Dismiss Notice

BEWARE of IMPOSTERS, posing as the PS3Xploit Members/Team:


  -PS3Xploit does NOT have a discord channel, some imposter are using one
 

  -If the info can't be found on ps3xploit.com or psx-place.com its fake
 

  -ZuKuTo / OFWModz is one of the fake names of these imposter's are using to represent the PS3xploit team.

 

 

PS2Classic HEN not reading memory cards

Discussion in 'PS3HEN (nonCFW PS3 Models)' started by Mur96, Jul 3, 2019.

  1. 5
    0
    30
    Mur96

    Mur96 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello, I went across a massive problem.

    So I have the latest HEN and homebrew, everything working cool PS3 wise. So I used a backup of my Here Comes the Pain PS2 game to play it with the PS2Classics placeholder. Install-wise, the game actually runs perfectly (just as before I went HEN, when I had it installed for HAN). But there's a kinda major game-killer problem that wasn't present on HAN: the memory cards are not detected.

    I created new Memory cards in the system, used the PS2 Classic Manager (yeah that thing works) to specify memory cards (the manager won't load them anyway, even using the "MC1" names. I looked the files with Managunz, everything in its place. But the game just won't load memory cards on any way.

    Any fix for this?
     
  2. 12,267
    4,945
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,267
    Likes Received:
    4,945
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    ps2 classic memory cards are not the memory cards you create on the xmb. those are for disc backups (and I think cobra isos as well). each game has its own set of memory cards in the home directory.
     
    Algol likes this.
  3. 5
    0
    30
    Mur96

    Mur96 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah I understand that. But how does it work? How can I create those memory cards so they work?

    EDIT: I guess my fault for not mentioning, Im not trying to make my memory card files being read, no, the game just refuses to load memory cards, as if they don't exist.
     
  4. 7,628
    5,802
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,628
    Likes Received:
    5,802
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    Mostly because they don't exist in path where it looks. dev_hdd/home/xxxxxxxx/savedata/PS2U10000 if i recall correctly.
     
    Algol and Mur96 like this.
  5. 5
    0
    30
    Mur96

    Mur96 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Well, it sure was that.
    I took any of the .vme files I had from original PS2 Classics and copied them in PS2U1000 directory. It inmediatedly worked with no problems at all!
    But I have a question, I copied it directly in the directory told. Every PS2 Classic launched in HEN will use the same VME files? Isn't there risk of replacing each other?
     
  6. 12,267
    4,945
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,267
    Likes Received:
    4,945
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    tbh, I can't remember what happens. I know you can have multiple games saved to the same vme.
     
    Algol and Mur96 like this.
  7. 7,628
    5,802
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,628
    Likes Received:
    5,802
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    Games will use one memory card set like on PS2. Problem can be when you fit all 8MB on one card (many games use only slot 1). But even then you will just get info there is no enough free space to save game.

    PS2 Classic Manager have some options to manage cards, but i really don't remember how it looks like. This is ancient software that get second life thanks to hen, so we need to learn how to use it one more time ;) .
     
    Algol likes this.
  8. 107
    66
    82
    Algol

    Algol Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    In my humble opinion, you should use the memory card manager housed in the game "Gran Turismo 3", it is excellent and can handle both MC at a time. I recommend it seriously. I also use this game with my PS2 and the OPL launcher, it is perfect, to manage MC full of SAVEs of different games. MCs can be 8/16/32 and 64MB prepared by OPL.
     
    kozarovv likes this.
  9. 3,245
    5,296
    522
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,245
    Likes Received:
    5,296
    Trophy Points:
    522
    Maybe you can try webman mod 1.47.24.7 beta.

    It allows to include save data files in conjunction with the encrypted iso and pictures. The files should be named:
    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.BIN.ENC
    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.PNG (or .png) <- ICON0.PNG
    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.PIC1.PNG <- optional
    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.PIC2.PNG <- optional
    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.CONFIG <- encrypted (optional)
    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.SCEVMC0.VME
    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.SCEVMC1.VME

    or

    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.BIN.ENC
    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.BIN.ENC.PNG (or .png) <- ICON0.PNG
    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.BIN.ENC.PIC1.PNG <- optional
    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.BIN.ENC.PIC2.PNG <- optional
    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.BIN.ENC.CONFIG <- encrypted (optional)
    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.BIN.ENC.SCEVMC0.VME
    /dev_hdd0/PS2ISO/<filename>.BIN.ENC.SCEVMC1.VME

    If the .SCEVMC0.VME / .SCEVMC1.VME files exist in PS2ISO, the current savedata in PS2U10000 are renamed as .bak
    If the .SCEVMC0.VME / .SCEVMC1.VME files DO NOT exist in PS2ISO, the .bak are used as the default savedata files in PS2U10000.

    The VME files in PS2ISO folder are copied to:
    /dev_hdd0/game/PS2U10000/USRDIR/SAVEDATA
    and to /dev_hdd0/savedata/vmc

    / ! \ These features (VME and PIC*.PNG) are experimental and not supported yet in wMM.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2019
    kozarovv and Algol like this.
  10. 7,628
    5,802
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,628
    Likes Received:
    5,802
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    Nice changes. But i prefer to wait until you get back home, and compile by yourself. I don't want to mess anything :D


    64MB work on classics? I know that they freeze XMB in unencrypted form (for cobra) because size is stored in database as uInt16 and 64MB card was EXACTLY 1 byte too big. Anyway is possible they work for classuc as their size is not listed in XMB, where issue occured.
     
    aldostools likes this.
  11. 721
    228
    72
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    I don't know :p
    I was with this problem, and resolved creating: Memory Card 1 = "MC1" and the Memory Card 2 = "MC0"
     
  12. 721
    228
    72
    Danxx444

    Danxx444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    I don't know :p
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/solved-memory-card-erro-ps2-classic-placeholder.24912/
     
  13. 107
    66
    82
    Algol

    Algol Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Pour ce qui est des MCs de plus de 8Mo, ce n'est que pour OPL (donc une PS2) et pas pour le PS3HEN, je suis désolé pour la confusion engendrée, je ne mes suis pas assez expliqué, OPL = VMC de 8/16/32 et 64Mo. Mais GT3 gère très bien le contenu des VMEs via "PS2 Placeholder".
     

Share This Page