PS3 is my ps3 broken forever ???

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by bouali1903, May 9, 2020.

  1. 17
    1
    7
    bouali1903

    bouali1903 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    hello everybody, while i tried to apply the cell cpu eraser fix to avoid deliding i broke two or three of the little transistors that are on the back of the cpu. they literally fell off. the console is still running but there is a horrible slowdown & frame-loss while playing games. so the question is : can i take it to a repair store ? can these transistors be replaced or they are very hard to install ???
     
  2. 1,227
    784
    222
    Fin9ersMcGee

    Fin9ersMcGee Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    784
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Occupation:
    Musician
    Location:
    UK
    Oooff... Bad luck.
    Im not a hardware guru but it doesn't sound good. It may be possible to solder those parts back on, it might not. All depends where your from and price vs price of another ps3 (unless your saves really mean alot to you).

    Where I'm from, it's very cheap to buy used ps3. I pick them up regularly for £25 and as low as £5 sometimes.
     
    bouali1903 likes this.
  3. 17
    1
    7
    bouali1903

    bouali1903 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
  4. 992
    395
    97
    Coro

    Coro Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2019
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    395
    Trophy Points:
    97
    a picture of the damage might help if you take it apart again.
     
    Fin9ersMcGee and bouali1903 like this.
  5. 17
    1
    7
    bouali1903

    bouali1903 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    i'm really i'm unable to re-open it right now but the issue is that some of those little pieces in the red square literally felt off of their places. thet are very very small so i'm wondering if they can be replaced ??
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 23, 2020
  6. 1,227
    784
    222
    Fin9ersMcGee

    Fin9ersMcGee Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    784
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Occupation:
    Musician
    Location:
    UK
    So, something like this has happened:
    20200523_125444.jpg
     
    bouali1903 likes this.
  7. 17
    1
    7
    bouali1903

    bouali1903 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
  8. 1,227
    784
    222
    Fin9ersMcGee

    Fin9ersMcGee Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    784
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Occupation:
    Musician
    Location:
    UK
    Well, I refer back to my previous post. It may be possible, but it will be very hard and likely very expensive if you take to a repair shop.
    CPU transistors are tiny components and removing the chip to repair will require a reball station to heat up and remove the solder. It's honestly going to be one heck of a job
     
    bouali1903 likes this.
  9. 7,557
    7,034
    797
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,557
    Likes Received:
    7,034
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    The details are very important, without a photo of the real damage is hard to tell, but incase it looks like in the photo posted by mr. fingers is not so hard because it can be made with a solder iron and a multimeter
    Is just the solder iron needs to have a very tiny tip (of 0.5 milimeters or so) and the tip needs to be new or close to new (otherway when the tip has been used a lot the original 0.5 milimeters are really 1.5 milimeter)

    Is just amatter of solering it and use the multimeter to check if there is some shorcut (most probably there is going to be some)... so you need to try to solder it again (and while doing most probably you are going to create another shorcut in another pint)... and so on... and so on...

    Eventually the multimeter is going to tell there are no shorcuts... and thats where you need to pray and turn ON the PS3 to see if it works normally, lol
     
    bouali1903 likes this.
  10. 1,227
    784
    222
    Fin9ersMcGee

    Fin9ersMcGee Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    784
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Occupation:
    Musician
    Location:
    UK
    You must have incredibly steady hands and precision eyesight to think that's not hard lol.

    My solders skills are not amazing by any means though. So I can't say anything really
     
    bouali1903 likes this.
  11. 7,557
    7,034
    797
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,557
    Likes Received:
    7,034
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    The equipment plays an important rol, i have a solder iron that is "pencil type" and allows to use tips of 0.5mm (but that tips are very expensive and wears out fast though)
    Also the experience is about using tricks, for precission you need to keep your wrists touching the circuit board... you know... instead of having the arm "on the air" completly you need to "stabilize" your hand as most as posible
    Sometimes i use 3 fingers of the right hand to hold the solder iron... and the other 2 fingers touching the circuit board like 2 columns trying to stabilize the hand, lol, is not a strict rule, but when you realize about this tricks it happens naturally (and you will find yourself doing weird postures with your hands, lol)

    This 2 things increases precission a lot... good equipment, and knowing a couple of tricks... the other ingredient of the recipe is skills, but the others are playing a bigger rol really
     
    bouali1903 and Fin9ersMcGee like this.
  12. 7,557
    7,034
    797
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,557
    Likes Received:
    7,034
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Actually, im thinking that you, being a bass player are very used to this concept. Is a bit like in a electric guitar... 2 fingers to grab the pick (3 for the solder iron), and the other fingers as "stabilizers" :)
    And additionally, you can touch the guitar with the wrist to create a third "stabilizer"

    So this gives you 3 points of contact with the surface... like in geometry, a plane is defined by 3 points :)
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2020
    bouali1903 and snkplkn like this.
  13. 1,227
    784
    222
    Fin9ersMcGee

    Fin9ersMcGee Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    784
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Occupation:
    Musician
    Location:
    UK
    I understand, I use my thumb as anchor/stabilizer on pickup and use my 1st and 2nd "fin9ers" to pluck
     
    bouali1903 likes this.
  14. 17
    1
    7
    bouali1903

    bouali1903 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    thanks for all the replies, my ps3 is still not taken to any repair store at the moment. my question is that if in case the transistors can't be repaired, can the whole cpu be replaced by another cpu taken from some other ps3 with same model (CHECH04) ???
    my ps3 is still working with no problems in xmb mode (in case the repairer needed to dump/flash the NAND, sign some files or things like this.)
     
  15. 1,632
    1,060
    297
    nCadeRegal

    nCadeRegal Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,632
    Likes Received:
    1,060
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    I would recommend to get the eid root key. That way if the console decides it is done you can still recover all of the data you have on the ps3. Next things would be saves, idps, and anything else important, but once you have the root key you can get saves from a pc. Just dont let windows initialize the disk. No you cannot change the entire chip from another ps3, it is paired with other chips on the board.
     
    bouali1903 likes this.
  16. 7,557
    7,034
    797
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,557
    Likes Received:
    7,034
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Good point, you should dump the eid root key now that is working, or even better you should make a copy of the worthy personal files from dev_hdd0 just incase

    The CPU cant be replaced alone because is paired with syscon chip, so both comes together
    Additionally there is some data inside flash chip that is also paired with the CPU, incase of doing the CELL + SYSCON transplant you could copy the contents of the "donor" flash chip to your flash chip
    To simplify things, what most people does is to replace CELL + SYSCON + FLASH
    So.. in your case is really worthy to try to fix CELL, because the alternative is a pita

    ------------
    Btw, that component is named an "array" and is composed of 4 components separated internally, is either a "resitor array", a "capacitor array" or a "diode array"
    I guess is a "capacitor array" but im not sure
     

Share This Page