PS3 PS3 (CECH-2504B) - Shuts down after 2 seconds

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by Naked_Snake1995, Mar 27, 2018.

  1. 97
    8
    12
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    @sandungas can you help me?
    My PS3 CECH-4012C turn off after 4-5 seconds I checked the power supply it works fine
    here is some photo https://mobile.facebook.com/messages/read/?tid=cid.c.100023400993154:615867368521939&refid=11#fua
     
  2. 732
    374
    122
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    374
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
  3. 97
    8
    12
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    Yes but nothing
    same condition
     
  4. 97
    8
    12
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    help me how can I fix this?
    exactly what the problems motherboard or psu?
     
  5. 97
    8
    12
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    @sandungas can you help me? My PS3 CECH-4012C turn off after 4-5 seconds I checked the power supply it works fine here is some photo https://mobile.facebook.com/ messages/read/? tid=cid.c.100023400993154:615867368521939& refi
    exactly what the problems motherboard or psu?
    should I buy another ps3?
     
  6. 3,695
    3,191
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,695
    Likes Received:
    3,191
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    This thread is becoming a bit messy, several users talking about problems that we are not sure if are the same or if are different

    Anyway... if the PS3 turns off automatically one of the things you should suspect is about the power lines... and obviouslly this power lines starts with the power supply
    So... you need to replace the power supply by a new one of the same model (or compatible with the same PS3 model you have)
    Because buying a new PS3 power supply "blindly" (without knowing if this is going to solve the problem) is a risky bet of money... then what you can do in a cheap way is to use temporally a ATX power supply from PC, as explained here:
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/tutorial-connect-atx-power-supply-to-ps3.17180/
    And here:
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/tutorial-fully-working-atx-psu-mod.22214/

    Incase it doesnt works... well... there are more things to check related with power lines
    The infamous NEC/TOKIN capacitors (are not only capacitors thought, they does more functions)
    A bunch of voltage regulators (small chips soldered in the motherboard)
    Etc...

    And never forget... the problem maybe is not caused by power lines... so all this checks could take you nowhere and you would be back at step one trying to imagine other posible culprits of the problem
     
    Joonie likes this.
  7. 97
    8
    12
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2019
  8. 3,695
    3,191
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,695
    Likes Received:
    3,191
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Checking the PSU voltage output with a multimeter is not enought to know if is working normally AT ALL TIMES
    It could happen that the PSU works normally for a time, but it stops abruptly


    Edit:
    The best way to know if the problem is inside the PSU is by replacing it... this tests doesnt leaves any room for misunderstandings, if the PS3 works fine with the new PSU obviouslly the problem was in the old PSU
     
  9. 97
    8
    12
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    can I use atx power supply for my ps3?
     
  10. 3,695
    3,191
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,695
    Likes Received:
    3,191
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Yes
    In your case your goal is to know if the old PSU have a problem, so you only need to connect the ATX to the PS3 temporally... just for a test (and play a bit to verify everything continues working fine)
    So you can use the tutorial of the first link that is easyer

    The tutorial of the second link is mostly the same, but is intended to keep the ATX connected to the PS3 permanently (so you dont need it at this point)
     
  11. 97
    8
    12
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    I'll try with atx power supply for my ps3
    @sandungas, Thank you very much
    and also thanks for quick reply
     
  12. 97
    8
    12
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    @sandungas,tell me one thing which model or brand should I buy atx psu for ps3 because I couldn't understand please tell me model name
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2019
  13. 732
    374
    122
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    374
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Even if i wanted to help, this topic its a bit messy, you see if it was with a Phat or a 2000 Slim, it would be easy to identify the problem, but be are talking about a recent model, and i dont want to spread misinformation, so id rather keep my mouth shut,for now.

    But from what ive seen, people tend to reball the CELL for some reason on these models, Brazil does it more often, the issue its known as Blackout, its when a PlayStation3 Super Slim, powers on but after 1 or a split second turns off.

    I cant confirm its a CELL BGA Issue, but if it works, it works, and who knows maybe its BGA is the issue.
     
  14. 97
    8
    12
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    what can I do now?
    replace psu or reballing motherboard
     
  15. 33
    11
    7
    Luisile

    Luisile Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    try borrow from somewhere psu and test it. when it runs its the psu. when still not working try find another ps3. rebbaling is same expensive as second hand ps3 atleast in my country where no one is doing reball. and today the second hand ps3 are preety cheap.
     
  16. 3,695
    3,191
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,695
    Likes Received:
    3,191
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    All the ATX power supplies from desktop PCs should work
     
  17. 97
    8
    12
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
  18. 3,695
    3,191
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,695
    Likes Received:
    3,191
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Joonie likes this.
  19. 97
    8
    12
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    sandungas,don't mind
    first time I'll buy a atx power supply,I have no idea about price?
    how usa dollar is atx psu?
     
  20. 3,695
    3,191
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,695
    Likes Received:
    3,191
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    If you are going to buy something... then buy a PS3 power supply

    The idea of using an ATX power supply is because is usual to have one at home, from a desktop PC, but if you dont have any then you should not buy it
     

Share This Page