PS2 Open PS2 Loader v0.9.3 2016-09-29

Various OPL 0.9.3 versions without GSM -OPL Development Team (c. Ifcaro & jimmikaelkael)

  1. 690
    1,194
    222
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    1,194
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    It wouldn't be an OPL problem, but USBHDFSD. It depends on the version that OPL was compiled with. OPL only tells USBHDFSD that it wants to write files, and that's it.

    Anyway, I think its problems are difficult to identify. We might need somebody with the domain knowledge of USB and a USB protocol analyzer, to understand and suggest fixes for the USB-related problems.
    I've got this feeling that there is some hardware-level compatiblity problem with some devices, since the errors are so random.

    But well, I've got no time or energy to bother with these things anymore.

    It is possible that when you don't do some things, the bulk of OPL can start up faster. Faster than the USB device can initialize, so much that the device is missed at boot.
    There isn't really a nice way to solve this because this is not a device that will be always immediately accessible after the related modules are loaded. In FMCB, I delay the startup process by 500ms, just to serve this purpose.
     
  2. 1,341
    964
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    964
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    Do you tried to make another project?
    With less polygon?
     
    TnA and Tupakaveli like this.
  3. 215
    264
    122
    Tupakaveli

    Tupakaveli VIP PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Tbh I haven't revisited it. We've been working on some Xbox 360 projects...

    Also I went to clone my 2Tb PS2 HDD and discovered it had unreadable sectors so I've been building a new one -_-

    The MC icon you made is decent, much better than the current one.
     
  4. 215
    264
    122
    Tupakaveli

    Tupakaveli VIP PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    @jolek

    Something like this?
    OPL_MC_Icon.jpg

    BTW I didn't test it on the console, just with PS2 Save Builder.
     

    Attached Files:

    TnA, jolek and dekkit like this.
  5. 1,341
    964
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    964
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    @Tupakaveli this Icon work also on PS2, but I've a problem with "O", "P" & "L" letters.
    I mean left side of "O" and "P" when is spining looks like texture was missing,
    upper of "L" have the same problem.

    I've a pretty s***y camera, but it looks like this:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    TnA and Tupakaveli like this.
  6. 215
    264
    122
    Tupakaveli

    Tupakaveli VIP PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    There was a problem with some of the faces on the model, they were facing the wrong way.

    Try this one, I tested on the console this time.
     

    Attached Files:

    TnA and jolek like this.
  7. 1,341
    964
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    964
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    Now I've another problem.
    I mean everything is fine when icon is static.
    When it spins, I'm getting strange graphical glitches (once again low quality photos).
    At the almost highest point at "P" & "L":
    [​IMG]

    Almost at the bottom of "O":
    [​IMG]
     
    TnA likes this.
  8. 215
    264
    122
    Tupakaveli

    Tupakaveli VIP PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm not sure I can fix that.

    I've been using 3 different 3D modelling programs and everything looks fine. I can try tilting it on a 30° angle so it looks square on in the Browser...

    It could also be the PS2 MC icon plugin for Milkshape 3D. I saw on PSX-Scene that ffgriever wrote a command line tool to convert 3D Studio Max (.3ds) files to MC icons so I could try that as well.
     
    TnA, Berion and Algol like this.
  9. 1,341
    964
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    964
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    At least thanks for trying.

    I only tried to preview these icons in PS2 Save Builder and also everything was fine.
    Unfortunately something wrong is happening in PS2 MC Browser...

    Theoretically it's worth a shot...
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2019
    TnA and Tupakaveli like this.
  10. 215
    264
    122
    Tupakaveli

    Tupakaveli VIP PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Here we go, tilting it back 30° seems to have resolved the issue with those lines. Plus it looks a lot better on the main screen of the Browser.
     

    Attached Files:

    TnA and jolek like this.
  11. 1,341
    964
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    964
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    With v 3, I've only glitch in right upper "O", it's not as noticeable as it was before...
    So... hmm...

    Could also upload "version" with tilting it back to 20° and 10°?

    If yes...
    I'll be unavailable for few hours, so I'll give my report ASAP.
     
    Tupakaveli likes this.
  12. 215
    264
    122
    Tupakaveli

    Tupakaveli VIP PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    I included another 30° one because I remapped some of the texture coordinates.

    In my opinion 20° looks best.
     

    Attached Files:

    TnA and jolek like this.
  13. 1,341
    964
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    964
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    IMHO 10° looks best. [​IMG]
    But I have some glitches at upper-right "P" when I'm in PS2 MC Browser.
    Here is a another preview, this time from PS2 save builder:
    [​IMG]

    Here is 20°:
    [​IMG]
    I don't have any majors problem with it, so...

    I don't like 30°, so I haven't added any preview. [​IMG]

    @El_Patas what do you think about it?
    Only you can merge pull request at github.


    Thanks @Tupakaveli for 3D model and for all these ways to find solution,
    @Berion for 2D template\preview.
     
    TnA and Tupakaveli like this.
  14. 1,341
    964
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    964
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    If someone is still interested in OPL, here is new test build:
    https://www.sendspace.com/file/tqetk2.

    It has:
    • Memory Card icon update.
    • Fix MC icon not being written, if the OPL folder already exists.
    • Replace slide transition with Maximus32's fade transition.
    • Fix transition sound effect.
    For now I've a problem with overwriting MC icon ("icon.sys", "opl.icn") in OPL folder on memory card in OPL folder (mc?:/OPL).
    I mean if these files are in OPL folder:
    [​IMG]
    OPL will overwrite them at every boot:
    [​IMG]

    One of the best PS2 games, Shadow of the Colossus refuse (BSOD) to work after 50\60 Hz selector.
    The last known version that this game is playable is OPL 1355\1353.

    Here is source of this build (pull request):
    https://github.com/ifcaro/Open-PS2-Loader/pull/208.

    Any kind of support will be helpful.

    Who knows maybe it can be a big step into "tagging" 0.9.4. ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  15. 527
    160
    72
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    I don't know :p
    @jolek, can you attach here, the OPL that you are using on your PS2 ? Please... Thanks.
     
  16. 1,341
    964
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    964
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
  17. 1,341
    964
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    964
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    In attachment OPL 1364 can be found.

    It has:
    • Memory Card icon update by Tupakaveli (2D model by Berion, 3D model by Tupakaveli).
    • Replace slide transition with Maximus32's fade transition.
    • Fix transition sound effect.
    Currently there are few things worth mentioned...
    Do we need settings and OPL folder on MC when OPL has been loaded from other device (HDD, SMB, USB)?
    When OPL has been loaded from HDD, settings should be saved on HDD, so there is no need to create almost empty folder on MC.

    If there is an empty folder (OPL) or this folder do not exist, OPL has been loaded from MC this stuff should be updated\created.

    Can translations be loaded from other path than MC?
    Currently no...
    Why not add this feature?

    Shadow of the Colossus still refuse (BSOD) to work after 50\60 Hz selector.
    The last known version that this game was playable is OPL 1355\1353.
     

    Attached Files:

    Peppe90, Tupakaveli and TnA like this.
  18. 1,341
    964
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    964
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    New test version is out:
    https://github.com/ifcaro/Open-PS2-Loader/pull/210.

    It should support themes from other devices than MC and it has got fix for main10 bug.
    Currently I've two problems with it:
    1. When lang files are in LNG folder in at least 2 devices, OPL is crashing.
      I mean when I put lang_Polish.lng, font_Polish.ttf in hdd0:/+OPL/LNG & mass:/LNG,
      OPL is constantly crashing\freezing almost at boot:
      [​IMG]
      Maybe some kind of a priorytety system will probably needs to be added,
      e.g. MC->HDD->USB->SMB or
      Device from where OPL was loaded->MC->other devices, etc.

    2. OPL is not loading font (font_Polish.ttf) from SMB.
      It is only loading translations (lang_Polish.lng),
      so I don't have this "bizarre" letters (ą, ć, ę, ł, ń, ó, ś, ź, ż).
    Language files was taken from here:
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/open-ps2-loader-beta-revisions-releases-language-pack.20547/.
     
    TnA likes this.
  19. 155
    188
    97
    Krah

    Krah Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2018
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    97
    @jolek
    https://www.sendspace.com/file/hj8e5p

    Please test this elf for multi devices, if that doesn’t work I’ll have it stop checking devices after finding language files.

    Font for languages from smb was never in OPL but should be doable.

    I don’t have access to a ps2 at the moment and have a very small window after work and when kids are asleep to make changes.

    Cheers mate
     
    jolek, TnA, Algol and 1 other person like this.
  20. 1,341
    964
    272
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    964
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    Now OPL is not freezing at boot.
    I can select lang from multiple devices.
    I mean I've e.g. 1x English (Internal), 3x Polish.

    The only downside of that is I don't know from what device lang was loaded.
    The same thing is with themes or even config.

    Currently OPL do not have any "pop up system".
    E.g. Translation was loaded from mass:/LNG.
    Config was loaded from hdd0:/+OPL. Config was saved on hdd0:/+OPL.
    Theme was loaded from smb0:/THM.

    Or simple:
    Translation was loaded from USB
    Config was loaded from HDD. Config was saved on HDD.
    Theme was loaded from ETH.

    It might be useful, but I don't know what others thinks about it.
    As you predicted, font from SMB is not working.
    Only translation (*.lng) can be loaded.

    Thank you (Krah) & Tupakaveli for recent fixes.
    Best regards.
     
    Tupakaveli, Algol, Krah and 1 other person like this.
Tags:

Share This Page