PS3 In-Game System Monitor OSD

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by Twiztid, Jan 6, 2018.

  1. 6
    2
    7
    Twiztid

    Twiztid Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    None
    Location:
    USA
    Is there a way to get an OSD of CPU/GPU temp, fan speed, etc?
    I already know of Select+Start while on XMB but I'd like to know if there is one as an OSD notification or something for when I'm playing a game.
    Thanks.
     
  2. 13,027
    5,220
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    13,027
    Likes Received:
    5,220
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    there may be something like that whenever you press the playstation button or when you hold it down like you're going to power off the console. with the 360, it's the latter. you can see in game temps that way. not fan speed I believe. I suspect the same is true of the ps3, assuming that it exists as of right now. I seem to remember it though.
     
  3. 6
    2
    7
    Twiztid

    Twiztid Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    None
    Location:
    USA
    With PS2 Software Emulation when I press PS button I can see CELL and RSX temps, but that pauses the game and all.
    Is the On Screen Display an additional setting I'm missing somewhere? Or is that not implemented? If so, where do I go to request such a feature?
     
  4. 13,027
    5,220
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    13,027
    Likes Received:
    5,220
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    oh, I thought you meant any display for the temps. I'm not aware of such an option. @3141card 's did the ps2 in games temperature modification. you might ask him. I'm thinking the ps3 may not be capable of it.
     
  5. 6
    2
    7
    Twiztid

    Twiztid Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    None
    Location:
    USA
    Ah okay. Thanks for the answer. I guess I'll pass it to them in time, if the PS3 and CFW is capable.
     
  6. 138
    202
    97
    3141card

    3141card Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Location:
    Germany
    Sure that's possible in any way..., but only with further RE and tests.
    However, I'm busy with other things, no time for PS3 stuff ATM.
     
  7. 6
    2
    7
    Twiztid

    Twiztid Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    None
    Location:
    USA
    That's fine, this stuff is done on people's free time after all. Thanks for responding. :)
     
  8. 13,027
    5,220
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    13,027
    Likes Received:
    5,220
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I stand corrected. I thought it was a limitation of the ps3.

    op, I also wasn't sure that you meant ps2 games until after the initial post.
     
  9. 7,508
    6,996
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,508
    Likes Received:
    6,996
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Just brainstorming...
    For "PS3 ingame" enviroment first is needed to see how many "screen bufers" there are available, the game uses one of course, then there must be other for the "XMB ingame", and maybe other for the notifications (or not because maybe notifications shares the "xmb ingame" layer)

    What im wondering is if using something like this could create lag, because the notifications when you are playing and unlocks a trophy sometimes makes the game to lag (specially annoying in racing games), but i guess is because they are doing other tasks additionally to triggering the notification advise
    And the "XMB ingame" itself is laggy in concept, but again maybe this is because is overloaded of icons (to try to keep the same visual style than main XMB) + the database accesses it does to load the installed content + displaying icons of that contents
    So maybe the "XMB ingame" layer but without all that interface could be used while playing
     
    Twiztid likes this.
  10. 138
    202
    97
    3141card

    3141card Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Location:
    Germany
    My response referred to the ps2_netemu. PS3 games(lv2 processes) is something completely different,
    and goes in this direction:
    http://www.psx-place.com/threads/ps3-in-game-menu.3058/

    EDIT:
    I see my linked stuff in this thread is down, I reupload it, if I can found it...

    EDIT:
    I think it was this here, a way to get the current displayed frambuffer of a game from a vsh plugin and blit in something by write to game process memory(from vsh process).
    https://mega.nz/#!GFcDDSbT!4LhWgMHUfEsiRDg76uHTAVzvRQuBIz7ODbqHKMtkzfU
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2018
    MixeryMaxe, Twiztid and pinky like this.
  11. 13,027
    5,220
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    13,027
    Likes Received:
    5,220
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    @3141card , that's actually what I figured. in the op, it doesn't mention ps2 games specifically. I was thinking back to how the 360 does things which is how I sometimes come up with ideas for the ps3 or determine if something may or may not be possible. afaik, the 360 doesn't have this feature, so I figured that it might be impossible.
     
    3141card likes this.

Share This Page