Is there a way to run apps from the "game" folder?

Discussion in 'multiMAN' started by TheArcuzHunter, Jan 28, 2019.

  1. 126
    7
    52
    TheArcuzHunter

    TheArcuzHunter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    I recently checked and zaw that Far Cry 4 has to install on the console to be able to play, and which means it needs double the space to have both the disk files in "GAMES" and the installed files in "Game" folder, is there a way I can get rid of one or the other without having to waste double the space and just use one from the two to play? Thank you in advance!
     
    Ps3_dev likes this.
  2. 588
    263
    97
    kadorna2

    kadorna2 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    263
    Trophy Points:
    97
    No. You can however try to find the list of files the game installs to the hdd and delete them from the iso, might be worth a try
     
  3. 126
    7
    52
    TheArcuzHunter

    TheArcuzHunter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    Just reinstall them... Thanks anyway
     
  4. 2,848
    1,483
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,848
    Likes Received:
    1,483
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    These games that install data to the HDD install it for a reason, they need it to run. It doen't matter if your convert the game to a PSN type game for boot from the HDD it will still need the install data and still be the same size. FarCry 4 isn't that big.... KIllzone 3 is 42GB for the disc backup and then the install data on top of that.

    You can free up a bit of space however by deleting the PS3UPDAT.PUP in the "UPDATE" folder on the disc backup. frees up about 200MB per backup and is not needed as it's the minimum OFW version the game requires to run.
     
  5. 315
    113
    72
    Agoni212

    Agoni212 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    i don't understand you but i think what you're saying is that u installed Far cry 4 and u have Game Folder in it, if u are thinking this what i said, u can convert Game Folder to PKG!
     
  6. 2,848
    1,483
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,848
    Likes Received:
    1,483
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    No you don't understand from posting this......

    You remove the games installed data from "games" it will simply install it again. Whats converting to pkg going to do? when its a backup of retail disc in GAME so it will have install data. PSN games are all in one, game and install data in one and they run from just the games directory.

    EDIT: Think you mean convert the disc based game into a PSN Game which would all be in the game folder but would still take the same amount of HDD space up, good bonus of this is that it can be launched directly form the XMB.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2019
  7. 315
    113
    72
    Agoni212

    Agoni212 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Oh ok
     
  8. 126
    7
    52
    TheArcuzHunter

    TheArcuzHunter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    Well thanks to all of you for trying to help out! All I wanted is to save space
     

Share This Page