Installing large .pkg games

Discussion in 'CFW Tools' started by scampo, May 16, 2019.

  1. 42
    1
    7
    scampo

    scampo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2019
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Driver
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    I can get the game onto the console and I can "see" the .pkg file in multiman and the XMB package installer, but when I go to install it just says "please wait".... then nothing. I have noticed that the limit is about 1GB. some of these .pkg games are 30GB!!! and I have found 15 games that are worth while installing.
     
  2. 10,455
    4,067
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    10,455
    Likes Received:
    4,067
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    ethernet
     
  3. 42
    1
    7
    scampo

    scampo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2019
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Driver
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    can anyone help me with this? these .pkg games are on the console they just will not install from the package installer
     
  4. 1,903
    863
    197
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,903
    Likes Received:
    863
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    There is no size limit with pkgs.

    Try deleting the pkg file from the PS3 and then FTP it back or however you got them on. Something might have been corrupted during transfer.
     
  5. 42
    1
    7
    scampo

    scampo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2019
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Driver
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Thanks! I will give it a shot
     
  6. 42
    1
    7
    scampo

    scampo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2019
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Driver
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    with these large 20-30gb games the console or the pc would crash and leave me halfway through a transfer.

    does reactpsn work with the newsest 4.84? the PS3 goes to a black screen then just freezes.
     
  7. 2,941
    4,717
    372
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,941
    Likes Received:
    4,717
    Trophy Points:
    372
    You can copy the files to the folder /PKG in a NTFS drive, then use prepNTFS 1.17 or later to scan the content.
    You will find the packages listed in the BD and DVD section of webMAN MOD. Mount the fake iso with the pkg, then install it using Standard Location.
     
  8. 42
    1
    7
    scampo

    scampo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2019
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Driver
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    I can Install them just fine, but I'm left with "demo" and no license warning not letting me continue.

    Ordinarily I hold O for the "free" games and X for the games that need the .rap from the exdata on the USB drive. I have the aa user account set up, but reactpsn is not working since I updated to 4.84. I have uninstalled and reinstalled reactpsn twice but when I attempt to run it, it just goes to a black screen and freezes.
     
  9. 5,114
    2,360
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Wanna-BeTA Tester Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,114
    Likes Received:
    2,360
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MCU/Sony Enthusiast!
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Home Page:
    You have to have the .rap file in usb000:/exdata folder then run PSN Patch to install the rap files that you got with your PKG file. ReActPSN hasn't been updated in a long time and I find PSN Patch to work better especially if your doing multiple rap installs
     
  10. 158
    107
    72
    montcer

    montcer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    107
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Are you trying to install PS1/PS2 PKGs? If so, sometimes it will say just "please wait", and then you have to install the bubble in PSN CONTENT in PACKAGE MANAGER
     
  11. 42
    1
    7
    scampo

    scampo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2019
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Driver
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    I installed PSN patch and after it has installed I press X to start it and it also does the same thing.... Black screen.... Lockup..... Crash.

    Do I have to make the "aa" user account also with this program?

    Right now I have a FAT32 USB drive and the only thing on it is "exdata" that is filled with .rap files. I can see everything perfectly in multiman.

    I am installing 60 or so .PKG files that are from every spectrum of ps1/ps2/and everything in between.
     
  12. 42
    1
    7
    scampo

    scampo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2019
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Driver
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    I figured it out... I kept getting the error when I start the console to scan for file failure I also got a double beep every time the console shuts down. I finally accepted a scan and it only took 30 seconds and now I have no double beep and reactpsn started working again.

    It possibly has something to do with the fact that I just put 1.5 terabytes onto the disk over the last month. I guess it got jumbled up
     

Share This Page