PS3 ISO Tools by Rudi Rastelli

Discussion in 'CFW Tools' started by STLcardsWS, Nov 3, 2014.

  1. 234
    120
    72
    Rudi Rastelli

    Rudi Rastelli Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    72
    You can also replace the "patchps3iso.exe"... just rename it to "fixps3iso.exe". If it isn't renamed it must be executed as admin because it has "patch" in its name (stupid win8 :banghead:).
     
  2. 3,180
    5,138
    522
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    5,138
    Trophy Points:
    522
    Thanks for the tip. How about an update ? ;) I have mine already updated, but many users would appreciate it.
     
  3. 234
    120
    72
    Rudi Rastelli

    Rudi Rastelli Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    72
    I have my problems releasing an update when i've done simply nothing to it... but i guess this is pure nonsense.
     
  4. 375
    76
    57
    TheDemon

    TheDemon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Portugal
    I dont if its good idea or not but maybe you could also add an option to remove files that game launchers such as multiman, irsman add to the game folders, it would be helpfull for those that want to convert multiple games to iso and want it the the most cleaner possible.

    UPDATE- i tried to convert disc 2 from borderlands 2 goty edition into a iso but it failed, maybe because doesnt have an Eboot.bin?
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2016
  5. 17
    0
    5
    Thatsingstarthingyguy

    Thatsingstarthingyguy Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Please excuse me for asking in the "wrong" thread, but since the discussion has happened here, could someone explain it to me please: I have installed ps3tools_4.8.1 (which says that it's up-to-date) and when I try to convert a folder into an ISO from the context menu of the folder, the Tools start genps3iso v.2.5. Does it mean that I should avoid converting with this tool or has it already been fixed?
     
  6. 7
    0
    5
    naturalist11

    naturalist11 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    So are u suggesting we take a copy of"makeps3iso.exe" and "extractps3iso.exe" from Iris Manager 3.0 folder and replace the those files in the PS3 ISO Tools folder?

    Moreover what settings so u suggest for REBUG 4.81. In particular the firware version on the main menu as well as how important patching the game is and what exactly does? (I'm under the impression they only games that were released pre 3.55 need to be patched to work.

    FIFA 17 is failing to convert to an ISO, let alone even begin the process...

    Thanks again for your great work on the tool :)
     
  7. 3,180
    5,138
    522
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    5,138
    Trophy Points:
    522
    No, I'm suggesting to use rudi's tool if the ISO built with Cobra's genps3iso fails.

    As I mentioned in my previous post, 99.9% of the ISOS created with genps3iso will work perfectly.
     
    Thatsingstarthingyguy likes this.
  8. 2,111
    1,998
    272
    Berion

    Berion Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    1,998
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    rom0:/
    @aldostools Bug which You mentioned before is stick to Rudi's GUI or makeps3iso itself? Could You reveal more details? I always using Estwalds tool version from 2013 (there are newest? and/or src?).
     
  9. 5,418
    4,961
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,418
    Likes Received:
    4,961
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    After the makeps3iso.exe release that came included with iris 3.00 i think it reached perfection

    The last bug that was fixed in that version only affected a couple of metal gear solid games, and as far i remember after that fix nobody reported any problem building .iso in the official iris thread in eol spanish forum (i use to read all messages of that thread)

    Anyway, the big argument for using makeps3iso.exe is that is open source (ps3gen is not) so any problem in makeps3iso.exe can be fixed, ps3gen is abandoned and left behind with a couple of bugs imposible to fix nowadays
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2017
    Thatsingstarthingyguy likes this.
  10. 7
    0
    5
    naturalist11

    naturalist11 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    I haven't had any luck using Rudi's GUI and it instantly stops responding. Trying to split FIFA 17, to fit on a FAT32 HDD or even just converting it to a single ISO is proving to be more troublesome than I thought.

    EDIT: Solved the issues by running in Windows 7 comparability mode. (Current OS: Windows 10, 64 bit)
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2017
  11. 7
    0
    5
    naturalist11

    naturalist11 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Does IRIS Manager run on the PS3 or on the PC? What tool does multiman use for the ISO conversions?
     
  12. 7,843
    6,517
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,843
    Likes Received:
    6,517
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    Fyi, unless you have a very good reason for using fat32 despite all its limitations, it's usually recommended to use ntfs & single iso files.

    Irisman & Iris Manager run on ps3 of course. They are both backup managers like multiman.
    Afaik most if not all backup managers use makePS3ISO & extractPS3ISO. However you cannot use the executables from those apps to run on PC, the executables are compiled for ppc64 architecture, not x86.
    Rudi's tool is fine to do the job on PC.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2017
  13. 5,418
    4,961
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,418
    Likes Received:
    4,961
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Iris works on PS3, is discontinued but generated several forks... like "irisman manager" up to managunz
    You can download iris latest version 3.00 from this link http://www.mediafire.com/download/6aaxaopj33jat4k/irismanager-4-x.rar

    In iris releases was included several tools for PC and other stuff related, like makeps3iso.exe extractps3iso.exe and patchps3iso.exe
    Are command line tools intended to be used by other apps, the PS3ISO tools of this thread published by rudi astelly uses it internally (optional because also included geniso)

    The code of makeps3iso.exe (for windows) is the same code used internally by iris and all its forks in PS3
    So an .iso generated by iris should be exactlly the same than if it was generated by any other iris fork or any of the PC apps that uses makeps3iso.exe internally

    Technically... multiman cant use it because makeps3iso.exe was released under GPL v3 license
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2017
  14. 44
    5
    37
    rocknard

    rocknard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Spain
    Hm... The option "Exclude PS3_UPDATE" doesn't works. Whatever if is checked or not, this never include the PS3UPDAT.PUP. Only works with isotools checked, not with makeps3iso

    PS3 ISO Tools v2.2 updated with makeps3iso.exe and extractps3iso from Iris Manager 4.x.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2017
  15. 1
    0
    5
    Rochdaleguy

    Rochdaleguy Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Any idea where I can download this? Download link on first post goes to main forums page
     
  16. 7,553
    5,664
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,553
    Likes Received:
    5,664
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
  17. 560
    236
    97
    Spawn

    Spawn Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    I have an issue trying to extract Fallout New Vegas Ultimate Edition ISO created by multiman.

    It results in AUDIO_TS & VIDEO_TS folders only. Could be a mmcm issue to, but I can't seem to find any info on the matter.
     
  18. 799
    238
    72
    No0bZiLLa

    No0bZiLLa Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    238
    Trophy Points:
    72
    what happens if you use something like 7zip to extract it? does it result in the same? sounds like multiman somehow has created this game into a dvd iso for some reason
     
  19. 560
    236
    97
    Spawn

    Spawn Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes it's the same.

    I'm starting to think so myself. Can't find anything related to this issue tho.
     
  20. 7,553
    5,664
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,553
    Likes Received:
    5,664
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    Use iso buster
     
    No0bZiLLa likes this.

Share This Page