/updater) there is no option to update from the systems storage (internal drive) just options for updating from the internet and from storage media of some sort. So when I choose update from storage media, because I don't want to update from the internet lol, it scans and does not find the firmware that is on the internal drive. I don't have the usb stick plugged in as I'm trying to do the debug update to go back to 3.55 to try and fix some bluray problems.
     
  14. 12,859
    5,148
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,859
    Likes Received:
    5,148
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    u need to enable update debug in debug settings. it's a part of qa flagging (cex) debug options. make sure that's enabled in rebug toolbox.
     
  15. 7,853
    6,572
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,853
    Likes Received:
    6,572
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    If you use the storage media option it will scan your USB ports so of course it will not find the pup on /dev_hdd0.
    To get the install from internal hdd option, all you require is QA enabled, the corresponding Debug option enabled & the pup files in numbered folders like so:
    /dev_hdd0/updater/01/whatevername.pup.
     
  16. 12,859
    5,148
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,859
    Likes Received:
    5,148
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    also, u can have all update pups (max is 20) in one folder as well. iirc, update debug was introduced in firmware 3.50. at that time, the max was only 10 pups. it was augmented to 20 at some point, but I forgot the firmware version when that happened.
     
    williams1978 likes this.
  17. 30
    9
    12
    williams1978

    williams1978 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Ok I don't know how to make this any clearer but I have done all this, debug update is enabled, qa flag is set in rebug toolbox, cex qa xmb is selected. Firmware is at dev_hdd0/updater/01, I had them all in separate numbered folders at first but the first couple post say you don't need to do it this way anymore that you can put them all in the 01 folder. I know that selecting update storage media just scans the usb connections but since update from system storage IS NOT THERE, I figured I would try it at least. My questions were why is Update from system storage not there, has anyone ran into this problem before, and any clue on how to fix it?
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2017
  18. 12,859
    5,148
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,859
    Likes Received:
    5,148
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    yeah, I believe separate folders isn't needed. I have mine separated though since I didn't know that when I started using update debug. update debug isn't specifically for rebug either. as long as u can set the qa token, u should be able to use update debug. I was using it on kmeaw I believe before switching to rebug way back when. anyway, I'm not sure what ur issue could be. it's pretty straight-forward, so if u've done everything correctly, it should allow installing an update via system storage.
     
    williams1978 likes this.
  19. 8,288
    9,408
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    9,408
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Did you try bguervilles suggestion of disabling QA flag and then re enabling it (in Rebug toolbox), reboot in between changes to be sure.
     
    williams1978 likes this.
  20. 137
    94
    57
    catalinnc

    catalinnc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    57
    also try to fix permissions for the "updater" folder...
    _
     
    williams1978 likes this.

Share This Page