Is it normal for a 64gb ps vita memory card to only show 57gb?

Discussion in 'Help & Support' started by faith genesis raven, Sep 7, 2016.

  1. 176
    33
    57
    faith genesis raven

    faith genesis raven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    57
    honestly it probably would not have bothered me but i saw a thread on gbatemp complaining about missing gb before my card arrived then when i went into system information it shows 57gb...

    and i looked online and multiple places say its meant to show 60gb in settings

    but is this not normal because from what i read its meant to be 59.6gb or something right?
     
  2. 1,415
    967
    222
    nCadeRegal

    nCadeRegal Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    967
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Yea as a rule of thumb from my past experiences every 30 gigs uses about 2 gigs for system Data. Have you tried to reformat using the vita, or a pc pergaps and see if you get different results?
     
  3. 5,902
    2,930
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,902
    Likes Received:
    2,930
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    Just looked at mine I have 59gb
     
  4. 9,040
    9,244
    1,172
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9,040
    Likes Received:
    9,244
    Trophy Points:
    1,172
    HDD/memory card and any storage device should be advertised as what YOU can actually store on it..
     
    UniqueUserName and atreyu187 like this.
  5. 5,902
    2,930
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,902
    Likes Received:
    2,930
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    Just checked another one states 60gb but agreed if it says 1tb you should have access to 1tb
     
    UniqueUserName likes this.
  6. 1,258
    1,173
    397
    UniqueUserName

    UniqueUserName R.I.P.

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    1,173
    Trophy Points:
    397
    Occupation:
    AAA
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Home Page:
    Agreed!
    The last 1TB drive I put in my PS2 only could access 931.51GB...
    (which is basically a 4.2GB-per-60GB storage loss, essentially losing double what atreyu is experiencing :eek: smh)

    They get away with it because every 1,024 bytes equals 1 GB... ugh :( and then system files taking up space on top of that *feeling cheated over here*
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2016
    atreyu187 likes this.
  7. 176
    33
    57
    faith genesis raven

    faith genesis raven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    57
    What Im concerned about is that multiple people have said 60gb its meant to show where some people only getting 57gb for whatever reason

    I have formatted etc... even tried restoring no luck still shows as 57gb
    it is sadly normal for stuff to shows less but this is even more less than normal

    It was an import but i had no other choice no stores near me had anything bigger than a 4gb card
    model is PCH-Z641 G which seems to standard now since they are so rare big memory cards
     
  8. 5,902
    2,930
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,902
    Likes Received:
    2,930
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    OK I had tine to look at all three of mine. And all three give different capacity. 58,59 & 60gb. Never would have noticed if not for this thread. I really wish Sony would allow both the internal and external storage to Co exist.

    The 64gb cards seem to give a lot of people trouble. Which at $100 USD for 64gb is insane. They should be high quality. Instead cheaply made with slow access times.
     
    UniqueUserName likes this.
  9. 364
    301
    122
    lord3490

    lord3490 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT support
    Location:
    //127.0.0.1/dev_hdd0/home
    It should at least be 59,6 GB:
    64,000,000,000b = 64 GB but only 59,GiB
    64,000,000,000 / 1024 = 62,500,000 k
    62,500,000 k / 1024 = 61,035m
    61,035m / 1024 = 59,6 G

    My 5tb HDD only shows 4.5, but its 5,000,000,000,000 bytes ;)

    There's also the terms gibibyte, mebibyte, ... To be able to tell the difference, but i never really use that. So 1k could alwas refer to 1000 or 1024 ;)

    Edit: just realized i used gibibyte in the 2. line in this post :bandicoot:
     
  10. 1,258
    1,173
    397
    UniqueUserName

    UniqueUserName R.I.P.

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    1,173
    Trophy Points:
    397
    Occupation:
    AAA
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Home Page:
    @faith genesis raven
    Maybe it comes down to format techniques?
    Is everyone reporting these numbers using the same exact method?

    @atreyu187
    This is kinda great news for the OP possibly, since you seem to have everything you need to figure out what the difference is already. :D
    Did you format all three differently for example?
    Are they the same model cards?
    Imports, etc.?
    ...and so on...
     
  11. 5,902
    2,930
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,902
    Likes Received:
    2,930
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    Two are Asian one is Japanese. I will test more once I get home. I am on my way into work and trying to find out why Vitamin doesn't detect the update on Silent Hill but does every other game.
     
    UniqueUserName likes this.
  12. 176
    33
    57
    faith genesis raven

    faith genesis raven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Who knows but this is a weird thing indeed
    there is only one way to format a ps vita memory card through the console itself if not mistaken
    so it may be down to which version jap korean hk etc...
     
    UniqueUserName likes this.
  13. 1,258
    1,173
    397
    UniqueUserName

    UniqueUserName R.I.P.

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    1,173
    Trophy Points:
    397
    Occupation:
    AAA
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Home Page:
    If there is indeed only one way to format, it is looking like we already have an answer to this :) ;)

    Only other thing I can think of is different model vitas possibly have a different formatting system in place, or more/less system data to store, etc.
    Unless different firmwares affect it of course.

    I guess the only way to be sure of some of that, is simply formatting the same mem card on different vita models/firmware to compare results.
     
  14. 7,621
    5,792
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,621
    Likes Received:
    5,792
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:

    Do you have "box" from that card? I'm interested in EAN/UPC code.

    4948872413596

    or

    4905524941890
     
  15. 176
    33
    57
    faith genesis raven

    faith genesis raven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    57
    it's: 4905524941890
     
  16. 7,621
    5,792
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,621
    Likes Received:
    5,792
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2016
    atreyu187 and UniqueUserName like this.
  17. 5,902
    2,930
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,902
    Likes Received:
    2,930
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    I'll grab my model numbers when I get home.
     
    kozarovv likes this.
  18. 118
    34
    57
    Fuzion9

    Fuzion9 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    57
    It's absolute robbery the prices sony charge for these cards.
     
    atreyu187, pinky and UniqueUserName like this.
  19. 176
    33
    57
    faith genesis raven

    faith genesis raven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Indeed but they have been selling like hotcakes recently
    With stuff like retroarch vitamin and of course probably much more in the future

    and with it becoming more and more difficult to find a good source of them with the increase of interest in them

    i did not have many other options of getting a 64gb card in the UK

    and its a shame if there are versions which are not up to standard
    but as long as it works thats the main thing
     
    Fuzion9 likes this.
  20. 12,236
    4,936
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,236
    Likes Received:
    4,936
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    indeed. I had to sell blood 'til I was white as a ghost just to buy mine...and that was only a 16GB card! imagine if I had tried to buy a 64GB card. I'd have been carried out in a stretcher!
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2016

Share This Page