PS3 and ETHERNET (LAN)

Discussion in 'Hardware Mods' started by Algol, Oct 17, 2019.

  1. 118
    71
    82
    Algol

    Algol Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    In English via Google Trad :

    I just received a PS3 that works poorly in Ethernet connection. It is as if the internal Ethernet chip was suddenly changed to 10 Mbps and it does not see if the Ethernet cable is connected (message: an Ethernet cable is disconnected).

    I have several PS3 and I gave their DD via LAN (via Filezilla) since always. The speed is always indicated by 1GBits / s on my TRENDnet GigaBit switch and my ISOs are almost always around 21 MB / s in PS3 (small and very large ISO).

    The WiFi seems to work properly, I can order it and receive its information quickly, without waiting.
    The concern comes from a specialized chip that works poorly, the detection of the presence of the cable, a weld on the internal connector that would fail ???

    Thank you in advance for your good advice and help.


    In French :

    Je viens de recevoir une PS3 qui fonctionne mal en connexion Ethernet. C'est comme si la puce Ethernet interne était subitement passée en vitesse 10 Mbits/s et voire qu'elle ne voit pas si le câble Ethernet est connecté (message : un câble Ethernet est déconnecté).

    Je possède plusieurs PS3 et je gave leur DD via le réseau LAN (via Filezilla) depuis toujours. La vitesse est toujours indiquée de 1GBits/s sur mon switch GigaBits TRENDnet et mes ISO s'inscrivent pratiquement toujours aux alentours des 21 Mo/s dans les PS3 (petits et très gros ISO).
    Le WiFi semble fonctionner correctement, je peux la commander et recevoir ses informations rapidement, sans attente.

    Le souci vient-il d'une puce spécialisée qui fonctionne mal, de la détection de la présence du câble, d'une soudure sur le connecteur interne qui serait défaillante ???

    Merci par avance pour vos bons conseils et aides.

    Algol "le papy".
     
  2. 6,417
    6,070
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,417
    Likes Received:
    6,070
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Your PS3 is connected by ethernet cable to the router ? (or to the PC ?)

    Anyway, i had some network setup problems with a behaviour similar than yours... i dont want to make the story too long so i will go to the solution i found... you need to try to "reset" the network by:
    1) turn off all the devices connected to the network... and the router too
    2) turn on the PS3
    3) Configure PS3 network (with any settings, you can use fake ones), then scan network, the test fails
    4) save network settings
    5) turn off the PS3
    6) Turn on the router (and wait a bit to allow the router to complete the initialization)
    7) turn on the PS3
    3) Configure PS3 network (with good settings)

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    The goal of this test is to cleanup any weird network configuration in the PS3
    Im not telling that this is your problem, so maybe is not going to solve your problem, but you should start by doing this
    Incase it doesnt works i will suggest other things later ;)
     
    Filipe Santos likes this.
  3. 118
    71
    82
    Algol

    Algol Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    In French :

    Aujourd'hui, je remet un DD de 500 Go formaté par PC en FAT32, j'installe sur le DD le CFW "Rebug-4.84.2/Cobra-8.1" avec le WMM-1.47.25.10. Je refais toutes les initialisations audio et vidéo, les divers comptes et ensuite je remet en fonctionnement les connections par câbles à mon Switch Ethernet GigaBits "TRENDnet". C'est un 5 ports et il fonctionne toujours aussi parfaitement entre mes 2 MAC (MacMini-C2D-8Go RAM-SSD-Ethernet GigaBits) et mes 2 autres PS3 (CECH-2504 et 4204C) ainsi que ma PS2 Slim (SCPH-70004) qui est rarement connectée voire en fonctionnement. Je n'ai jamais eu aucun problème avec mon Switch et je n'en ai toujours pas.

    Hier j'ai fait des tests en connectant directement cette nouvelle PS3 (arrivée avec un DD de 320Go tout installé en RBG-4.84.2) via un câble "droit" et ensuite un câble "croisé" court (tous deux en catégorie 6). Rien n'a fonctionné, le MAC démarré sous Windows-7 n'a jamais pu se connecter à cette "maudite" console alors que je n'ai jamais eu aucun souci auparavant avec les autres consoles.

    En bien y regardant, je pense plus à un problème de connectique car le connecteur du câble semble entrer trop facilement à l'arrière de la PS3 alors que le même connecteur entre difficilement (il force plus) dans les autres consoles. De même, quand je tiens le câble bien enfoncé dans la console, le message "un câble ethernet est déconnecté" apparaît moins souvent.

    Je reste en attente de vos bons conseils …

    PS : je suis incapable de vérifier si le traducteur fait des bourdes car je ne comprend rien à l'Anglais.


    In English (via Google).

    Today, I put a 500 GB DD formatted by PC in FAT32, I install on the DD the CFW "Rebug-4.84.2 / Cobra-8.1" with the WMM-1.47.25.10. I redo all audio and video initializations, the various accounts and then I put in operation the cable connections to my GigaBit Ethernet Switch "TRENDnet". It is a 5 ports and it still works perfectly between my 2 MAC (MacMini-C2D-8GB RAM-SSD-Ethernet GigaBits) and my other 2 PS3 (CECH-2504 and 4204C) and my PS2 Slim (SCPH-70004 ) which is rarely connected or in operation. I have never had a problem with my Switch and I still do not have any.

    Yesterday I made tests by directly connecting this new PS3 (arrival with a 320GB DD all installed in RBG-4.84.2) via a cable "right" and then a cable "crossed" short (both in category 6) . Nothing worked, the MAC started under Windows-7 could never connect to this "damn" console while I have never had any problem with other consoles before.

    While looking at it, I think more of a connection problem because the cable connector seems to come too easily to the back of the PS3 while the same connector enters hard (it forces more) in other consoles. Similarly, when I hold the cable firmly in the console, the message "an ethernet cable is disconnected" appears less often.

    I'm waiting for your good advice …

    PS: I am unable to verify if the translator makes blunders because I do not understand anything English.

    Algol "le papy".
     
  4. 6,417
    6,070
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,417
    Likes Received:
    6,070
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    What i mentioned before is a rare problem that happened to me, and i dont have a good understanding of why was happening, but my understanding is some of the devices of the network keeps wrong info about the other devices

    Anyway, if that was not the problem, the next thing you should try a direct ethernet connection in between the PS3 and PC
    Then configure the PS3 network settings in the same IP range than the PC (lets say if your PC is 196.168.0.12 give the PS3 the IP 196.168.0.50)
    And... open a command line to use the classic "PING" commnad
    https://www.howtogeek.com/355664/how-to-use-ping-to-test-your-network/

    The PS3 should repply to the "ping" by sending packets, you will see in the PC that the PS3 is sending packets of data to the PC
    This is a 100% confirmation that the connection is working


    ----------------
    There is no need to use a "crossover" ethernet cable.... with a standard ethernet cable is enough
     
  5. 118
    71
    82
    Algol

    Algol Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Bonjour @sandungas.

    Aujourd'hui, j'ai du temps libre pour travailler sur cette console car mes petits-enfants sont partis et ils ont libéré cette console.

    J'ai fait tout ce que tu m'as dit dans le message précédent et rien ne se passe. La console est connectée directement au PC, j'ai lancé des "pings" automatiques et le PC ne reçoit rien en retour. Aucun des 3 autres câbles Ethernet de catégories 6 n'a amélioré cet état de faits. Pourtant tous mes câbles sont fonctionnels avec les 3 autres consoles PS3 disponibles à la maison. Ces câbles sont des câbles "droits", donc pas croisés.
    J'ai remarqué que tous mes câbles entrent bien trop facilement dans le connecteur Ethernet arrière de cette console. Je soupçonne un défaut de connectique. Les autres consoles ne présentent pas cette facilité d'insertion du connecteur mâle, lorsque le connecteur est en place, j'entend franchement un "clic" se produire alors qu'avec cette console presque aucun "clic". De plus, quand je connecte cette console au switch Ethernet GigaBits, la led "Link/ACT" s'active mais est clignotante. Selon comment je bouge le câble elle se met en état fixe brièvement puis se remet à clignoter, puis s'éteint. Sur n'importe quel port que je mette le câble j'ai la même réponse sur les leds du Switch.

    Je ne peux pas plus en dire, qu'en pense-tu ??? As-tu d'autres conseils ???


    In English via Google-trad.

    Today, I have free time to work on this console because my grandchildren are gone and they released this console.

    I did everything you told me in the previous message and nothing happens. The console is connected directly to the PC, I launched automatic "pings" and the PC receives nothing in return. None of the other 3 category 6 Ethernet cables have improved this state of affairs. Yet all my cables are functional with the other 3 PS3 consoles available at home. These cables are "straight" cables, so not crossed.
    I noticed that all my cables fit too easily into the rear Ethernet connector of this console. I suspect a lack of connectivity. The other consoles do not have this ease of insertion of the male connector, when the connector is in place, I really hear a "click" occur while with this console almost no "click". In addition, when I connect this console GigaBits Ethernet switch, the LED "Link / ACT" is activated but is flashing. Depending on how I move the cable, it goes into a fixed state briefly, then blinks again, then goes out. On any port that I put the cable I have the same answer on the leds of the Switch.

    I can not say more, what do you think ??? Do you have any other advice ???
     
  6. 6,417
    6,070
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,417
    Likes Received:
    6,070
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Well, since begining you mentioned the cable is a bit loose when you insert... so it looks there is some problem in the connector since beginning
    But before messing with it is better to try other easyer diagnostics... this is why i mentioned the "ping" command
    Now you said the ping command doesnt returns any info... ok
    Just one last test related with it... have you tryed to do a ping to other devices in the network ?. Im asking about it just to be sure you are using the ping command correctly
    To check this you need to have several devices connected in the network (through router)
    You can also do a ping to the router

    ---------------------------
    Anyway... it looks the problem is in the connector because you have intermitent conectivity
    And your mentions about the cable going loose when you connect it makes me think maybe there is some pin bent

    First thing i would do is to use a needle to push the pins individually and see how they reacts to the pressure
    You know a ethernet female connector have 8 pins inside, like this
    [​IMG]
    use a magnifyer glass like this to have a good view of them when you move them with the needle
    [​IMG]

    Remove the power cord (no electricity in the PS3), take the magnifyer glass in a hand, and the needle in the other hand, and then "push" the pins one by one, you need to check all this

    -there is no garbage inside the connector (dust, whatever)
    -the pins should make some resistance to the pressure (like a spring)
    -they needs to return back to the most upper position (push them up to see if they are at the max height)
    -all the pins should have the same height
    -none of them is bent

    The "click" sound is made by a platic tip that works as retention, as far i can imagine the only way for that "click" to not happen is if the plastic all around the connector is deformed (the internall plastic walls of if)... and the only way to happen is if someone tryed to insert (brutally) a different cable... or the cable connector flipped, or dunno... but is not normal, is needed lot of force to damage that

    *hmmm... maybe what happened is someone inserted an etherhet cable normally (in the correct way)... and then they pulled from it brutally (without releasing the retention plastic)... yeah this should "break" a bit the internal plastic walls of the connector and would break the retention

    If you find something weird please make a photo in the biggest quality posible, maybe it can be fixed with some "ghetto" trick... you know, the kind of repair a professional should refuse to do... but for us to repair it at home (and for free) is aceptable
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2019
    Filipe Santos and Algol like this.
  7. 7,654
    8,910
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7,654
    Likes Received:
    8,910
    Trophy Points:
    797

    @Algol If setting up a manual direct connection do not forget you need to add the same fake gateway on both devices so that they see each other. Here is an example of working settings from PKG Linker:

    ips.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2019
    Algol and sandungas like this.
  8. 6,417
    6,070
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,417
    Likes Received:
    6,070
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    After writing my previous post, reading myself, and thinking in it... i would bet the problem is what i mentioned here
    There are some ethernet cables that have a retention clip made of metal, if you plug one of those and then you pull from the cable with strenght something is going to break, and you have a scenario of "plastic VS metal" (the metal always wins the plastic, hehehe)

    keep attention at the geometry of that retention mechanism, the male connector is like this
    The retention is not made at the center of the big clip... but at his sides
    [​IMG]
    It can be seen in this connector... are the small corner squares i painted in red
    The red arrow represents the cable when you pull from it... the arrow causes a damage in the squares
    This photo is not an RJ45 ethernet connector though... but is pretty similar, is the only photo i found where it can be seen the internal geometry of the connector
    [​IMG]

    So take a good look at that with the magnifyer glass... is not electronics, is just plastic materials that are damaged and lost his original geometry

    Also, you should make a test by holding the ethernet cable with your hand well pluged inside the connector... then do the "ping" test in PC
    This should work... is a confirmation that you have idetifyed the problem
    Is good to have this confirmation to dont waste time checking other posible culprits
     
    Filipe Santos and Algol like this.
  9. 12,342
    4,973
    497
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,342
    Likes Received:
    4,973
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I've had trouble with a direct connection to my pc in the past as well. sometimes I have to restart both pc and ps3 to get the connection to be made after changing from wireless to wired on the system.
     
    Filipe Santos and Algol like this.
  10. 118
    71
    82
    Algol

    Algol Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    In French :

    Je vais faire tout ce que tu m'as recommandé mais :

    J'ai déjà fait le test du "ping" entre deux ordinateurs soit via le switch Ethernet GigaBit, soit en mode connexion directe et les pings sont bien passés (en auto pendant 1 minute). J'en ai profité pour le faire au travers de mes 4 câbles Ethernet de qualité 6 et tout s'est bien passé donc aucun souci avec les câbles ni le Switch.

    Dans un second temps, je vais regarder à la loupe le connecteur femelle Ethernet de la PS3 et voir si le souci n'est pas interne (broches pliées/cassées, plastique déformé/cassé). Par le passé j'ai réparé des soucis du même genre dans la grosse entreprise pour laquelle je travaillai il n'y a pas si longtemps que cela.
    J'ai trop fait confiance au réparateur auquel j'ai confié ma PS3 (CECH-2004B) qui avait un souci avec l'IHS du CPU et il l'a cassé. Il m'a renvoyé une PS3 Slim (CECH-2504B) en échange n'ayant aucun souci thermique ni d'autres natures mais le connecteur ETH est en mauvais état (ou la puce ETH). Je mes sert énormément de l'ETH, c'est hyper pratique et très rapide chez moi (de l'ordre de 22Mo/s permanent pour de gros fichiers via FileZilla).

    Je t'informe de ce que j'aurai trouvé …

    In English via Google :

    I will do everything you recommended but:
    I have already done the test "ping" between two computers either via the GigaBit Ethernet switch, or in direct connection mode and the pings are well past (in auto for 1 minute). I took the opportunity to do it through my 4 Ethernet cables of quality 6 and everything went well so no problem with the cables or the Switch.

    In a second time, I will look at the PS3 female Ethernet connector and see if the problem is not internal (folded/broken pins, deformed plastic/broken). In the past, I repaired similar concerns in the big business I worked for not so long ago.
    I trusted too much the repairer to whom I entrusted my PS3 (CECH-2004B) who had a problem with the IHS of the CPU and he broke it. He sent me a PS3 Slim (CECH-2504B) in exchange with no thermal or other concerns but the ETH connector is in poor condition (or the ETH chip). I serve me a lot of ETH, it's very convenient and very fast at home (about 22MB/s permanent for large files via FileZilla).

    I'll let you know what I'll find ...
     
    DeViL303 and sandungas like this.
  11. 118
    71
    82
    Algol

    Algol Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Je connais ce protocole de communication pour l'avoir mainte fois utilisé par le passé. Ne t'inquiète pas, cela je sais le faire. Je te remercie tout de même pour l'excellente amitié que tu me témoignes.

    Si tu venais en France un jour prochain, nous ferions la fête ensembles ...
     
    DeViL303 likes this.
  12. 118
    71
    82
    Algol

    Algol Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    @sandungas

    Toutes les informations que tu viens de me procurer pourront servir à d'autres membres du site qui rencontreront peut être un jour prochain des soucis similaires à ceux que je viens de rencontrer. C'est le but de tous ces commentaires, de m'aider à identifier un problème réel mais aussi d'aider les autres …

    C'est le pourquoi de cette communication publique …

    In English via Google-trad :

    All the information you have just provided me may be used by other members of the site who may encounter problems similar to those I have just met. This is the purpose of all these comments, to help me identify a real problem but also to help others …

    That's the reason for this public communication ...
     
    Filipe Santos likes this.
  13. 118
    71
    82
    Algol

    Algol Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    @sandungas, @DeViL303

    Je suis de retour et le souci de connectique est réglé.

    C'était bien un problème de connectique car les 2 broches les plus à droite était très aplaties vers le bas. Pour les relever (un peu) j'ai créé un outil avec un trombone de faible taille que j'ai ouvert puis j'ai plié son extrémité sur 3 millimètres mais pas plus. J'ai introduit la partie pliée entre le bord droite du plastique et les deux broches aplaties puis j'ai tiré vers moi cet outil improvisé. Cette manoeuvre a permis de relever légèrement les broches et le contact est revenu très bon. C'est maintenant parfait, je peux enfin injecter des ISOs en ayant un excellent débit (proche des 22 Mo/s via FileZilla).

    Je vous remercie vivement tous deux pour vos très très bons conseils. Vivement qu'un jour nous nous rencontrions chez moi.

    Très cordialement.

    Algol "le papy".


    In English via "G-T" :

    I'm back and the connection is fixed.

    It was a problem of connectivity because the 2 pins on the right was very flattened down. To raise them (a little) I created a tool with a small paper clip that I opened and then I folded its end on 3 millimeters but not more. I introduced the folded part between the right edge of the plastic and the two flattened pins and then pulled this improvised tool towards me. This maneuver allowed to slightly raise the pins and the contact returned very good. It is now perfect, I can finally inject ISOs with excellent speed (close to 22 MB/s via FileZilla).

    I thank you both (tous deux) very much for your very very good advice. One day we were meeting at home.

    Very cordially.
     
    DeViL303 likes this.
  14. 6,417
    6,070
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,417
    Likes Received:
    6,070
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Nice @Algol So it was 2 pins ?, you are lucky that was not broken and the plastic is ok
    I do that precission things related with connectors very carefully with a needle, but whatever you used is fine :encouragement:


    Edit:
    I moved the thread to the hardware subforum, it could help other people with the same problem or similar
     
    Filipe Santos and DeViL303 like this.
  15. 118
    71
    82
    Algol

    Algol Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    @sandungas :

    Tu as bien fait de déplacer cette discussion vers le "fil" du "HardWare" ainsi tous ceux qui auront un problème similaire pourront le solder plus aisément.
    Pour moi, j'ai eu de la chance que ces deux broches (du bord droite) ne soient pas cassées, dessoudées mais seulement trop appuyées donc déformées. Un simple petit trombone légèrement coudé sur 3 millimètres à son extrémité m'a permis de les relever légèrement et pour qu'elles reprennent leur place dans l'encoche qui les guide.

    J'ai même fait un test de débit montant et j'ai obtenu 30 Mo/s de la PS3 vers mon DD interne de type SSHD avec mon vieux MacMini de 2009. J'ai utilisé pour cela mon bon vieux "FileZilla v3.7.2", un comble. Le Mac est "démarré" sous un vieil OS "X.8.5" (Mountain Lion). Le fichier était un ISO de 4.9 Go. À cette vitesse là, ça ne traine pas …

    Merci, merci toujours mes amis.


    You did well to move this discussion to the "thread" of the "HardWare" so anyone who has a similar problem can sell it more easily.
    For me, I was lucky that these two pins (from the right edge) are not broken, unsoldered but only too supported so deformed. A simple small trombone slightly bent 3 millimeters at the end allowed me to raise slightly and they take their place in the notch that guides them.

    I even did a bit rate test and I got 30 MB / s of the PS3 to my SSHD type internal HDD with my old MacMini of 2009. I used for that my good old "FileZilla v3.7.2 ", a height. The Mac is "started" under an old "X.8.5" OS (Mountain Lion). The file was an ISO of 4.9 GB. At that speed, it does not drag …

    Thank you, thank you always my friends.
     
    Filipe Santos, sandungas and DeViL303 like this.

Share This Page