PS3 ManaGunZ HEN support (feedback needed)

Discussion in 'ManaGunz (fork)' started by sandungas, Apr 30, 2019.

  1. 5,001
    4,433
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    4,433
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    /!\███There is not official support to HEN in ManaGunZ v1.35███/!\
    The fact im creating this thread doesnt means that there will be HEN support in next ManaGunZ versions. @Zar have not said anything about it yet

    My goals creating this thread are two:
    -Helping zar to find which features of ManaGunZ v1.35 actually works in HEN, which ones are not working but could work in the future with some hack, and which ones are not going to work ever
    -Helping HEN users to "customize" ManaGunZ v1.35 a bit to make it a bit more "HEN friendly" in the meantime

    ------------
    In short... i think the HEN support in ManaGunZ needs to be implemented in several stages

    Stage 1
    The first thing needed to do is to add the check to identify the HEN firmwares, as explained in the HEN readme.txt
    Code:
    #define SYSCALL8_OPCODE_IS_HEN
    if return 0x1337 its hen
    
    Stage 2
    ManaGunZ have some features that are not going to work on HEN, so the first thing needed to do is to "disable" them based on that check
    Later (in medium or long term) it can be reconsidered if there is some way to re-enable them, but initially is needed to disable them because we dont want to allow the user to do thing that are not working, right ?... is not serious

    So thats the point we are now... we need (i mean everybody because this is confusing) a list of the ManaGunZ features that needs to be disabled

    --------------------------------------------------
    What i would like to suggest to HEN users is to create a custom "translation" file and replace the text strings used by the not-working functions by something like "DONT USE THIS"

    Ok, is dirty, but is easy, and at the same time you report in this thread the functions that doesnt works for you in HEN you can mention the text line that needs to be modifyed

    The translation files are this ones... are long, but is easy to find the text you see on screen :)
    https://github.com/Zarh/ManaGunZ/tree/master/pkgfiles/USRDIR/sys/loc
    If you are a HEN user and you like this idea, i think is better for all the HEN users to use english language temporally
    https://github.com/Zarh/ManaGunZ/blob/master/pkgfiles/USRDIR/sys/loc/EN.txt


    As example of a report... someone could mention to replace:
    Code:
    STR_EXT_GAME_DATA			{Ext. Game Data}
    STR_EXT_GAME_DATA_DESC		{Install gamedata in your usb device instead of your system.}
    
    By...
    Code:
    STR_EXT_GAME_DATA			{DONT USE THIS}
    STR_EXT_GAME_DATA_DESC		{INSTALLING GAMEDATA TO USB DOESNT WORKS IN HEN}
    
    Just an example.... im not sure if the external gamedata works in HEN
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2019
  2. 738
    852
    147
    Zar

    Zar Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    852
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Sry, I can't work on it like I would like to.

    The hen will be supported, I'm just going to disable lot of options ;)
     
  3. 222
    47
    82
    Ps3_dev

    Ps3_dev Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2017
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    As i used MANAGUNZ for two days

    I saw some of them working and some not working

    Ps3 GAME with dics format works will
    By using cobra payload and bdmirror

    Ps2iso is not working and not mounting



    Ext game data not working


    Major bug i found in two days is when we enable ext game data option.
    managunz is get uninstalled itself
    And makes all homebrew and games as unsupported after reboot it fixs its selft the problem is managunz uninstall itselft and when we enable ext game data option



    Filemanger works well not a problem
    And
    In filemanger when we stop copying in middle its frezzes
    Edit:
    Psx GAMES WORKING changed region ntsc to pal
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2019
    DeViL303 likes this.
  4. 5,001
    4,433
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    4,433
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    This is something that is confusing me, i know is mentioned it in the HEN readme.txt and i know it works
    But what i dont get is if HEN have cobra or if managunz is displaying that text mentioning cobra incorrectly
     
  5. 5,001
    4,433
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    4,433
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Do you know if PSX works in managunz ?, Ps3_dev is saying it doesnt
     
  6. 222
    47
    82
    Ps3_dev

    Ps3_dev Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2017
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    No. In game option of managunz we have select playload-> cobra and BDMIRROR options to play ps3 game with dics format
     
    Algol likes this.
  7. 222
    47
    82
    Ps3_dev

    Ps3_dev Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2017
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    For me i got black screen After loading the game
     
    Algol likes this.
  8. 347
    185
    72
    Sakimotor

    Sakimotor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Let me check that.

    Update : Parappa The Rapper works fine.
     
    sandungas likes this.
  9. 148
    112
    47
    Fedor Wearing A Fedora

    Fedor Wearing A Fedora Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2019
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    I've mentioned it in the big two threads about HEN but i see the question coming back. Black screen for psx games on hen is probably caused by playing imported games on your ps3, it's region locked for dvd/ps2 and psx. CFW removes this but HEN not.
    So if that's the case for you @Ps3_dev try playing the correct version of the game for your console region.
    Either that or your backup dumps are causing this.
     
    paul denino and sandungas like this.
  10. 1,066
    1,773
    297
    habib

    habib Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    1,773
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    @Zar next hen revision supports iso.
    im just waiting for someone to give me cfw patterns in ida format. worked 12 hours on hen and cant work anymore atm lol
     
    Vingdel, Zar, atreyu187 and 4 others like this.
  11. 5,001
    4,433
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    4,433
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Good to know, so the PSX support is not broken in managunz v1.35 :)

    Btw, in the meantime you can disable some of the paths used by managunz to scan games at boot time, by default when managunz boots it scans several paths defined in this file:
    https://github.com/Zarh/ManaGunZ/blob/master/pkgfiles/USRDIR/setting/scan_dir.txt

    Inside managunz you can add new ones, modify or delete them by using the option [global settings]--->[Game backup paths]
    I think you should delete all them and keep only GAMES, GAMEZ, and PSXISO

    This way managunz will boot a bit faster because is not going to scan for games in the other folders
     
  12. 222
    47
    82
    Ps3_dev

    Ps3_dev Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2017
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Sry psx is working
     
  13. 5,001
    4,433
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    4,433
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    And it works the 2 options at top of the game settings (availables when you press triangle button over a game icon/cover) ?
    -Clean syscall --- {Disable peek & poke syscalls.}
    -Change IDPS --- {Change your IDPS in the lv2.}
     
  14. 222
    47
    82
    Ps3_dev

    Ps3_dev Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2017
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Ext game data not working and it's make managunz uninstall itself
     
  15. 5,001
    4,433
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    4,433
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    I know, thx for the feedback about that one, but im guessing the other 2 i mentioned are not going to work either

    As mentioned, in the meantime (until zar releases a new managunz version, and there is no estimated time for that)... you could use a temporal dirty patch to allow you to remember which options you should not use. You just need to download this file and edit it in PC (notepad++ recommended)
    https://github.com/Zarh/ManaGunZ/blob/master/pkgfiles/USRDIR/sys/loc/EN.txt

    And replace this text lines
    Code:
    STR_EXT_GAME_DATA			{Ext. Game Data}
    STR_EXT_GAME_DATA_DESC		{Install gamedata in your usb device instead of your system.}
    
    By...
    Code:
    STR_EXT_GAME_DATA			{DONT USE THIS}
    STR_EXT_GAME_DATA_DESC		{INSTALLING GAMEDATA TO USB DOESNT WORKS IN HEN}
    
    For the other options is the same, note the ones i posted in the forum in my previous message was copypasted literally from it
    STR_CLEAN_SYSCALL {Clean syscall}
    STR_CHANGE_IDPS {Change IDPS}

    Same stuff... you could replace them by "DONT USE THIS"... and then upload your file EN.txt here in the forum for other people to use it

    To "install" this customized translation file you just need to:
    1) copy the edited file to USB
    2) enter managunz... open filemanager
    3) browse to dev_hdd0/game/MANAGUNZ0/USRDIR/sys/loc/EN.txt
    4) make a backup of the original EN.txt (just rename it with a different name)
    5) copy your custom EN.txt to the folder
    6) press triangle repeatedlly to exit managunz
    7) enter managunz again (at this point it will load your custom texts) :encouragement:

    Only takes 5 minutes really :)
     
    Algol, Coldheart2236 and atreyu187 like this.
  16. 5,600
    2,686
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,600
    Likes Received:
    2,686
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    I got quiet a bit of time today to play test but first I have to fix my issue with IRISMAN. After changing it from discless mode to try to dump disc. No Homebrew will work ATM. Just black screens and I have to hold the power button down for 30 seconds as it just holds with the green LED lit up. webMAN works just fine as far as I can tell. FTP and button combos seem to be fine.
     
  17. 5,001
    4,433
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    4,433
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Zar likes this.
  18. 3,084
    3,027
    372
    Joonie

    Joonie Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,084
    Likes Received:
    3,027
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Southwest US
    Since v2, "BD-Mirror" shouldn't be used with PS3HEN anymore since PS3HEN takes care of this "BD-Mirror" on the fly, and the game works fine without that workaround.
     
    sandungas likes this.
  19. 3,084
    3,027
    372
    Joonie

    Joonie Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,084
    Likes Received:
    3,027
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Southwest US
    Here's the recommended default config for PS3HEN

    upload_2019-5-5_14-13-37.png

    upload_2019-5-5_14-13-52.png
     
    atreyu187, Sakimotor and sandungas like this.
  20. 5,001
    4,433
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    4,433
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    With that settings is needed to insert a real disc in the BD drive ?
    Incase the answer is yes... have you tryed to enable also the "mount app_home" ? (to remove the requirement of the real disc inserted in the BD drive)
     

Share This Page