PS3 New to CFW Scene and 2 Questions (Plugin + HDD Swap)

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by hoyohoo, Feb 14, 2020.

1. 47
    hoyohoo

hoyohoo Member

Hi there, I recently revived a YLOD PS2, Model CECH-C04.
    I successfully updated to a HFW, installed it twice as the tuorial said and flashed the CFW 4.85.1 Rebug lite successfully.
    However, now the fun part begins and I am needing your help.

I am completely new to this scene, I never had a PS3, latest PS I have is the PSP and things seem to work quite different on the PS3 now.

First question is: I tried to install the Plugin PS3XPAD, so I would be able to use my XBOX One Controller, which I use for PC Gaming, also on the PS3. I am trying this, as I do not own a PS3 Controller yet. I have a Clone PS2 Controller with a USB Plug and to my surprise, this thing seems to work on the PS3 too, however it is missing the PS-Button, as it is designed to look and work like a PS2 Controller. And, strangely, R1 and R2 are swapped, aswell as L1 and L2...
    So, back to the plugin thing. I downloaded the Plugin, put it onto a USB Drive and used MultiMAN to copy the mentioned folder to my "Plugins" Folder, as mentioned in the included Tutorial.
    I then copied the line "/dev_hdd0/plugins/ps3xpad/xpad_vsh.sprx" to the "boot_plugins.txt", usind my computer. I had copied the file to my USB Drive, as I couldn't find a way to edit it directly on the PS3 and could not find another way to enable or disable plugins, like it was on the PSP via the recovery menu or the VSH menu.
    So, I copied the edited boot_plugins.txt back to where it belongs and reset the PS3.