PS3 CECHC04 Downgrade from 4.82 Ferrox to 2.60?

Discussion in 'Downgrading' started by burhan_on_duty, Feb 28, 2018.

  1. 6
    0
    5
    burhan_on_duty

    burhan_on_duty Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    I got a PS3 CECHC04 with a CFW 4.82 (Ferrox) currently installed on it and i was wondering... since it's possible to downgrade to 3.55, is it possible to downgrade to 2.60? I know it may sound stupid but i really want a ps3 with a really old firmware just for the nostalgia of the original OtherOS and the Bootup and game start.
     
  2. 12,898
    5,163
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    5,163
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    there may be no reason to downgrade. you can add the gameboot (check my tutorials). you can also make a coldboot that's close to the original (I think I have one I made for another member). and, you can install other os (maybe asbestOS instead) through rebug toolbox I believe.
     
  3. 6
    0
    5
    burhan_on_duty

    burhan_on_duty Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    I know that there is no logical reason to downgrade but is it possible to do it anyways?
     
  4. 12,898
    5,163
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    5,163
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    yeah, should be able to. you can check on psdevwiki under ps3 sku models. I'd advise you to check with minverchk though. always check with that before downgrading that low.
     
  5. 6
    0
    5
    burhan_on_duty

    burhan_on_duty Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    I just checked mine and i can downgrade to 1.00 with my particular ps3. But... how do i downgrade?
     
  6. 12,898
    5,163
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    5,163
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    qa flag, then install update pup.
     
    burhan_on_duty likes this.
  7. 6
    0
    5
    burhan_on_duty

    burhan_on_duty Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    Is it that easy?
     
  8. 12,898
    5,163
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    5,163
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    yes, the ps3 stuff is pretty easy to do.
     
  9. 6
    0
    5
    burhan_on_duty

    burhan_on_duty Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    I just copied and installed the "toggle_qa.pkg" package but when i run it, my playstation doesn't beep and the button combination on the network settings don't work. what am i missing?
     
  10. 7,074
    6,641
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,074
    Likes Received:
    6,641
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Keep trying, time ago there was only a pkg to switch QA flags, later was implemented inside rebug toolbox, and there is other pkg from habib that does it too

    And the process is that easy, first QA (and verify is enabled by button combo), and after that you can install any firmware equal or bigger than what the minverchk.pup told to you (1.00 so you can install any firmware version)

    For the files inside the hdd there is no problem, i guess the ones that did belong to the bigger firmware (but not in the older) are going to be simply ignored by the old firmware
    If your plan is to install linux you are going to need to reformat the hdd anyway so no worry about old firmware files
     
  11. 6
    0
    5
    burhan_on_duty

    burhan_on_duty Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    I downloaded some other qa toggler and it finally worked and i turned the "system update debug" on and i tried to install the 2.80 update file and it actually almost copied it to the hard drive and started installing but right at around 60% of copying it always cancels out and it shows me an error message: "this file format is not supported (80029c9c)" or something like that (my ps3 system language is in german) what do i do now?
     
  12. 46
    11
    12
    JohnDhoe

    JohnDhoe Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Could you link me to a pre2.70 coldboot instalation tut for 4.81.2????
     
  13. 12,898
    5,163
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    5,163
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    it's not exactly like it, but here it is:
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/vrqc9zfwaclawau/PS3~dev_blind~vsh~resource.zip

    double-click it in multiman to install it easily. as for the sound, try this:

    http://www.mediafire.com/file/sbagiqalolfgeuo/dev_blind~vsh~resource.zip

    disregard the coldboot.raf in the second link. use the one in the first link, but use the ac3 files in the second.

    changes were made to the coldboot, so you can't have it exactly like it was, but this is pretty close. you'll need to drop the sound files in manually. just use the location specified. I think I forgot to add it in the installable zip (PS3~)
     
  14. 46
    11
    12
    JohnDhoe

    JohnDhoe Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Ty, does it also have ps3 logo when starting a game?
     
  15. 12,898
    5,163
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    5,163
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    Logo (4.81.1 REX):

    http://www.mediafire.com/file/u6ntbj56m3o4k6f/game_ext_plugin.sprx

    Audio:

    http://www.mediafire.com/file/9lpessj3xvze7zq/PS3~dev_blind~vsh~resource.zip

    there those are. the sprx goes here: dev_blind/vsh/module; the audio goes here: dev_blind/vsh/resource . you can change how the coldboot looks with the custom_render_plugin.rco (located in the same place as the audio)

    all of this stuff is in my tutorials. ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2018
  16. 46
    11
    12
    JohnDhoe

    JohnDhoe Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    12
  17. 12,898
    5,163
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    5,163
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    most likely, yes.
     
  18. 12,898
    5,163
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    5,163
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I just remembered. the gameboot patch doesn't work on dex. the coldbooit should work though.
     
  19. 46
    11
    12
    JohnDhoe

    JohnDhoe Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Weird.. because the gameboot sound actually DID work :D
    Im having a nostalgic blast!
     
  20. 12,898
    5,163
    647
    pinky

    pinky Retired Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    5,163
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    it might be that it's a sprx. did you try the coldboot? it's not the exact version, but I think it's close.
     

Share This Page