PS2/PS1 saves working on PS3?

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by SeanRanklin, Sep 28, 2018.

  1. 543
    73
    82
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    A moment ago,I test it on my ps2 fat
    I copy your file to my PS1 MC
    and then it's worked like magic
    pinky,Thank you very much!
    I want to learn
    How can you do it?
    Please explain
    which tool or software for pc?
    Please tell me!
    It'll be very helpful
     
  2. 2,688
    2,642
    372
    Berion

    Berion Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    2,642
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    I was already told You what You must do...

    PS: *.mcs is not a save but save+header. And as I said before... on real MC or VMC, saves must be put alone as saves, without any additional data.
     
  3. 543
    73
    82
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    just I have to delete Q............vSC
    Q to v using hex editor
     
  4. 2,688
    2,642
    372
    Berion

    Berion Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    2,642
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Each saves are starting from "SC" string and they have exactly 8KiB+n ("n" is block count, i.e Vagrant Story occupy 3 block so it is 8KiB*3=24KiB). Memory card logic starting from "MC" string" and they have exactly 128KiB. Depend what You want to achieve, cut everything before those values.

    If You want know more (use Google Translate or something like that because it is written in Polish):
    https://strefapsx.pl/formaty-save-psx/
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2020
  5. 12,892
    5,159
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,892
    Likes Received:
    5,159
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    yeah, that's what I did to fix it. copy from SC to the end of the file in hex.
     
  6. 12,892
    5,159
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,892
    Likes Received:
    5,159
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I corrected a typo. it's 8,192 bytes, not kilobytes/block.
     
  7. 543
    73
    82
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    First,we have to convert PSV to MCS using PSVExporter v1.3 then delete Q-v using hex editor and then it works on real PS1 MC and also you can use this PS1 save file on PS1 & PS2 Console
    I try to delete like before using hex editor in PSV Format but will not work
    So, We have to must convert PSV to MCS using PSVExporter v1.3
     
  8. 2,688
    2,642
    372
    Berion

    Berion Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    2,642
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    As I said before, You don't need any program besides hex editor and as I said before You must properly name the file because save DOESN'T contain game id and meta id... Do not spread false informations.

    The only difference between PSV and MCS is header which You must remove anyway...
     
    DeViL303 likes this.
  9. 5
    0
    5
    wwecwTaker

    wwecwTaker Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Boys i have a problem that I can't save my games from Ps2 or Ps1 in my PS3, I have created a Memory Card and assigned it but when I play a game it appears that no memory card is in the designation (No Memory Card Exists) can somebody help me?
     
  10. 2,688
    2,642
    372
    Berion

    Berion Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    2,642
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Did You put them in proper place with proper extension? Did You rebuild database after that? Did You assign them to one of the slots in XMB?
     
  11. 5
    0
    5
    wwecwTaker

    wwecwTaker Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    I assigned them to one of the slots, but didn't put them in proper place and and didn't rebuild database, would you be able to explain me please?
     
  12. 2,688
    2,642
    372
    Berion

    Berion Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    2,642
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland

Share This Page