PS3 PS2 Emulation on PS3 OFW

Discussion in 'PS1/PS2/PSP on PS3' started by DasoK, Jan 1, 2019.

  1. 5
    0
    5
    DasoK

    DasoK Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello, i'm new over here.
    As a big fan of the PS2, i wanted to emulate mi favorite games on my PS3 OFW super slim, some of them works very well, but others like Driver: Parallel Lines or Black runs on low FPS.

    I need a CONFIG files for them? The emulation and FPS is better on CFW?
    I can configure the emulation in CFW in some way?

    I already tried to reduce the resolution on the PS menu, as well as other options.

    Thanks for the patience to this noob :flustered:
    DasoK.
     
  2. 1,693
    1,156
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    1,156
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    Lets start with baby steps here, i know the PS2 Net_Emu (PS2 Classics) supports Config files, but since you console its on HAN (which i assume it is), i am not sure if these Config files can be loaded.

    Regarding the PS2 Emulation on HAN or CFW, there its no difference, as both use PS2 NET_EMU (PS2 Classics), but if you own a 60Gb (CECHA/B/C/E) Backwards Compatible PlayStation3, CFW takes full advantage of the PS2 Hardware inside, so you are running on a original PlayStation2 hardware.

    PlayStation2 Emulation on Non-Backwards Compatible machines, isn´t 100% perfect, not can it replicate the 100% genuine PlayStation2 feel, so bugs and imperfections are to be expected when running a emulated software solution, but the emulator its well codeed, and can play i assume around 70% of the PS2 library.

    Regarding resolutions, switching resolutions wont improve nothing, as the internal resolution its always set to 480p as an original PS2, but on the flip side, PlayStation3 uses his own upscaling methods to smooth out rough edges,but it won´t improve graphical fidelity, the max upscale its set to 720p on the PS2 Classics, and 1080p on the PS2 Backwards Compatible PS3s.

    To finalize, regarding your game Driver - Parallel Lines its regarded as playable, FPS drops are expected,as many other games do show some FPS drops, Black its a different topic, ive heard the game its border line unplayable at a certain point.

    If you wish to check if your games are compatible with PS2 Classics, ill leave this Compatibility List:
    http://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/PS2_Classics_Emulator_Compatibility_List
     
    Coldheart2236 likes this.
  3. 588
    946
    147
    lmn7

    lmn7 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    946
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Config files can be used on HAN, I'm not aware of any that exist for those games though.
     
  4. 2,673
    1,320
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,673
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    For config files check Managunz github repository for them.

    https://github.com/Zarh/ManaGunZ/tree/master/pkgfiles/USRDIR/sys/CONFIG

    Search for the games SLUS, SLES code in the NET folder first then if they are no good search the soft folder next but the best one should be from the NET folder, don't use the ones in the GX folder as they are for Backwards Compatible PS3s.

    As for using them on HAN i believe they have to be put inside the game before the game is injected into the console. CFW just makes it easier to swap out the config files.
     
    Coldheart2236 likes this.
  5. 1,693
    1,156
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    1,156
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    So wait? GX_Emu supports config files? Well i thought the GX_Emu didnt support config files, mainly for games that work inproperly like the Ratchet & Clank series.

    So you will still need ManaGunZ to load these config files.
     
  6. 5,815
    5,437
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,815
    Likes Received:
    5,437
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Are embedded inside the ps2_gxemu.self
    The file have a internal "table" with hundreds of configs. Zar made an app to extract them and convert them to netemu format automatically, and this extracted configs are the ones under GX path in managunz and inside PS2classicsGUI

    In a CFW you can decrypt ps2_gxemu.self, then modify some configs inside it, then encrypt it again. This works, as far i remember kozarovv did a successfull experiment like this :D

    And btw, you can use "some" GX configs in netemu, the problem is that is hard to know which gx configs are going to work in netemu
    Everything depends in which commands are used inside the config file. Some commands are specific for GX (if the config contains one or more of them is not going to work), but others are generic and should work in all ps2 emu types
    To know this is needed to look at all commands used in the config
     
    Cypher_CG89 likes this.
  7. 1,693
    1,156
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    1,156
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    Its way above my are of expertise, ill just leave the GX_Emu as it is, on the Net_Emu in the other hand might come in handy, as its what i mostly use for PlayStation2 solution, the 60Gb its sitting nice on my shelf, so i don´t want to replace another unit :D
     
  8. 7,592
    5,737
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,592
    Likes Received:
    5,737
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    Those are only commands from GXemu that not gonna work on netemu, still config can be applied without harm to game:
    Code:
    [Net] Command ID : 0x05 - 10 configs
    [Net] Command ID : 0x16 - 0 configs
    [Net] Command ID : 0x18 - 2 configs
    [Net] Command ID : 0x25 - 9 configs
    [Net] Command ID : 0x2D - 9 configs
    Anyway, SOFTEMU have ability to use those commands, NETEMU not, which is really confusing.

    Also i'm strongly suggest to use GX configs instead of SOFT configs. Excluding few rare cases we will get better result. SOFTEMU firstly seems to have more in common to NETEMU, but is not really important.

    Even ps2_emu have few config files hardcoded in emu ;)
     
  9. 5
    0
    5
    DasoK

    DasoK Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks, putting this CONFIG file while y transform my ps2 iso to pkg with PS2 Classics GUI will improve framerates and stabillity?
     
  10. 5
    0
    5
    DasoK

    DasoK Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for answering my questions and explaining a little more
     
  11. 5
    0
    5
    DasoK

    DasoK Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    And also, i see that they are SLUS and SLES CONFIG files,but how do i know what CONFIG files is for what game?
     
  12. 2,673
    1,320
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,673
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    I believe it depends on the commands used in the config files. And also i think quite a lot of the commands are still unknown as to what they actually do. Also you could check the compatibly list in the PS3 devwiki for know issues and fixes.

    http://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/PS2_Classics_Emulator_Compatibility_List

    Just like PS3 games PS2 have a unique number so google what your game code is and search for that inside the folders. for example SLUS12345 US version SLES12345 EU versions.
     
    sandungas likes this.
  13. 1,276
    857
    197
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    857
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
    SLUS and SLES are prefixes for the game's serial number, and which reflect what region the game is from. The serial number for each game is written on the game disc itself, but can also be found online by looking here (link). Then, cross-reference the serial number of the game you're looking for, bearing in mind the region, with the list of CONFIG files made available by Zar.
     
    sandungas likes this.
  14. 5,815
    5,437
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,815
    Likes Received:
    5,437
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    This are the 3 critical google searches i use to do :D

    pcsx2 + wiki + game name
    psdevwiki + ps2 + compatibility
    github + zar + managunz

    And sometimes...

    redump + game name
    gamefaqs + ps3 + release + game name
     
  15. 23
    4
    7
    RikuNoctis

    RikuNoctis Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Can someone please link me to a tutorial to convert my PS2 games?

    I recently installed the 4.84.2 HFW, and I have HAN installed, but the threads I've found here about PS2 games on PS3 seem to be for CFW and not exactly HAN.
     
  16. 10
    1
    32
    P Milli TV

    P Milli TV Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    My 60gb partial bc ps3 is running overflow 4.85 cfw but I've lost the ability to run ps2 discs .how do I restore it back to being able to play discs?
    I've even tried mounting an iso and loading from disc, loading from ps2 classic launcher etc with no luck.
     
  17. 1,693
    1,156
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    1,156
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    Overflow has a known Bug with the PS2Emu and PS2GX_Emu, the two Emulators for PlayStation2 Hardware Backwards Compatibility, to remedy this you'll need to Downgrade to Rebug 4.84.2

    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page