PS3 Multiman cannot detect NTFS drives anymore

Discussion in 'multiMAN' started by Houvenmaker, Mar 12, 2019.

  1. 5
    0
    55
    Houvenmaker

    Houvenmaker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi guys, I have a kingston 16 GB flash drive. The problem is that I used it for a windows instalation and after that the cluster size was formated to default. Multiman detects FAT32 with 32KB cluster. What type of cluster do I need for NTFS ?

    The problem comes with larger PS2 games that just simply cannot ble placed into a fat 32 drive.

    Thanks
     
  2. 2,111
    1,997
    272
    Berion

    Berion Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    1,997
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    rom0:/
    I don't think so that cluster size have any meaning. Your USB have get probably GPT partition table instead of MBR which is not supported by any PS3 homebrew.
     
  3. 60
    6
    37
    TonyClifton

    TonyClifton Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    37
    I'm having the same issue, it can't detect my NTFS usb drive, I tried refreshing/looking for NTFS drive, browsing it through file manager but still doesn't show up. Irisman detects it but I've experienced some crashes with Irisman when trying to access it after playing a game. I'm using Hen btw.
     
  4. 2,574
    1,202
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,202
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    In MultiMAN you need to use whats called "Change PFS Driver". Its on one of the menus, but the apps handling of NTFS drive is sporadic with random disconnections plus is read only and you cannot write to the drive.

    For IRISMAN are you using the HEN version?
     
    TonyClifton likes this.
  5. 1,175
    334
    172
    umart666

    umart666 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    if i remember correctly multiman by default can't detect ntfs drive anyway,it needs additional steps and prepNTFS to be able to see it.

    ps2 games can't be mounted from external drive anyway,only from internal hdd.although i think multiman sees them and if selected copies the game to internal hdd and then mounts the iso.

    to be honest,if you don't need somewhat specific features from some of the launchers webman MOD works beautifully and can do most of the stuff other managers do anyway,works with ntfs drives out of the box and i personally haven't had major issues with it.only other manager i'm using is irisman for PS1 games as it has 480p and widescreen hacks built in and it works splendidly for me.
     
    Coldheart2236 and TonyClifton like this.
  6. 750
    184
    72
    Sdw100

    Sdw100 Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ENGINEER
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Im sure u need usb.cfg

    The parent id of the drive for multiman to read ntfs
     
    TonyClifton likes this.
  7. 60
    6
    37
    TonyClifton

    TonyClifton Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Yes it's the HEN version. I think I'm gonna perhaps go back to fat32 and just split isos, but I'm not sure If I can play directly from the usb with split files.
     
  8. 1,139
    738
    172
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    738
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    You'll take quite a hit to performance playing a backup that's split, and you should be able to but again it's likely to be a good bit slower than if you were playing a single ISO from HDD or NTFS.
     
    TonyClifton likes this.
  9. 60
    6
    37
    TonyClifton

    TonyClifton Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Thanks for the info, I'm gonna stick with NTFS then.
     
    Coldheart2236 likes this.
  10. 1,139
    738
    172
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    738
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    I've never had any performance or any other issues when mounting and playing my PS3 ISO backups from the NTFS partition on my external HDD, and doing so with webMAN MOD the whole thing works brilliantly. Much faster load times than when playing from disc, it's much more convenient and also saves wear and tear on the BD drive. :)
     

Share This Page