PS3 Install PKG Directly from NTFS External HDD CFW/HEN

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Guides' started by Louay, Oct 2, 2019.

  1. 1,530
    956
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    Direct PKG Installation of from NTFS external Hard Drive without the need to copy to the internal hard disk btw this tutorial i made for my friends in Tunisia 2 month ago :)
    1st Method
    Advantage:
    • During installation if by mistake the hard disk is disconnected or accidentally some one hits or move the hdd a little the installation does not display an error and does not stop instead the installation like pauses and continues when you reconnect the hard drive the second time
    Disadvantage:
    • You can install just one pkg manully (no Install All Packges ) with this method
    2nd Method
    Advantage :
    • During installation if by mistake the hard disk is disconnected or accidentally some one hits or move the hdd a little the installation does not display an error and does not stop instead the installation like pauses and continues when you reconnect the hard drive the second time
    • You can just with one click on X and the ps3 installs pkg after another (when the installation of a pkg ends the ps3 automatically starts to install the next pkg)
    Disadvantage :
    • ISO Creation takes time depending on size of your PKGs
    !!! Do not forget that the ISO file name or folder are without quotation marks !!!

    Follow these steps and All will be well :eagerness:

    See those videos for now i will redo english ones soon:)



     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2019
  2. 7,077
    8,400
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7,077
    Likes Received:
    8,400
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    Cool. I was thinking about something like this the other day.:) You could also make a PS3 EXTRA ISO if you wanted a nice menu too.

    Kind of related: If we could format our Hdds like massive bluray discs and get the ps3 to read them using their native filesystem I wonder would that get us around the 2TB limitation? :)
     
    T.A.U, Kier_1234657 and Louay like this.
  3. 1,530
    956
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    maybe why not but i think we need to have/to do a lot of research and testin stuffs day and night héhéhé :beguiled:
     
  4. 10
    3
    7
    Sam4444

    Sam4444 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    but how did you get the ( PS3_GAME ) folder inside you (Tout Package en Seul) ?

    i have every thing just dont have that folder ( or any game folder could help ?)
     
  5. 1,530
    956
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    I just create that folder empty and get files from any game only eboot.bin is needed inside USRDIR
     
  6. 35
    2
    7
    toybro

    toybro Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Gdansk/Poland
    O my PS3 1 method not work, i restart 5 times the console, but not work, webman not see this,
     
  7. 1,530
    956
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    it works for me anyway try second one
     
  8. 35
    2
    7
    toybro

    toybro Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Gdansk/Poland
    Okay, just prepNTFS from brewology not working correct, and not see. After install from mega, work perfectly
     
  9. 12,141
    4,905
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,141
    Likes Received:
    4,905
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    the only file needed for a pkg is the PARAM.SFO. you don't even need the USRDIR. it will error on the pc (more of a warning), but it will create the pkg. if you extract a full pkg on the computer, then transfer over, you just need the PARAM.SFO pkg for it to appear and to work. if you're using ps3tools on a C00 folder, you need both PARAM.SFO, but the one in the C00 folder is the only one that will be read when it's unlocked, so if you alphabetize like me, modify that one.

    edit: the USRDIR isn't mentioned in the metadata file from what I remember. it will have the location of the game to the PARAM.SFO folder (i.e. dev_hdd0/game/NPUB00000). I think it's referred to as a common folder, so it's searched for by default or possibly due to the category.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2019
  10. 1,530
    956
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    thats good :)

    aldo told me that months ago he tell me to just maintain the format of original disc thats why i let those folder there
     
  11. 12,141
    4,905
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,141
    Likes Received:
    4,905
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    you can mass do this with robocopy and the /E command. it will create the directory structure, and you're free to transfer over only files you want with * indicating to copy all files that fit that description. I used the command with hakchi, because it has .png and small.png images when I was resizing. I just copied over small.png, then the action command in photoshop. then, I deleted the original files and did .png. it was a lot of work to get just the right image.
     
  12. 1,530
    956
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    i think this post you meant to publish it in another thread héhéhé ,am i wrong ?
     
  13. 12,141
    4,905
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,141
    Likes Received:
    4,905
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    no, I mean that you can mass move all of those files if you have a lot of games. it might take longer picking those files specifically from a package. the computer will do all the work for you.
     
  14. 1,530
    956
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    no i have already a lot of games and any one can pick a random game and take ICON0,PARAM.SFO ,USRDIR Folder along with eboot.bin

    i didn't try without this folder but i think it works as eboo.bin is necesarry to execute the game and we don't wont the game only to mount game folder that have pkg within it
     
  15. 12,141
    4,905
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,141
    Likes Received:
    4,905
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    yes, you need the eboot, but the installation only cares about the PARAM.SFO. I don't remember the eboot even being mentioned in the metadata file. it's like this: upload_2019-10-5_19-5-54.png

    that's a c00 game which needs two PARAM.SFO. the c00 folder only contains that file. it's what will be read once unlocked, but the original PARAM.SFO will still remain. normal, non-c00 games, will only have the PARAM.SFO and PS3LOGO.DAT as part of the package. and, every pkg is only 100IKBs.
     
  16. 1,530
    956
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    Yeah i see it now :)
     
    pinky likes this.
  17. 12,141
    4,905
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,141
    Likes Received:
    4,905
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    btw, off topic, but I found two PARAM.SFOs whose titles cannot be changed with the editor. it has to be hex edited (very carefully). the games are final fantasy xiii-2 and lightning returns: ffxiii. we have success. no downloadable in the name, and the games boot. :D
     
  18. 1,530
    956
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    héhéhé no problem man
     
    pinky likes this.
  19. 10
    3
    7
    Sam4444

    Sam4444 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    @Louay

    man you are really amazing
    everything went perfect for me

    i had some difficulties - but finally i install 45 games including PSX games also ,, and everything is ok :)

    they took about 20 hours to install all 45 game ,,but imagine how much time i needed if i was gonna install them manually :P 3 months maybe lol
     
    Louay likes this.
  20. 28
    18
    57
    iesus gamer

    iesus gamer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Very good companions and been testing method 1 and remove many shortcuts for installation of pkg also say that I have done a tuto and I will upload it to my channel today I hope that the one who sees the tuto will work is in Spanish when I have it uploaded I will leave a link for those who are Spanish or Latino to see it, without a big hello and a great contribution.
     
    Louay likes this.

Share This Page